We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service is poor for the money you pay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Huvafen Fushi Maldives
Reviewed June 25, 2012

This was our 3rd resort that we have stayed at in the Maldives and we were unfortunately dissapointed by the service. There staff lacked enthusiam and seem misguided by management.

The island is quite run down and the water bungalow rooms were not as nice as other resorts that we have stayed on and paid the same price.

We did enjoy the daily sting ray feeding and the pool area but overall the service was such a let down we would not go back.

We have previously stayed at Anantara Kivah and Anantara dhigu, both outstanding in every way. I would recommend spending the money there then on Huvafen Fushi.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TheGattino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (857)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

406 - 412 of 857 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2012

If you are looking for the perfect tropical honeymoon, look no further!

When booking, you can have the option of Bed and Breakfast only, half stay or full stay. This means that you can have meals already paid for. We did half pay which we found really benifitial because if we ate at Celcius our dinner was already paid for (drinks not included), but if we ate at another restaurant we got 25% off regardless if it was dinner or not. So we got a savings of 25% on any meal we paid for plus any activities too!

We were told by the resort manager, Marco that the resort was at full capacity. However we still felt like we were the only people on the island. We would occassionally bump into people at meal times or during water activities.. but most of the time we were virtually alone.

On arrival at the airport, we were greeted by Huvafen Fushi staff who took our trolley and escorted us to our speed boat. Now, you share this with other guests, but since we were the only resort guests on our flight, we had it to our selves. The boat staff gave us a cool face washer that smelled like lemon grass (a smell you will love) and bottles of cold water.

When we arrived at the reosrt, about 30-45mins later we were greeted off the boat by our Thukuru (personal butler) and the night manager. They gave us a freshly squeezed juice that is a signature non-alcoholic drink of the island and escorted us to our room.

Our Thukuru, Didi walked us through our room and showed us how everything worked. We had some tapas, champagne and roses to welcome us to our room!! It was lovely.
As it was our honeymoon, they also gave us a secluded dinner for two on one night, a free coral garden snorkle off a Dhoni, free additional time to the spa, secluded pre-dinner drinks and canepes on another night, free coral adoption and free time on a sea-bob.

If you visit, you will be told about an interesting little restaurant named 'Raw'. NOTHING is cooked.. and I know that sounds very strange and a weird concept to get used to, but it was amazing!! My husbands favourite was their Tuna sashimi pizza.. even the base was raw.. dehydrated, but uncooked. It was still crunchy but it was truely yummy. My favourite was the raw crab rolls!

There is also dinner called 'Cardamon' that I have to say, is a must. The food is cooked in front of you in a traditional tandoori oven. Brought to the island by Kerri Packer years ago, it was honestly a must have experience. Word of advice though. DO NOT eat ANYTHING before hand.. you really will need every inch of free stomach space for this meal.

You will find on this holiday that the food is amazing! Salt is definately worth a visit and since the coral is so amazing underneath you will see a lot of big fish that are attracted to the light. You will see sharks and blue jacks. If you order the crab, expect to be eating for close to an hour just on your main. You are presented with a tower of crab that will almost reach your shoulder when sitting down.

On everyday except Sunday, the resident marine biologist does stingray feedings at 6:30pm. It's worth going to, because you get to do it yourself too!!

I found that the spa was only ok. For someone that loves to go to a spa and regularly, I was expecting something a little more unique. IT is incredibally over priced for what you get at the spa and if you like an active treatment, then stay awy from any reike treatments. This basically means the lady treating you passes on her energy to you through her hands.. so really she just holds it over different parts.. not my kind of massage. A nice addition though, is that they wash your feet before most treatments with crystals and oils. That is nice and relaxing!

All the staff were lovely and you will have an amazing time here. A lot of the activities are great, we did something at least every second day, and everything is worth doing except the sea bob... it's fun but if you are adventurous like us or most australians, they dont give you much freedom to do so due to them previously being damaged!
But if that is not your thing, you can go sailing (which usually is about an hour but they stay out longer with you if you are having fun), fishing (and you get to eat what you catch), diving (you can get your certification too), guided snorkling and so so so much more!

I woke up on most mornings a 5am.. so I got to see the sunrise each morning, but I was also surprised at how much garabage I found walking a long the beach. I am the type of person that picks that up, but because I woke before the staff got around to doing the morning rounds, it wasn't the nicest sight to see in what you depict as paradise.

All in all, it was an experience that I will never forget and will cherish the time I had with my new husband before life gets busier.

Where ever you choose to go, Im sure you will have an amazing time!

Room Tip: If it's privacy you are after, I would not go past the beach bungalows! In all honesty we found...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nwdwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We arrived late at night into male airport and we were then met by a lovely huvafen representative who took us to our speedboat and within minutes we were on our way to the resort. The speedboat itself its quite nice and comfortable.
On arrival our thakur and the hotel night manager were there to greet us. We were then taken to our lagoon bungalow by golf buggie. Let me start off by saying that the photos on the hotel website or any website that isn't travellers photos don't do this hotel any justice. This place has got to be seen to be believed!

Rooms:
Lagoon bungalows are perfect and they are private. Large roomy bedroom with a very comfortable bed (you can even select what kind of pillow you want), even the day bed in the bedroom is comfortable. The bathroom is big and well cleaned, bathtub has a beautiful view and there is even a rain shower head in the shower. (The rooms do look a little tired (though its nothing to pick about) but after their refurb from mid may to the end of july this will no longer be an issue for anyone that likes to complain about these things).
You can listen to your own ipod in the whole bungalow or outside whenever you want or listen to ipod that's already prepared for you with its own playlists.
Outside deck is spacious enough with a lower deck if needed. The infinity pool is amazing and i couldnt get enough of it and the water was always a nice temperature. It was great having the option between your own pool or the ocean.
Room was always kept clean during our stay and housekeeping were very polite.
I would reccomend the lagoon bungalows and you really dont need the ones at the end of the jetty, the first 4 or 5 bungalows have the luxury dhoni's and speedboats in front but not once were we or our neighbours bothered by them. The only downside is your on the sunrise side, so if you want the sunset then you'll need to upgrade to an ocean bungalow (if budget permits).

Restaurants:
Ok so I'm a fussy eater and i need to see restaurant menus before i select where I'm going to stay.
Celsius restaurant was very good. We were on the half board package and never had an issue with the buffet for breakfast or the menu for dinner (salmon nigiri for entre was delicious). The maldivian night on monday's was by far my favourite dinner (traditional maldivian food).
Fogliani's was also good. We would go here for lunch if we didnt order room service. The sushi and sashimi was fantastic (and ive neber been much of a fan but i couldn't get enough).
Salt was ok, was a little worried when i started looking at the menu as there wasn't much i liked (though i still had an enjoyable main) but everyone is different so each to their own.
Room service was quick and food was always brought warm and fresh.
The variety and quality of food was fantastic.

Spa:
We didn't try the spa but we did get to see it and we saw the underwater treatment room and it is a great concept and its different that the normal way to get a treatment done.

House reef:
Fantastic. We got to swim with sharks, sting rays and turtles (we were very lucky as not many others got to).
Go and feed the stingrays late afternoon.

Service:
The service for us was amazing. We had no complaints about anything or anyone as our stay was incredible. Though the breakfast staff were great, they would know what coffee or tea you wanted, the juice and bar knew what you wanted, its like they read your minds. It was also a nice touch when your adressed by your first name when you run into staff.

Main infinity pool as nice, huge and always a nice temperature. The poolside service was good and never had any issues if we wanted to order something.

We did an hour speedboat ride and went snorkelling, relaxed for a bit on a private sandbank, snorkelled some more and came back. Recommended as where you go you can get some good shots of the resort in the distance.
We did a sunset cruise on one of the luxury dhonis and i highly recommend this. It was for an hour and amazing photos and very romantic. We were lucky enough to be the only ones on this so had the dhoni to ourselves (with the staff of course).

The general manager Marco was very friendly and spoke to all the guests on more than one occasion. He asks you about your time at Huvafen, the service and your likes and dislikes. This i found professional as he is the person to that can make these changes happens (though we could not fault a single aspect of this property).

The reason we chose this resort was because it was a high end property and it also had a casual feel. It's a smaller island and not a lot of rooms which make you feel deserted.

I would highly recommend HF in the Maldives. We are wanting to go back next year but are also going to try their sister property Niyama.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RBF84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Don't normally right reviews, usually have 3-4 holidays a year but thought I needed to comment on the best vacation we have ever had.

Reading the reviews on all of these top end resorts can put your mind in a spin so here are the main points.

Service. Seen some negative reviews and service certainly isn't as über efficient as in many Four Seasons etc but you are here to relax so if you have to wait 5 minutes for a drink it's not a problem. All of the staff here are very friendly etc and try and emphase the relaxed atmosphere. They always have a smile on their faces and are extremely helpful.

Transfer. While the boat isn't particularly flash it's very fast and efficient as is the airport service.

Food. The food in Celcius, the main restaurant was so good we didn't go anywhere else. I'm fortunate to have eaten in many top end restaurants in London and around the world and some of the food we had was outstanding.

Rooms. Ocean Villa 33. We requested an Ocean Villa at the far end of the jetty and this villas was perfect, private with an excellent view of the sun set.

Prices. Yes wine is very expensive but cocktails and a glass of beer won't break the bank.

House reef. Simply staggering. We must have spent at least 4 hours each day snorkelling. If you enter the sea at the end of the rooms ( there are some steps if you aren't staying in this area of the resort) you can swin out to the drop off then simply drift down the island on the current. Sharks, eagle rays, rays, octopus and eventually a turtle. Though the snorkelling in the Red Sea was god but this is far more interesting in terms of variety. At this point must mention the Marine Biologist, Sue, who was always very helpful and enthusiastic, her presentation was also very interesting.

Conclusions. This resort is the perfect place to relax, never crowded, excellent food, amenities and fantastic snorkelling. Is it worth the money, difficult question but I guess the answer is if you are worried about spending a few extra £ try some where else but for us it was worth every penny. No bling. No football shirts. Simply the best place I've ever been to escape the chaos of life.

Room Tip: All rooms at the end of the accommodation jetty are very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 43John2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

The rooms are lovely nicely laid out and bathrooms with sunken pool and day bed a great private area. Think nicer than water villas which we also stayed in, as smell and noise from water sports spoiled the first bunglaow experience so moved to another, second had a leak in plunge pool so they moved us to a water bungalow. Standards of rooms good cleanliness not as good as should be for 5 star.
This was our 5th trip to Maldives each time different island. Although pleasant, the reef was not as good as other islands which was dissapointing.
We were on bed and breakfast as had seen comments about dining experiences.
Prices are steep and service in Salt not always what you would expect at this standard. Staff all very pleasant and helpful. Time between courses and even for coffee in the morning (sometimes finished eating before coffee arrived)
Looked and felt at times like short staffed. We priced going half board. but with only 25% towards eating on special nights or Salt decided better to stick. The buffet steak and seafood was dreadful value as extremely ordinary Worked out at £100 per head with 1 of their cheap bottles of wine. Value for money on food front was biggest downfall. For those prices and five stars excellent quality should be there always, found it bit hit and miss. We did try the champagne and lobster evening which was good although expensive a treat of a night. Really enjoyed that.
Perhaps not being newly weds or first time to Maldives the rose tinted glasses aren't on. We thought this was supposed to be the best of Maldives island wise but the search will continue. Personally think the reef and food all round was far superior at Grand Centara which we visited last year.
On the up side you do have personal coffee makers, and butler assigned as they dont have reception as such, so bookings and requirements go through him. We had nine two , who was a lovely young man. Great when in water villa for bringing us to and fro in the buggy unless good wind about to help keep you cool walking about.. On the whole the staff are friendly and smiling.
More work on their attentiveness when dining is required, used to pouring own wine etc at home not in this calibre of venue.For this amount of money you do really want good quality in all departments.
Marco the new Manager seems very keen to improve service levels and having had a number of very pleasant conversations with him I feel very confident this will happen

Room Tip: Not low numbers 1-5 as near jetty and water sports. Although rooms lovely if you dont mind smell and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LMWITHEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

When booking I was struggling between Huvafen and Reethi Rah but went for Huvafen because it was smaller, appeared to offer the better snorkling and seemed a little bit more natural.

I can say I was not disappointed - so why then not 5 stars? The reason for 4 stars is down to a couple of points - the rooms etc are a little bit tired in places (nothing to put me off recommending the place - and as others have commented they are about to embark on refurbishment) and some aspects on the pricing policy.

The place is really somewhere to chill and with using "sand as the floor" in the main restaurant and a relaxed dress code it is not bling and may not suit those that like the "glass and chrome" look or dressing for dinner.

The food was extremely good in both the main evening restaurants (Celsius and Salt) and for the quality they were not overly expensive c$90 to 100 per person for two courses. What I did find expensive was the $95 per person for what I would describe as "an average buffet barbeque". We were on the bed & breakfast package and you might want to look at the half board or full board packages although this only offered 25% off the food at Salt or on their gourmet evenings which might limit variety and economical dinning options. The other point to mention is that wine is expensive with the entry level wines working out about $70 (including taxes).

We felt the service levels were good and did not encounter any of the problems that some reviewers have had.

We stayed in an Ocean bungalow which was excellent. There are 12 of them and 12 of the Lagoon version. The benefit of the Ocean ones is that they are:
1. Larger (an extra sun deck and a lounge are to sit with a TV (only used while waiting for the other half to get ready or during a couple of tropical downpours))
2. Have the sun set view
3. Have direct access to snorkling on the reef (although need to be careful if not around high tide)
4. Quieter ocean view as opposed to the lagoon (not a big factor for me)
I would go for the Ocean one but if it is taking up too much of the budget the Lagoon bungalows are still excellent. I did not see a beach bungalow but they all looked very private and if being directly on the beach is a key factor then they would be better.

Other factors to mention was that the water sports were very good and under used (despite the resort being pretty much full) and there was limited if any problems booking a slot. The reef was very accessible for snorkling even for non strong swimmers and with it being relatively shallow you can get very close to the fish and other sea life. The sting ray feeding has been well documented but is different and good.

For transfers it is 40 mins by speed boat from Male and once on the island all you can see is the sea and a couple of other resort islands in the distance. It does feel like your own desert island.

Another point is that it is a very tranquil resort and despite being full you hardly see anyone other than at breakfast or dinner. While some people did use the pool there were plenty of spare loungers and you would definately not feel hemmed in!

If you want peace and quiet, good food and a casual and relaxed time this place will take some beating.

Room Tip: For the best sunset view the Ocean bungalows numbered 32 to 38 are best. We stayed in 40 which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Huntsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed at Huvafen Fushi Resort in the 3rd week of April 2012. It was a fantastic holiday. Everything was just perfect in a highly luxurious style. Right starting from Airport, we were warmly greeted by the Airport Representative. Boat ride to the resort was nice and crew ensured the safety part till we reach resort.

On arrival, we were amazed to see Hotel General Manager - Mr. Marco Ouden to meet and welcome us personally.

Resort is a private and beautiful island that offers the best place to relax with full of privacy and tranquility. Beaches with white sands are very very clean. Many times we spotted island cleaners cleaning the beaches. They are really doing a great job to maintain the beauty of the island. We enjoyed snorkeling in the turquoise lagoon which has beautiful marine life. We could see many colorful fishes in crystal clear lagoon.

We stayed in Lagoon Bunglow - Plunge Pool. The room is spacious, absolutely superb and its setting was breathtaking. The rooms are very well maintained. We had easy and direct access to the lagoon and I really enjoyed private plunge pool. We had full of privacy and no disturbance at all. In room entertainment had great collection of playlist and we could enjoy listening music in any part of the room and even at the sun deck.

Our Thakuru (Butler) – Ms. Nahu was very friendly and attentive. She ensured we are comfortable and made our stay memorable. We were very happy with the check in process as it was the fastest process. The room was ready prior to our arrival and Ms. Nahu escorted us directly to the room via buggy.
We would like to appreciate housekeeping to keep the room neat and tidy.

Also, food wise Celcius Restaurant was very good. Breakfast buffet had many of choices with fresh fruits, juices and wide range of breads etc. Lunch and Dinner menu offered wide range of menus. There was good a la carte and special set menu. Food quality was excellent and we really enjoyed food and fresh juices. F&B Team were prompt to serve us, take orders and deliver food on time. We never had to wait for food for long. We were amazed with the quick service by both kitchen and F&B team.
Bar had wide collection of liquors, wine, spirits etc. It is located next to Infinity pool and was glorious to sit in the bar overlooking the lagoon whilst the herons wandered along the water’s edge. The bands that played at the bar were good too.

Though we didn’t try the spa treatment, we were happy to see the underwater spa. It is indeed a unique concept to watch colorful fish while having your treatment.

Hospitality is unmatched. Hotel staffs are excellent, professional and very friendly. It was lovely to be greeted by name with smile on the face. They are proactive and were always on their toes to serve us. They added their personal and special touch to provide excellent service in all areas.

We also enjoyed watching Fish feeding at the water side. It was incredible to see the massive stingrays. It was the first time in my life to feed stingray and I really enjoyed the moment.


Every staff made our stay memorable. Thank you to all staff, especially to Nahu, Naufa, Nirmala, Indika and Sushita.

In summary, it was a fantastic holiday and truly an unforgettable experience ..

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vishal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huvafen Fushi Island
14.5 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,842 reviews
4.4 mi away
Coco Bodu Hithi
Coco Bodu Hithi
#1 of 1 in Bodu Hithi Island
1,148 reviews
7 mi away
Baros Maldives
Baros Maldives
#1 of 1 in Baros Island
2,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Gili Lankanfushi
Gili Lankanfushi
#1 of 1 in Lankanfushi
1,876 reviews
21.4 mi away
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Emboodhu Finolhu
1,349 reviews
14.2 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huvafen Fushi Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huvafen Fushi Maldives

Address: North Male Atoll (Formerly PER AQUUM Huvafen Fushi)
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Huvafen Fushi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huvafen Fushi Island
Price Range: $1,039 - $2,843 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Huvafen Fushi Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Float at infinity's edge. Descend stairs for underground wine. Come out of your shell in the depths of an underwater spa room - the first and only in the world - where colour fish glide past the floor-to-ceiling-windows that reveal the beauty of the reef. Huvafen Fushi, a multi-award winning island resort located only 35 minutes by speedboat from Male, offers 44 naturally modern bungalows and the luxury of 'suites at sea,' traditional Maldivian sailboats fitted out with modern indulgences and the chance to escape and relax in a secluded island paradise in the middle of the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Huvafen Fushi Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huvafen Fushi Hotel Huvafen Fushi Island
Huvafen Fushi Male
Huvafen Fushi Hotel Male
Huvafen Fushi Maldives Huvafen Fushi Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing