We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUT.OF.THIS.WORLD”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Huvafen Fushi Maldives
Reviewed October 14, 2011

My husband and I have just returned from our recent holiday to Huvafen Fushi and all we can tell people is that we have peaked too early in our holidaying career!! We will never ever have a holiday like that again. It was out of this world and so perfect on every single level.
Amazing food, amazing staff, amazingly beautiful island, amazing watersports.... Have I mentioned that it was amazing!!!
We took our two young children with us - controversial for The Maldives as many people associate it with just being a place for couples. I would describe Huvafen Fushi as understatedly child-friendly. They don't shout about their family offering and it is not in your face. However they have really thought of everything for those travelling with young children.
We stayed in the incredible Beach Pavilion - a truly magnificent villa. It has two bedrooms, its own kitchen, its own private beach and a fabulous swimming pool. We also spent our last two nights in The Cube - a three bed property - which was just as great.
The staff were so friendly and so helpful with the children. Our six-month-old had so many cuddles from so many different staff members! Our Thakuru (butler) was also really great with them and while I went out diving, he assisted my husband with childcare!!
Nothing was too much trouble for the team. Incredible fresh purees were delivered every mealtime for our infant to enjoy...Our three-year-old also particularly enjoyed the daily feeding of the stingrays by the island's Marine Biologist.
Huvafen Fushi is a world apart from normal luxury. It exceeds expectations on every level. We stayed at One and Only Reethi Rah for our honeymoon. That was good. But Huvafen Fushi is a step above -without doubt.

Room Tip: If you have a family, The Cube or The Beach Pavilion is a great choice.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (827)
There are newer reviews for Huvafen Fushi Maldives
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

421 - 427 of 827 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2011

It was the perfect holiday from the time we got off the airport, the speedboat ride sets the tone for the holiday with the sparkling clear water and the aqua all around. The location is sublime. The property is luxury at its modern best. The Ocean pavilion we stayed at has absolute privacy, and has the most modern amenities very thoughtfully put together. The staff is extremely well trained to be discrete and everything is perfectly orchestrated. The restaurants are great, and the underwater spa is not to be missed. We were surprised with the wine collection and the large wine cellar. Attention to detail in hospitality has to be learned from these folks, it just tops! The place is a dream...make it come true!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Style T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Simply stunning. From arrival at the airport to the departure, this experience is sublime. The over-water bungalows are as awesome as the brochures.

There's enough bars and restaurant options on the atoll to keep you amused for a few days and the time passes before you know it.

It's barefoot paradise and all luxury superlatives are appropriate.

Staff are 'invisible' yet always there when you need them. Breakfast was outrageously good and the meals (whilst not easy on the wallet) were certainly easy on the eating.

It must be on everyone's bucket list.

Room Tip: bite the bullet and get the over-water bungalow...it'll hurt your your budget...but how often wi...
  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank StevenBSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Huvafen Fushi really is as stunning as in the photos - the waters are a jaw-dropping turquoise and the service was amazing. I also recommend the hotel for the ease of getting to the island, unlike the further resorts where you have to take a bus and then a seaplane, the transfer via speedboat to Huvafen Fushi is quite painless, as the boats are docked at the 'front door' of the international airport, just outside in fact - not even a 2 minute walk away.

The ocean bungalows are spacious and perfectly laid out. We stayed in room 33 which was on the further end of the pier, and we recommend being on this side (more privacy and uninterrupted ocean views) rather than the side where the boats make their arrivals on the island and where the hotel's yachts and dhonis are parked.

One of the highlights that we did not expect was the stingray feeding at 6:30pm daily where we saw some of the BIGGEST stingrays I have ever laid eyes on - quite an eye opener!

We booked dinner at Salt one night and enjoyed the seafood platter for two - which was a sumptious feast including lobsters, crabs, scallops, prawns, mussels, octopus... it was a mountain of seafood, a bit excessive for two - but we enjoyed all we could eat! I would suggest that you take the half-board package, as this covers breakfast and dinner which would make the experience a lot more enjoyable than paying ala carte (which will average US$200+ per dinner) for individual meals. The resort also features themed nights like Mas Bazaar on Friday nights (fish market featuring catch of the day) and Maldivian night on Monday nights where they serve local curries and food to local drumming and singing. Check the schedule before you travel if you are interested in a particular program.

I also visited Lime Spa twice - and really enjoyed both visits. Huvafen Fushi boasts an underwater treatment room which is a unique experience. I discovered however that the big fish visit and hunt around the Spa Aquarium at night (the lights attract the plankton and smaller fish) hence attracting the bigger fish like Jacks, reef sharks, snappers. We were given a private visit at 8pm after the last treatment (the spa closes at 9pm) and really enjoyed seeing the fish hunting in a natural environment. You can request this, and they will happily arrange it for you if the room is not booked for a treatment - it's worth seeing!

We also tried the sunset cruise with champagne - very nice experience, the dhoni was large, and outfitted with fat, comfortable cushions where we had a private cruise and watched the spectacular sunset (as well as taking a lot of photos that made all our friends back home very envious)!

Huvafen Fushi is a small resort with only 44 rooms, which is perfect because it feels like our own private island. Even though the hotel was running at about 80% capacity when we were there, we hardly ever saw anyone except at breakfast and dinner. Perhaps because all the rooms have their own plunge pools, we spent 2 afternoons at the hotel main pool and hardly saw anyone else there. The staff were also very quick and attentive to bring out cold water and towels.

This is my second visit to Maldives (first time I stayed at Four Seasons Kuda Huraa), and it was even more spectacular than I remembered. As a last parting touch, the hotel team stayed on the pier and waved until the boat was out of sight... WOW, that was a nice farewell! We would definitely go back in a heartbeat - this place was heaven on earth!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 33 which is the better side for Ocean bungalows. The other side faced the pier wh...
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jetsetter741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Like a lot of couples who visit, we spent a week at Huvafen Fushi for our honeymoon. With it being our honeymoon we spent our time trying to find just the right resort and time of year and settled on this one in late December.

As the plane flew over the islands, we were taken aback by the beauty of the location. You've seen it in photos, but seeing it first hand is another thing altogether.

Male is probably the real Maldives. And whilst it would be nice to go back and explore the mainland where we landed and see some real culture, this week was about getting away from the rest of the world. And you can certainly do that at Huvafen Fushi!

The journey to the island was mildly harrowing if you're not used to boats. We were expecting a slow cruise, but the boat literally flies across the waves as the island is miles from the mainland. The guys from the resort who met us from the plane were great though and made the whole journey as relaxing as possible - and they probably find the whole thing quite amusing. Just go with it and enjoy the ride!

The reception at the island is nice. One of the managers meets you from the boat with a brief introduction to the island and a drink and then introduces you to your butler who takes you to your room.

First impressions of the island as you head to your room are very good. The island is tiny and covered in palm trees which hide the rooms and restaurants so it remains beautiful from all angles. All staff that you pass are welcoming. We were staying on one of the wooden pier rooms, which are on stilts over the water. This vista would also have been beautiful had one of the huts not burned down the previous week! And unfortunately its charred cinder was right next to our room!

I felt sorry for the resort as there is nothing they could have done (other than warn guests in advance) and work was already underway to cover it over and rebuild it. I'm sure it's long fixed now. As it was our honeymoon however, my wife didn't want to be the couple who had to live next doors to it, so we asked to move. To management's credit, we were in an upgraded room the next day!

The original room was lovely, but the upgraded room outstanding! The addition of a living room (with glass floor to look down in to the ocean!) is great to have and the bathroom had a much larger bath; though whatever way we tried, we could never get the water to run hot - the shower was fine though!? Tea and coffee making facilities are provided - they could charge you for it (where else are you going to go?) - so it's nice to feel little touches like this are given to you. All pier rooms also have their own little terrace pool, which we found oddly handy despite having the entire Indian ocean at our disposal. Our terrace was larger than the standard room with a sofa as well as sun loungers.

An exploration of the island reveals a couple of restaurants, bar, library, shop, pool area, water activity hire, spa, yoga area and gym. And of course the whole island is a beach.

I was expecting the food on the island to be a little more authentic than it was. But I suppose if you want that, you shouldn't be at a resort hotel. It was all very nice however with local touches, catch of the day, themed evenings and Raw was particularly good food.

The spa is large and even if you don't plan on a treatment, it's worth a visit to see the underwater massage room. Surreal! The gym is small, but there is probably limited call for it - I had it to myself every day and the equipment they have is ample. The view is also not what you'll be used to seeing from your local one!

The water activity area is another nice addition. There are paying activities, but you can also snorkel or kayak for free. Again, they could make easy money from you but elect not to. While we were kayaking we were passed by a pod of wild dolphins. It beats an organised dolphin experience any day! Diving around the island is also a must, even if, like me, you've never done it before. The guys in the shop explain everything you need to know. We also adopted a coral for a minor sum (as part of their eco awareness scheme) and were taken out by a diving guide to plant it. There was no time limit set, it was just him and us and after planting it he took us for a bit of a scenic tour of the coral. We found ourselves taking out the kayaks most days and my wife became a scuba addict.

The island is great for wildlife: Dolphins, sharks, rays (you can watch them being fed at sunset - or just find them swimming beneath your room of a night), every kind of fish you can imagine, crabs, bats, lizards (don't worry about bugs though - they smoke the island once a week). A good camera is a must and it's worth investing in an underwater housing too. 

The pool area is very relaxed and the bar lays on complimentary drinks each evening before dinner. The library is also handy if you want to grab a book or a film for the evening.

Some of the negative reviews comment on slow, unhelpful and unfriendly service but this couldn't be further from how we found it to be. We'd just come from the Burj Al Arab where the service was impeccable and attentive, and Huvafen Fushi is a completely different pace and style. But that's not a bad thing. Firstly, I have no idea why people need fast service - where are they going in such a hurry on a desert island? And as for unhelpful, we found everyone to be courteous, friendly and genuine. Yes, nobody follows you around the island cleaning your sunglasses. And why would you want them to? But when you need help, the staff go out of their way: When my wife dropped her sunglasses in the sea one night at dinner, the waiter grabbed one of the cooks who made a makeshift fishing line and saved me the job of wading out to rescue them! 

Also, some reviews comment on the weather as if the resort could do anything about it. Pick the right time of year and you stand the best chance of a picture-perfect week.

Though the island is small, you'll hardly come across another guest during your stay other than when you eat. With so few rooms and so much beach you can always find a completely private spot to yourselves. I have probably never been so relaxed - being stranded on this desert island is highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank phileasdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

More like living the dream. Stayed here for a couple of days in a Deluxe Beach Bungalow. Our speedboat ride was certainly bumpy but our greeting from Parvis and staff was smooth as was my farwell by Armjad & Ang.
Although the resort was running at 87% full you felt like you were the only one there. So if you don't relax well no one on the island is too blame.
The house reef snokeling was just like swimming in a tropical fish tank. Can't believe the wonderful aquatic life below. Tina the Marine Biologist was truly informative at Stingray feeding hour. Have a new appriciation for these creatures.
Ate at all the restaurants and the presentation didn't hide the flavours or the taste of all the wonderful foods. The food all round was first class and did not feel I paid anymore than I do at any highend restaurant in Melbourne.
Staff were all very friendly to me and also available anytime. Always nice when the barman remembers your drink.
As for the room they are true to thr brouchure. Very hard decission to make leave the room enjoy the facilities or stay in your room and enjoy. The loaded ipod was like icing on the cake. i would book a deluxe beach bunglow again as it was very private and close to everything.
Although expensive I feel this helps keep the exclusivity.
Make space I will be back .

Room Tip: Bungalow 17
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julesten2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

I had to just give HF 4 stars, not 5, since we loved another resort in the Maldives quite a bit better on this same journey from the USA. However, it's like comparing apples to oranges: both were completely different styles. Huvafen was awesome and has a smaller, more private feel, which we generally prefer. We stayed in a room that walks right out onto the beach. It also had a plunge pool (with no view) in our bathroom. If you're looking for a room to blow you away, there is one here with a full size pool in the room and it has a beach view. A couple who got married were in it during our visit. Food and service were great--we tried all the options. We didn't feel our butler added anything to the stay. The spa was awesome and we visited just about every day. We typically stay at just one resort if we're lucky enough to get away for two weeks. However, we split this trip to the Maldives between HF and Soneva Gili for a week each and were glad we got to experience both. In the Maldives there is typically one resort per island and each island is relatively small so a week was enough for us here at each locale. The only reason for four stars vs. five, is that it didn't blow us away in any sense. If you have limited mobility for any reason and don't want to have to go far for anything, you'd enjoy Huvafen more than Soneva Gili though. It does have a mix of all the right stuff. Very comfortable bedroom with great air conditioning.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeTraveler05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huvafen Fushi Island
14.6 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,763 reviews
7.0 mi away
Baros Maldives
Baros Maldives
#1 of 1 in Baros Island
2,213 reviews
14.2 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Gili Lankanfushi
Gili Lankanfushi
#1 of 1 in Lankanfushi
1,813 reviews
21.4 mi away
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Emboodhu Finolhu
1,303 reviews
13.8 mi away
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lankanfinolhu Island
2,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huvafen Fushi Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huvafen Fushi Maldives

Address: North Male Atoll (Formerly PER AQUUM Huvafen Fushi)
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Huvafen Fushi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huvafen Fushi Island
Price Range: $1,208 - $3,427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Huvafen Fushi Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Float at infinity's edge. Descend stairs for underground wine. Come out of your shell in the depths of an underwater spa room - the first and only in the world - where colour fish glide past the floor-to-ceiling-windows that reveal the beauty of the reef. Huvafen Fushi, a multi-award winning island resort located only 35 minutes by speedboat from Male, offers 44 naturally modern bungalows and the luxury of 'suites at sea,' traditional Maldivian sailboats fitted out with modern indulgences and the chance to escape and relax in a secluded island paradise in the middle of the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Huvafen Fushi Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huvafen Fushi Hotel Huvafen Fushi Island
Huvafen Fushi Male
Huvafen Fushi Hotel Male
Huvafen Fushi Maldives Huvafen Fushi Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing