We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Resort is located amidst Indian Ocean with a breath taking view of crystal clear water on four sides. This is the best place if u want to just relax n rejuvenate. Hotel staff are very helpful and polite and I specially mention Luthfi who was very helpful . If I have another chance I ll head to paradise ahain

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,572)
There are newer reviews for Paradise Island Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,316 - 1,322 of 2,572 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

Chose this resort for our honeymoon and after a great deal of research went with the Water Villa on this property. Right from entry to the time we checked out the experience was just amazing and breath taking.

Pros:
####
1. The resort is exactly as beautiful as the pictures if not more.
2. The water Villa is very well maintained, the staff is extremely courteous and housekeeping is done thrice a day to ensure the room always remains spick and span.
3. There is no room service : while people might put this under cons is rate it as pro since then you are forced to move to a restaurant for your dinner which on it's own is a beautiful experience. Farumati was our favorite.
4. The main bar has happy hours every day :-)
5. Snorkeling equipment is available on rent and the resort is such beautifully located that you can go about exploring the see on your own without any guides.
6. The resort new our arrival date and time and made sure that the Air Conditioning of the room was already switched on so that we arrive in the room at a comfortable and controlled temperature.

Cons:
####
1. I guess the check-in could be a little quicker but i honestly did not mind cause the time it took for them to get the paper work done they seated us at the main bar and served us complementary drinks.


All in all amazing experience. The staff is very polite and resort is very kept.
If you are going as a couple i recommend the Water Villa.

Room Tip: try the couples Spa it's just mesmerizing.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarthak26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Wonderful resort with great restaurants, pleasant and attentative staff, gorgeous beautiful surroundings, great for relaxing. Very good SPA with various types of SPA treatments to choose from. A place I can recommend and where I would like to go back some day.

If there is one thing to point a finger to, it has to be that internet connection is just in the reception area, it would have been great to have the oppertunity for wi-fi in the room.

Room Tip: I had a Beach Bungalow close to the Water villa area, the location is great right on the beach, peac...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Paradise is not a 5 star resort by any stretch of the imagination. This will be apparent from start to finish. This is not to say you won't have a good time on this rather beautiful and idyllic tropical island, just that you might have to temper your expectations a little if that is what you were expecting.

I had a great time snorkelling on the easily accessible reefs. You get very close up views of a whole range of fish including stingrays, reef sharks and Napoleon.

I stayed in a beach villa, which was extremely large and comfortable enough. However, from looking at others I can see this was luck of the drawer as some have not been updated in terms of decor. Also some are far further away from amenities than others.

Paradise has never come in such a big box. The resort is huge, so I can envisage it potentially being very busy. Thankfully during my visit it was well below capacity.

The food is where the non 5 star nature really shines through. It is a perfectly serviceable buffet set up, but if you are expecting fine cuisine think again. It's closer to work canteen than Michelin Star.

Paradise has a real issue with added extras. If you intend to do anything other than sit or swim/snorkel then I hope you extended your mortgage before you left home. Everything costs. A lot. The excursions snorkelling, fishing or to other islands are eye watering given what I payed off resort. I was also frustrated by the internet arrangements. Having come from local islands guesthouses where wifi was free and accessible in the room I was surprised that in Paradise it was neither. The packages offered are also not conducive to longer stays.

The one shining light for Paradise is the spa. It was absolutely lovely. Great set up, friendly staff and relaxing treatments. I suggest everyone visiting tries at least a scrub or a bath.

In summary I enjoyed my stay. It was at the end of other adventures so I just needed a place to chill out before going home. I feel this was achieved mostly because of the beauty of the location and in spite of the resort's inherant failings, NOT because of it. If I returned to the Maldives I would not return to Paradise. I am sure there are better, more modern and competatively priced places out there.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael551275632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The island is nice, white sand, clear water and sun all day like every other island.. The rooms are clean and large enough but nothing special.They do not change bed sheets daily, you have to ask for it. The main restaurant is ok ,but again nothing special, and I recommend to do HP. The restaurant selection is good a Italian, a Seafood and a Japanese restaurant. The Italian is good taking into consideration where we are. The main bar is sufficient for a beer, wine and cocktails are lousy and very expensive. The entertainment is simple but they try to do something different every day. The staff is lazy and not over fiendly.One thing I liked that every room has his numbered sunbed at the beach . At my stay large groups of Chinese tourists were there and very few Europeans. All tours are very expensive. The beach BBQ is not worth to book nearly the same food as in the main buffet and the cost are additional 35 US$. In general a very simple resort and do not exspect luxory or efficient service, but good for relaxing.

Room Tip: Do not book a garden room , lousy rooms and bad location, a beach bungalow should be the minimum. 11...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank udo h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

It wouldn't be a wrong statement that every island in Maldives has a story of its own. The Paradise Island can be termed as the most common/ visited resort in the region. I stayed in a water villa and highly recommend it for the sake of a special experience. The white sands and blue lagoon is mesmerizing. There are ample food options with various restaurants around. And if you are into adventure sports - do go for water sports package. Please avoid the submarine trip - its expensive and yet nothing special. There is also something similar to a pub for night entertainment. Its a bit crowded place but if you can live with it, its a good place to stay. The ride from Male is 20 mins so location is apt.

Room Tip: Water Villas - its an experience!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paarkhee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Maldives is a beauty! Bluest waters and whitest sands possible! This island, like other hotels in Maldives is gifted by nature's beauty and is basking under the sun with all it's glory! The rooms although clean are average when compared to other 5 stars like the Taj Exotica. Staff did try to suck the fun out of our holiday by being non-friendly and rude! Food was not that great!! The cocktails were bad...overall the only thing good about this hotel is that it's in Maldives. So if you are looking for a 5 star property, pick another hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Svetlanalovesbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lankanfinolhu Island
2.6 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,763 reviews
17.4 mi away
Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives
4.4 mi away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
2,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,625 reviews
16.1 mi away
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Meerufenfushi
5,768 reviews
11.4 mi away
Centara Ras Fushi Resort & Spa Maldives
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Island Resort & Spa

Address: 08420
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Lankanfinolhu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lankanfinolhu Island
Price Range: $168 - $506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine an island right in the middle of the Indian Ocean, with bright white beaches, a lagoon with multiple hues of blue and aquamarine and tall coconut palms swaying to the breeze. Who wouldn't want to be marooned on one? All the more, when all modern comforts and formal professional services that one would expect on a five star hotel come together with it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Paradise Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Island Hotel Lankanfinolhu Island
Paradise Island Resort Maldives
Paradise Island Maldives
Paradise Island Male
Paradise Island Resort & Spa Maldives/Lankanfinolhu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing