We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Treated like a princess!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hulhule Island Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hulhule Island Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hulhule Island
derbyshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Treated like a princess!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2010

My husband and I stayed here when I had to be transfered from Kuramathi to mainland as I was ill and had to go to hospital. We could not fly back to island that night so our fantastic Kuoni rep Nic sorted our night stop out at Hulhule.
It was also my birthday (IM JUST NOT BLESSED WITH LUCK) when I was ill and the hotel staff treated us like royalty.
The hotel was very clean, large sea view rooms and staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The breakfast wow! an array of so many things I had second helpings and i usually only have cereal! enjoyed our breakfast whilst looking out to the beautiful turquoise sea.
We would most definately stay here again if waiting transfers etc.
And thank you to the staff for making me feel so much better x

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skywitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    179
    165
    68
    54
See reviews for
76
213
34
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2010

This hotel, if the we are led to believe from the lobby walls has won tons of awards for being the best ''Airport Hotel'' in the world. All I can say is that if this hotel is the benchmark to the Hotel regulators then the whole travel industry has gone to the dogs.

Nothing great about this hotel and on a par with say a Premier Inn in the UK. This hotel only wins awards for amenities such as swimming pool etc. Which is like saying Ruby Wax is a stunner because she still has all her teeth!!!

The reality is this is a ok hotel if you get off a plane in the Maldives and don't have a luxury Island to stay on. However....like everywhere in the Maldives the food is dire and the drinks are ridiculously and unnecessarily over priced.

For starters...This World class resort and hotel has a restaurant that offers up microwave meals from its restaurant at full price restaurant prices.( I kid you not). It also charges $6 a beer, which is cheap for the Maldives!! because, (I am told) of restrictions due to its Muslim beliefs. That said, why charge me $5 for a can of coke?? Surely Coke - or any soft drink for that matter, is not considered hells brew in the Koran? or am I missing something?

I guess it will take a while for Hotels like this to catch up to western Standards, but it doesn't help when the Hotel Industry is giving out awards and presenting delusions of grandeur in the travel industry.

For me the whole 5 star ratings system is out of date. Hotels should be marked out of one hundred for quality service and amenities. That way hotels such as this would not be advertised so highly and confuse the paying public in to believing they are staying somewhere luxurious when in reality its simply bog standard with lots of add ons.

Good hotel, but has no wow factor....also eat out for decent food at cheaper prices.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Subsonic7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2010

We had a day room when passing through. We checked in at 10am and left at 2.30pm.

Following a couple of emails the Hulhule offered us a discount on their normal day rate as we were only there for a few hours. I thought the hotel offered good value for money (for the Maldives) and it is only a couple of minutes drive from the airport. I would recommend taking the hotel telephone number so you can call them on your way through the airport. A free shuttle will turn up to the bus stop (look out for the sign outside the airport) within 10 minutes.

The hotel is probably 3 star. The rooms are clean and tidy. The restaurant is good and the service very good.

I would definitely recommend booking in if you have to spend any time waiting for flights as Male airport is not somewhere to spend any time and the Hulhule is a pleasant place to relax between flights.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PRLBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flintshire,
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

The Hulhule Hotel is the only hotel on the Island of Male and is the airport hotel.

A complimentary bus transfer will drive you the short 5 minute journey from arrivals to the hotel door ideal if your seaplane connection is the next day or you have to overnight as your flight departs early hours when seaplanes have stopped operating.

The hotel itself is large, bright and spacious with wifi available in the lobby and bars.

We have stayed at this hotel on our last two trips to the Maldives and each time the hotel has been more than sufficient to suit our requirements although the food is very fancy and fairly costly if you are trying not to spend too much.

There is a rooftop restaurant offering a breathtaking view of Male and incoming flights, breakfast was included for us on our last visit and was in the cafe on the ground floor, basic food was provided such as bread, jam and cereals along with fresh fruits, tea and coffee which was sufficient to begin a journey.

The staff were pleasant enough but did not go out of their way to assist us.

The rooms were clean and comfortable and fully air conditioned, we were located on the ground floor so were able to avail of the wi-fi in the room that was directly behind the lobby which was a bonus as it was not available in the rooms.

The rooms have tiled floors and contain a twin or double bed, television, telephone and en suite bathroom containing a shower, toilet and sink and some complimentary toiletries.

The hotel has a pool, spa and fitness centre but we did not avail of these facilities.

It was a clean, comfortable hotel but the price was too much for the length of time we had to spend there at £127 for 13 hours.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellylou81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2010

You're paying a lot for what you're getting.
If you have a late night arrival or early departure out of Male, you don't have much choice - hence the high rates. If you can avoid it by planning an early or mid-day arrival and mid-day or late departure and don't have to spend time here (and go to/from your resort directly), do so.

The rooms were very basic and marginally above what i would consider acceptably clean. Marry that to the prices they're charging and all of a sudden you feel as if you've been ripped off.

I am not sure who stays at this hotel for other than a short transient stay, but perhaps they can give it a higher rating than i can.

ps. Hotels on Male (a ferry ride away) are a lot more inconvenient for transit purposes but markedly cheaper for a similar experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hubris9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2010

My wife and I stayed at Hulhule Island Hotel three times so far since we flew with the Emirates flight that arrives/departs after mid-might. Our last stay was in April 2010 when we arrived at around 2.00am at the hotel and had to leave at around 5.30am to catch the seaplane... The other two stays were as short. We did not have time to enjoy the hotel facilities (or even have breakfast), but were happy with the overall stay. Location is very handy on the airport island at five minutes by minibus from the airport terminal. The hotel is probably a bit overpriced (that is why I decided to rate it as a four), but there isn't much choice for such a short stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a_r_szabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2010

We just stopover for a nite so cannot comment much.. I can only say nice room and facing the sea.. Breakfast so so only..

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chefaujus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hulhule Island
1.5 mi away
Hotel Ocean Grand at Hulhumale
1.6 mi away
Airport Beach Hotel
Airport Beach Hotel
#3 of 10 in Hulhumale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Jen Male
Hotel Jen Male
#2 of 36 in Male
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,608 reviews
2.1 mi away
Planktons Beach
Planktons Beach
#2 of 10 in Hulhumale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Beehive
The Beehive
#3 of 36 in Male
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hulhule Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hulhule Island Hotel

Property: Hulhule Island Hotel
Address: PO Box 2118, 20030
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Hulhule Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hulhule Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hulhule Island Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TravelClick and Expedia so you can book your Hulhule Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hulhule Island
Hulhule Island Male
Hulhule Island Hotel Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing