We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise at a Price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paradise Island Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Paradise at a Price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Overall, Paradise is a great resort to stay. It has a great beach and some breath-taking experiences. A small thing - there is a swing outside each beach bungalow and our family had a great fun on it :).

Having said that, I feel its a still bit over-priced. I guess that's true for most of the places in Maldives. Here are some of the experiences that I would term as not-so-good:
1) First and foremost - "FOOD": It just sucks. They need to cook better!
2) Warmth of the staff - This was good in places but overall I found the staff to be very curt, not so responsive and non-pleasing.
3) Some facilities like kids park needs to be maintained better and upgraded.

Room Tip: Stay close to a beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TravelChronicles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    989
    797
    197
    92
    94
See reviews for
407
1,313
44
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (570)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Paradise Isalnd resort during our honeymoon in dec 2009. There is just one word to describe the place -- Heaven. We had an ubforgettable stay at the resort. I had decided to go there again and my decision still remains. The food, the staff, ambience, quality and safety of water sports are unparalled. A must go place for all honeymooners!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beautintelligent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Paradise Island Hotel & Resort in Maldives is a magnificent location for a vacation. Very neat & clean, touch of taste and sincerity is everywhere. We were in a Haven Villa which is awesome, it really worth paying for that. Heavenly feeling when overlooking the lagoon, with a Jacuzzi and the continuous sound of sea waves falling on the coral reef. The whole island is a paradise, a true name for a deserving place. The staffs are friendly and take care for everything with quick service. Lot of choices of food, many rerstaurants and boutique shops fulfill all you need there.

Room Tip: Villas are much better than beach bunglows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monzur S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Had 4days here , resort had good facilities and the restaurants had great food . We had lunch at the Italian and the food was very tasty. Lunch at seafood restaurant was also very nice. The resort staff are extremely helpful,happy , if you buy a meal plan you sit at the same table in the main restaurant, you will have the same table staff who will most likely remember your name and have a good daily chat with , they like speaking to the tourists and are real characters but always courteous. Also went diving with The dive centre, they are very safety conscious and had good dive sites.

Room Tip: If staying in a bungalow it's worth pricing an " over water villa" for a night or two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StumpyRotoruaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Four days of bliss...... couldn't be more appropriately named as Paradise! Cozy & clean rooms, great ambience, amazing choice of food, friendly & helpful staff ....... in short perfection everywhere for a perfect holiday. The Whale submarine and the Trans Maldivian Photo Flight were awsome...... and ofcourse the Spa. Habeeb at the Bageecha Restaurant & ofcourse JoAnna at the fFront Desk deserve special mention.

Room Tip: Go for the Water Villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the report end of March 2013 as part of our trip to Maldives and would like to share our experience from staying there.
First of all I need to say that the resort is huge for Maldivian standards and is “divided” in two parts – Heaven/Water bungalows and the rest (bungalows on the islands). We have experienced both.
First two nights we stayed in a beachfront bungalow. If you are planning to stay there, Nr260-239 will provide you with the decent beach and nice view. This is on the eastern side of the island (opposite from the reception) so you have a chance to meet the sunrise if you wake up early enough. The rooms are big and clean, but do not expect 5 star hotel experience there. We were with a bunch of 10 friends who were located in different parts of the island and I can say that all on land rooms are pretty much the same – dated back in 70s. There are no bathrobes, slippers, toiletries, internet. Towels are quite thin and seen better days. TV and hairdryers are ancient but in good working order. Overall I would say that you can compare these rooms with something you find for 50-60 $ USD in Thailand.
For the last night we have upgraded to the Heaven Villa, aka water bungalow, and only then experienced 5 star hotel. It is as if we have moved to a completely different place. No negative comments about the room at all – it is big and nicely decorated, bathroom is stunning, Jacuzzi on the terrace and direct access to the sea was something we hugely enjoyed.

Other details about the hotel facilities:
SPA – was great. Highly recommend for a massage as the girls who work there are just magicians.
Food – we were on half board which included breakfast and dinner in the main restaurant (buffet). Again, not impressed for a 5 star hotel. Extremely busy, noisy and reminded me university canteen days. For water villas there is a separate buffet in a better location, but the food is pretty much the same, just in a nicer setting. Italian, seafood and Japanese restaurants were quite nice and we had some tasty meals there.
Entertainment – not much in the evening. There was a DJ in the main bar, but music was not great.
Activities – huge selection of water sports such as kayaking, catamarans, jet ski etc. Could be fun.
Staff – here you really can feel division of the hotel in 2 parts. Heaven Villa staff and reception make an effort and are very helpful. The usual guests who are staying in island bungalows are not blessed with that.
Snorkelling and beach – this is not your typical paradise Maldivian island as it is facing the ocean on eastern side, which results in tides and lack of big enough reef to house tropical fish. The sea is quite rough during high tide, but nice and calm during low tides. There are still some fish, especially reef sharks which are attracted by daily feeding. There are much better places in Maldives for diving and enjoying underwater life.

Overall our stay there was ok but I would not recommend the hotel unless you book Heaven Villas and even then, for the price, there are better alternatives. No place for honeymooners or romantic break, but could be good for families with children.

Room Tip: Nr260-230 will provide you with the decent beach and nice view. 200-230 - beach is very dirty
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nataljaserra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

My husband and I visited the place on April 2012. It was wonderful and felt like our own little paradise. The place had very few people which meant we almost had the entire beach to ourselves (perfect for our honeymoon). The staffs were very friendly, kind and helpful. The food was awesome. The sea was perfect for snorkeling. We did our first scuba diving here and boy! Did we enjoy it!! I am one of those people who is afraid to get in the water, but the staff made me feel I was in safe hands. My reward? I saw a beautiful turtle swim underwater. We enjoyed our stay so much that we extended our stay by two days. Only disappointment was that we didn't get to take the photo flight (due to the rain). We wish to be back here someday!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saras A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lankanfinolhu Island
2.6 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
17.4 mi away
Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives
4.5 mi away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,313 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives
Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives
#1 of 1 in Farukolhufushi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
16.1 mi away
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Meerufenfushi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Island Resort & Spa

Property: Paradise Island Resort & Spa
Address: 08420
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Lankanfinolhu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lankanfinolhu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine an island right in the middle of the Indian Ocean, with bright white beaches, a lagoon with multiple hues of blue and aquamarine and tall coconut palms swaying to the breeze. Who wouldn't want to be marooned on one? All the more, when all modern comforts and formal professional services that one would expect on a five star hotel come together with it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TravelClick and Jetsetter so you can book your Paradise Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Island Hotel Lankanfinolhu Island
Paradise Island Resort Maldives
Paradise Island Maldives
Paradise Island Male
Paradise Island Resort & Spa Maldives/Lankanfinolhu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing