We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We enjoyed it!”
Reviewed September 18, 2006

I think the recent reviews of Paradise Island have been a little unfair. Ok, so perhaps it shouldn't be called 'Paradise' Island, but if beautiful seas, pure white beaches, fine foods, and wonderful people are what you are after then this is the place for you.
The building work on the water bungalows is not finished yet, but this did not spoil anything for us. ok, so we were on the other side of the island so I maybe a little biased - but we didn;t hear any noise at all, or any others complaining.

The bar and restuarants were great, all helped by the wonderful people working very hard there to make your holiday as special as they can. If you are watching your waistline then avoid the cake stand at all costs, as one look is fatal! Also watch the measures you are given in the bar as they get larger throughout the evening - either they like you drunk or are trying to get rid of you!!

The Italian restuarant was wonderful, and very good value for money.
Take some bread for the fish after your evening meal and walk down the jetty. The fish follow you for your bread - its so funny. We were lucky enough to see Reef sharks there in the evening - they're very shy so they wont stay around for long.

Remember to take snorkelling gear with you if you can as its about $15 dollars a day to hire or about $70 to buy in the shop!

Enjoy!!

  • Liked — The wonderful staff
  • Disliked — The couple of days rain we had - no ones fault!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank Katerela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,205
    860
    203
    101
    102
See reviews for
497
1,472
51
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (604)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2006

I am just back from "Paradise". I stayed 4 days there. I have to say, much what in former reviews dated from this year has been said, is true. I would say the place is more a port with adjoined rooms than a lovely island. There is also a damm half way around, you seeit on the island's overview. All the traffic is why it is sometimes quite noisy and also the sea partly polluted. Around the island every spot seems to be built on or in construction, same in the center of the island! Construction is mostly on the east side of the island, so don't accept a room there. Additionally the center of the island looks more like a "waste dump" than a tropical paradise! They have really to improve that! I am most annoyed that the on-going construction is not being mentioned in any propaganda for the island! Als the island has no own reef, it means that snorkelling is also only in a limited way possible.
What is true, the rooms are quite nice, although sometime very distant from the main buildings. Outdoor showeringvery nice! Food is also good to very good, although the dining room looked to me more like a basic "comedor".If 500 people are packed in, I would not like to be there! O.k., think again and shop around before you go the "Paradise Island"

  • Liked — food and service
  • Disliked — on-going construction and noise from speed boats
  • Tips/Secrets — think twice before going to this Hotel
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank EPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2006

We stayed here for one night as we arrived too late for our seaplane transfer.

The boat ride was only 15 mins which was perfect after the long stretch of travelling. The island was quite large and we arrived as the sun was setting so we didn't get to see much of the island.

The welcome was very friendly with a cocktail and a cold towel and the staff seemed efficient. Our room was a good 10 minute walk away from the reception which wasn't great but it was only for the night so we were happy we only had to make the trek a couple of times.

Dinner was ok, wide range of food and good service. As we had booked All Inclusive for our holiday we were told we would have all inclusive at this island as well. The barmen tried on each occasion to charge us for drinks but we sorted it out each time.

We had an early start the next morning so we just had a drink at the bar, and listened to the band play for a few songs. I must mention the band was excellent, really wide range of music and each song sounded like the original, I was very impressed, especially when we saw the entertainment at the next resort (best not to mention it at all!).

Breakfast was again ok, wide range of dishes. Then we were whisked off to our holiday.

The island seemed big and we could see the harbour bit mentioned from our room which didnt seem very nice but we only saw it at night. We did see some baby sharks from the jetty which was quite exciting, in the evening.

All in all it was nice to experience another island on our trip, but we were glad we did not book this island. It was too big and felt a little crowded.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Chino1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2006

We staed here for an overnite stay in June 2006. We were in room 324 which was a good ten minute walk int he dark to the main arae of the hotel. We were right near the boat yard to which was very very noisy and also we could here the locals praying fromt he mosque. The room was nice, but the shower curtain didnt do its job and our whole room got soaked thru with water as it seeped thru the side and even our bedclothes soaked up the water leaving only one side of the bed able to be slept on. It wasnt a very well organised hotel it seemed either as the staff didnt seem to understand english half the time we were there. We didnt receive breakfast when we leftwhcih was dissapoiting as we were very hungry and had been travelling for nearly a whole day. Just another note about the room. It did have a stretch of beach infront of it but there were walls in the sea not so far out which made it look like a harbour and not very pretty at all. Beward to the huge gaps in the doors where the bugs came trooping thru! The food was of a nice quality here but the restaurant was massive and nto intimate at all like being in a large canteen. It comparison with our final destination this was not up to my standard at all. I dont think I would go back off what I saw of the island.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Little_Me_2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lankanfinolhu Island
2.6 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,723 reviews
17.4 mi away
Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives
4.4 mi away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
1,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Meerufenfushi
5,442 reviews
4.8 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,515 reviews
11.4 mi away
Centara Ras Fushi Resort & Spa Maldives
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Island Resort & Spa

Property: Paradise Island Resort & Spa
Address: 08420
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Lankanfinolhu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lankanfinolhu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine an island right in the middle of the Indian Ocean, with bright white beaches, a lagoon with multiple hues of blue and aquamarine and tall coconut palms swaying to the breeze. Who wouldn't want to be marooned on one? All the more, when all modern comforts and formal professional services that one would expect on a five star hotel come together with it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, TravelClick, TravelUp, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Paradise Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Island Hotel Lankanfinolhu Island
Paradise Island Resort Maldives
Paradise Island Maldives
Paradise Island Male
Paradise Island Resort & Spa Maldives/Lankanfinolhu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing