We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing destination and resort with outstanding service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Huvafen Fushi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Huvafen Fushi
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Amazing destination and resort with outstanding service”
Reviewed November 17, 2011

From reading the mixed reviews I had high expectations but was also worried with some of the negative comments however, once we arrived from the moment we was greated at MALE airport I knew this was going to be a great trip.

You are greated by Huvafen Fushi staff at the airport and they will guide you to the speedboat (2min walk). The Speedboat transfer is 30mins and you will be give cold towels and a drink on the way. Once you arrive at the island the resort manager and the thakur that is associated to you will be waiting for you. They will welcome you to the resort then give you a cold towel and a drink and then your associated Thakur (Nashi) will take you straight to your room. The great thing is there is no so called checkin checkout desk its all done in the comfort of your own room.

We opted to stay in a beach bungalow for 6 nights and paid for a night in the lagoon villa on our final night. We went on a halfboard basis and we were advised we can get 25% off the other restaurants if we chose to dine in the other places like SALT,, RAW, UMBAR etc

Room number 1 was our first room for 6 nights, It was the beach bungalow with an amazing two pools. You had a fairly large bedroom with a 40inch tv and bose sound system inside and outside of your room. The bathroom was an open plan outside room/backyard where we had a huge bath and a shower with the his and hers wash basin. Then you can walk outside the shelter and you have a small pool and day bed with an outside shower which was amazing. Room number 1 was one of the recently renovated rooms which had a pool at the front of the room also which was right in front of the beach.
They provide complimentary water/tea/coffe in room and during turn down service you get water and some biscuits each night.
During our whole stay we did not see many people unless we went to dinner / breakfast. You feel like you have your own private part of the beach and this was great.

Our nominated thakur (Nashi) was great. During your whole stay if you have any problems you can call your thakur 24*7 and he will do all he can for anything you need.
We needed the DR while there on our second day and within minutes the dr was in our room solving the issue. It is great to know that you have a resort DR onsite and do not have to travel back to MALE to see a DR.

Breakfast and Dinner was at Celcius each day. As we went halfboard we were limited to celcius but they do inform you that you can go to other restaurants for 25% discount. For Breakfast i found the variety was good and so we were not ever bored with food choice. For Dinner , Monday nights is a maldivian night so this is included in halfboard option so we had non alacarte menu which was night, wednesday night was BBQ and friday was the Fish market, Sunday nights there is a lobster & champagne grill but this is not included for halfboard. On the nights we picked from the alacarte menu we found that 4 night of alacarte got a little boring and i would think the hotel could add a few new dishes for starters and mains that are a little more western. Aside from this the quality of the food and service was perfect. The staff really do care and pay attention to the customers and they made our stay speacial. thank you to Nashi, Sohail, Shiyaz who made dinner and breakfast fun daily.

The resort has a number of events you can particapate in like daily yoga morning/evening and daily soccer next to beach which all the staff participate in and helps you feel like a family and get to know the other guests. There is a daily sting ray feeding session in the evening where you get to see about 6-8 sting rays.

We did snorkelling (equipment provided by resort with NO hire charge) and this was great you haev dedicated snorkelling coral areas which was nice and we got to see reef sharks in the morning when walking around at 7:30am on the beach.

We did go to the spa and had a facial overall the service was great but i found the spa very overpriced but this was expected given your location.

For our last day we were due to move to the lagoon bungalow we booked and as it was our anniversary the resort upgraded us to the ocean bungalow which was amazing. Own coral to snorkel, own pool, a huge room with bedroom, living space and a jaccuzi made this last day/night very special. When we returned from dinner we were greated by rose petals over the bed a cake and a bunch of flowers which was very nice.

we had a great time and we got what we came for and that was to wind down and relax. The resort is a bare foot resort so dont waste luggage space with shoes you really dont need it at all. A pair of flip flops if you really want to but that is all.

Going to this resort everyone should know this is a luxury resort and the prices will be high for activiites and drinks. We only had soft drinks and on average a coke was $3.50 and a bottle of still water was about $10 for large and sparkling we paid on average $8 dollars.

Definetly will go again as the hospitality you receive here is pure perfection

Room Tip: Room number 1 is the first beach bungalow which has two pools one in the backyard and one in front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NSCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    660
    75
    31
    12
    7
See reviews for
74
555
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

We went to Huvafen for our honeymoon at the end of September / October this year and stayed for 11 fantastic nights. After our wedding we wanted a relaxed and luxurious honeymoon and what we got was the holiday of a lifetime. We went for the full board option and stayed in one of the fantastic water bungalows. Our thakaru Makif was extremely helpful and would check if there is anything that he could do for us. He booked activities for us and the various dining options that we went for. For such a small island the dining options are varied and impressive with four restaurant options on the island. We went to the Salt restaurant, Celsius, lobster and champagne and most impressively of all we had a destination dining experience on a dhoni out on the ocean which was unforgettable.

Although a quiet and small island there were activity options and we did lots of snorkelling which was amazing and did some ocean snorkelling too. We also did the sea bob which is a great gadgety alternative to a jet bike and a must for all.

The staff were fantastic all the time from the very friendly barman to our Thakaru Makif to one of the head waitresses in the Celsius restaurant who knew we wanted a coffee and tea when we came down to breakfast each morning. These little touches make such a luxury resort.

We were also particularly impressed with having a meet and greet the management every Monday night with cocktails where we got to meet Alan the sales and marketing manager who happened to know our travel agent quite well and we had a great chat with him. The following night he had arranged for a bottle of champagne on the beach for us to watch the sun set which was a complete suprise.

Lastly but not least the spa Lime is the most amazing spa treatment place I have every seen. My wife loved it and we both had a couple of treatments there including use of the underwater spa treatment room. Which has got to be seen to be believed.

The level of luxury at Huvafen is something we have never experienced before and am baffled at any negative reviews although I can understand why some would say its a bit pricey. For us it was amazing and we would have no complaints and if we could afford it we would go back in a heartbeat and would recommend it to any couple or even couples with small children. It truly is heaven on earth.

We both miss Huvafen. :-(

Room Tip: Lagoon bungalow number 27 we stayed in and thought it to be the perfect location
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank simonpope2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
108 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

An amazing experience that starts with the welcome at Male airport, the boat transfer to the island and the very personal welcome from staff at the Hotel jetty.
We stayed for one week at the end of October and split our stay with 3 nights in a beach villa and 4 nights in a Lagoon villa - a great way to get two very different and luxurious perspectives . The villas are stunning with excellent privacy especially in the 'outdoor rooms' and the staff respect this. Service across the island is fantastic and discreet.
The highlights for us were the island itself, the villas, house reef which is excellent for both beginner and more experienced snorkellers, the spa and the Salt restuarant (although on half board only 25% discount is applied). Scuba Diving team on site were very knowledgable and well organised and the dives themselves, as you would expect, were impressive.
The food in the inclusive restaurant Celcius was very good quality but as a very small island your choice of dining options can feel a little limited.
Exclusivity is never cheap - you are on an island in the middle of the Indian Ocean
If you're looking for a tranquil barefoot retreat which offers laid back luxury without compromising on service then Huvafen Fushi is for you. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DK63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

service was great, food fantastic, rooms spectacular, island beautiful, feeding stingrays special, under water spa, under ground wine room, and lost of small in room touches.

two things I would watch / recommend...

1/ the speed boat ride was not pleasant ... while the sea was not rough, its a small boat and therefore even a small chop makes it a very bouncy and not relaxing trip. for a top end hotel, a better transport option should be in place as standard (of course w could have flown by sea plane, but i thing the boat experience could have been better)

2/ big black nasty ants ... its an island and wild life is around you. At night we would come home after dinner to find these 1cm long black ants throughout the unit. many in the bed. I mentioned this and they did their best; but what could they do. These days barriers can be spayed to keep these sort of ants outside; maybe more could be done there.

these two things did take the shine off a perfect location; but i would still go again and strongly recommend the place.

Room Tip: Room 10 was great (ants aside)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank reklaw_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2011

I think we wanted this first trips tot he maldives to be very special. This hotel was recommended by a travel agent. It was definitely beautiful and the food tasty. The spa was superb. The problem was that we found the facilities too limited and the menu too short for what we were paying. This is supposed to be one of the best hotels in the maldives so we expected more choice. Having said that the service was mostly excellent and they made an effort to make us feel comfortable. Yet compared with Thailand and Bora Bora we found it to be overpriced and too limited. Unless I visit more hotels in the maldives I am not sure if they are all like this.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moserge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed October 19, 2011

My sister and I spent 7 days at HF from 9 October 2011. The location is G-Ds country as she put it. The services (our Thukuru, marine guide, spa therapists, etc.) were outstanding -attentive, practical and practised. The range of offered activities is just right - our favorites being the guided snorkelling and water sports and stingray feeding. We loved the food - found the quality to be excellent (freshness and variety) and the portions to be generous, which made the somewhat higher cost palatable (especially the pastries, seafood, curries, Indian and local style cuisine). We stayed in a Lagoon bungalow which is styled minimalist luxury modern (not overdone bollywood/dubai bling style), spacious and thoughtfully laid out.
Having read every review on Trip Advisory before booking especially the critical ones, e.g. littered with construction debris - I was relieved to find that (if these problems existed) they have been sorted out. Just to be clear it is not 100% perfect - of course there is always room for improvement - but the issues we identified were relatively petty, viz. (1) one surly waiter - but only one night; (2) we had to ask twice to replace a faulty converter plug; (3) we picked up a total of 3 shards of glass, 2 bottle caps on the beach; (4) some of the beach towels seemed a bit faded...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shamilah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

My husband and I have just returned from our recent holiday to Huvafen Fushi and all we can tell people is that we have peaked too early in our holidaying career!! We will never ever have a holiday like that again. It was out of this world and so perfect on every single level.
Amazing food, amazing staff, amazingly beautiful island, amazing watersports.... Have I mentioned that it was amazing!!!
We took our two young children with us - controversial for The Maldives as many people associate it with just being a place for couples. I would describe Huvafen Fushi as understatedly child-friendly. They don't shout about their family offering and it is not in your face. However they have really thought of everything for those travelling with young children.
We stayed in the incredible Beach Pavilion - a truly magnificent villa. It has two bedrooms, its own kitchen, its own private beach and a fabulous swimming pool. We also spent our last two nights in The Cube - a three bed property - which was just as great.
The staff were so friendly and so helpful with the children. Our six-month-old had so many cuddles from so many different staff members! Our Thakuru (butler) was also really great with them and while I went out diving, he assisted my husband with childcare!!
Nothing was too much trouble for the team. Incredible fresh purees were delivered every mealtime for our infant to enjoy...Our three-year-old also particularly enjoyed the daily feeding of the stingrays by the island's Marine Biologist.
Huvafen Fushi is a world apart from normal luxury. It exceeds expectations on every level. We stayed at One and Only Reethi Rah for our honeymoon. That was good. But Huvafen Fushi is a step above -without doubt.

Room Tip: If you have a family, The Cube or The Beach Pavilion is a great choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huvafen Fushi Island
14.6 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,637 reviews
7.0 mi away
Baros Maldives
Baros Maldives
#1 of 1 in Baros Island
2,083 reviews
21.4 mi away
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Emboodhu Finolhu
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,375 reviews
13.9 mi away
Gili Lankanfushi Maldives
Gili Lankanfushi Maldives
#1 of 1 in Lankanfushi
1,737 reviews
15.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maldives at Kuda Huraa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huvafen Fushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huvafen Fushi

Property: Huvafen Fushi
Address: North Male Atoll (Formerly PER AQUUM Huvafen Fushi)
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Huvafen Fushi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huvafen Fushi Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Huvafen Fushi 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Float at infinity's edge. Descend stairs for underground wine. Come out of your shell in the depths of an underwater spa room - the first and only in the world - where colour fish glide past the floor-to-ceiling-windows that reveal the beauty of the reef. Huvafen Fushi, a multi-award winning island resort located only 35 minutes by speedboat from Male, offers 44 naturally modern bungalows and the luxury of 'suites at sea,' traditional Maldivian sailboats fitted out with modern indulgences and the chance to escape and relax in a secluded island paradise in the middle of the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Huvafen Fushi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huvafen Fushi Hotel Huvafen Fushi Island
Huvafen Fushi Male
Huvafen Fushi Hotel Male
Huvafen Fushi Huvafen Fushi Island, Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing