We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Entry Level Luxury Resort - Ideal for first timers to Maldives”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2013

A complete package as a Luxury Resort. Service, Hygiene, Activities all in all a perfect vacation. Some things to keep in mind though to make your experience worthwhile and not leave a bad taste in your mouth.
Maldives is made up of 80 such odd resort islands and NO end to luxury but everything comes at a cost especially since you will be paying in USD.

1.) Room selection is of utmost importance -

Couples with Kids / Older People / Lazy People - Please make sure you take rooms closer to the main lobby - 100-120

Couples who dont mind walking around and want a nice beach - 130 - 160

Rooms 240 - 270 have probably the best view BUT if you like snorkeling and lazing around in the water JUST go for rooms 130-160.

2.) They have all diving gear and snorkeling equipment for rent, so the best part of Maldives is the diving and snorkeling DO NOT MISS IT.


3.) Vegetarian food is just OK, but the spread is lavish so you are able to manage. It would help to carry some snack food since you tend to get hungry very easily because of all the beach activities.

4.) All agents sell the fact that resort is close to the airport by speedboat, please get the exact times, since most of them are far away, and if you are going for 3/4 day trip every hour counts.

5.) All resorts have a main restaurant and a few speciality restaurants, if you are a foodie and willing to blow a lot of money on GREAT food AVOID the all meal plans and try the various options. The BUFFET at Paradise was just OK except for the desserts.

Room Tip: Couples with Kids / Older People / Lazy People - Please make sure you take rooms closer to the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mave77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,619)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,395 - 1,401 of 2,619 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2013

we had a grate time in paradise island resort for conducting the rescue program for the resort staffs.we are very thankful for the hospitality that provided by the management of paradise.
me and our team assure that paradise island resort & spa participants are skilled in saving life in any emergency.

Great team work of paradise island resort. keep going....

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank visham A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stay 3 nights at the resort, spend 1 night in the beach front villa and 2 nights at the water villa, the beach front villa is regular bungalow with regular beach style interior and exterior with good view to the beach lagoon, the bed a bit hard for me and the shower is conected to the bathroom with open space style, not sure why they designed it like that probably also can be used to dry your swimsuits and wet clothes. The water villa is so much more beautifull. We stay in the haven villa with a personal jacuzzi in the viewing deck there's a direct access using steps into the water. The villa designed is modern minimalist and very spacious. We took fullboard package, The buffet have varities menu from western like pasta and salad combine with asian and indian type of food like rosti, curry and masala. the food was tasty but they do not provide free water if you stay in the beach front villa so you have to buy the drinks. In the water villa the buffet served in different resto with free water and coffee for breakfast. The water villa also have free wifi in the room while the beachfront villa not. you need to buy the package and can only browse in lobby, lounge and resto. Dont forget everything is charge in USD, so souvenir, drinks and food are not as cheap as the local price outside the resort or in the city of male.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank bigmomatraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We visited Maldives to celebrate our fist marriage anniversary and our stay at Paradise Island truly made it a memorable one. We had seen the pictures of the Water Villa and booked it and the villas are exactly the same as the pictures depict them. The Water Villas are beautifully made and it gives you an experience of having your private swimming pool as the stairs at the back directly lead you to the clean waters. Me and my wife have never seen such clean waters and we tried our hand at snorkeling too which was an experience to remember. We did try some other water spots too which were equally fun. The hotel staff is very courteous and the rooms are cleaned twice a day which makes the stay all the more comfortable. We are vegetarians but did survive as we had decent options and with such an awesome place it hardly mattered. Just one point to note is that everything is a bit on the expensive side including water too ( 3$ for 1.5l bottle). But the experience makes every penny spend worth it. If I were to revisit Maldives I would love to go back to this Paradise.

Room Tip: Please go for the Water Villas to make your stay memorable (villas 752-757 are cool)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manish3110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

My wife and I have recently returned from a 6-days honeymoon in the island, and it's been a delight. Partly this was because we stayed in a Haven Villa (the upgraded water villa), which has made the experience an absolute treat - having a deck of our own directly to the ocean, high-speed WiFi, access to the upgraded restaurant and some extras.
As for arrival and checkout - everything went very smooth: got picked up at the airport pretty quick, and also got the last boat for leaving the island with no hassles (our flight was scheduled to midnight, and we wanted to stay for as long as we could).

Pros:
Paradise. Wonderful beaches, livestock and fish. Snorkeling on the island itself is a very unique experience.
Has many attraction to take upon - both on the island (mostly sports) and off the island (e.g. snorkeling, diving).

Cons:
No significant extras for honeymooners! all we got was a champaign and some fruit :-(
Beach rooms didn't seem too rewarding, although we didn't stay in any.
Everything is very expensive (but I guess other resorts are no different): 65$ for a 15min ride on a Jet Ski???
Dinner buffet is pretty good, but I wouldn't call it mind blowing...
Not much to do at night.
Shower-rooms (where you can optionally shower after checking-out) are not a super-treat...

Room Tip: I guess I wouldn't go for the beach villas, at least not for a honeymoon. Between the water and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d4vidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Climate:
- Early part of the year is good for travel. We traveled in February. I was hoping for a pleasant climate but it was hot enough to hate the mid days. Remember your SPF lotions & sun glasses.

Booking:
- I booked through Island voyange, the process was smooth and I found the cost is 10 to 15% lower than makemytrip.com. you do your own research on booking. They messed up on the billing. i paid 50% first and when i was about to pay the rest, they again charged 100%. I followed up couple of times and it was difficult to remit the money back in dollars, the told me they provide the dollars when i land - they kept their word.

- Once we landed, we were greeted and taken to the resort via a speed boat.

- we completed check in formalities and went to our home, at this time i left my Camera in the lobby - lucky enough one of the service boy found it and gave it to lost and found. We shared the identity of the camera and it was returned. WE WERE Relieved, did not want to start the trip on a wrong foot. Hats off to the service.

Rooms:

We were given 117 (superior beach bangalow), it is 5 mins walk from the lobby. Our suggestion is you demand the rooms close to 320 if i remember correctly, it is just on the shore of the beach. Also once you check in, roam the island and find out the best room and demand the service guys for a change. We roamed the second day and by then we were settled in the existing room.

Lockers :
You can ask for a free locker in the lobby's back office where you can place your passports / other documents. and you have an electronic locker on your room - 6 digit code and easy to setup.

Room is very comfortable for us, through back door you can walk to the beach.

You will be provided coffee / tea maker and two 1/2 litre water bottles a day. Remember to carry these to restaurant since they do not serve free water in there. you will be forced to buy $3.5 water bottle there.

Food :

We took full board, only thing we hate is the timing - they are not flexible - they close the restaurant as per their timing. Almost all the time - we had to rush in there and eat :). We found the food delicious; we are vegetarians and obviously less choices but we felt they had decent veg menus. They allocate a table for you and that is the table till you check out, so you can leave the water bottles / anything else you ordered - wine / champagne there and it stays there till you check out.

TIPS:
Standard 10% service tax is included on everything, so you do not need to tip anywhere and no one asks for tips too. I took so many dollar bills and i never used it.

Also remember on everyting there is a government tax of 9%

Billing:
you do not have to pay anywhere, just sign the bill and at the time of check out you have to pay the total bill.

Duration of Stay :
We stayed 3 nights and we opted to take lunch on the day of our landing (they close the main
restaurant at 2 so if you check in before 2 you can opt this as well).

Reaching Maldives:
We are from southern part of India and found flight tickets from Trivandrum is cheaper compared to Chennai / Bangalore and they have daily flights. We used some specific credit card and got couple of bucks off on our air ticket as well.

Superior Beach Bangalow vs Water Bangalow:

needless to say water bangalow is awesome and obviously it is costlier and they do not provide full board food at the food court which is specific to water bangalow. We made a decision to go for superior beach banagalow and spend the dollars on water sports.

Water Sports:
LoL - there is a reason they do not put the cost on their website - it is a rip OFF. Having tried the parasailing / kayaking / jet skiing in US couple of times - i wanted to try this with my girl at maldives.

Parasailing : We took 15 mins ride and cost us 215 dollars for both of us. Normally in US it costs 120 dollars max. We asked him to dip in the water couple of times and he did it. we both enjoyed it.

JetSkiing : Ultimate rip off - same cost structure for 1 hour but we opted for 30 mins for 140 dollars and in US I am allowed to ride any place as long as i am comfortable riding it and knowing swimming. But here they fixed the area within which the ride is allowed; oh my god - it is very short and i felt relieved not taking 1 hour as it will be over kill to drive the same lap for 1 hour.

Kayaking : We wanted to do it and after knowing the lap structure, we did not want to do it. we skipped it.

Beach :

It is very clean and well maintained, we did not do much comparison with other available resorts - it had good rating and we got a decent deal. Our total expense was close to $2250 for three nights travel. here in US a hawai trip will take lesser but it will be crowded. Maldives is a good choice for honeymooners and higher cost helps keeping the crowd away i guess.

Overall we enjoyed our stay at Paradise Island, service was excellent but expensive.

Checkout:
they checkout three hours before and no hassles in closing formalities too.

We did not use SPA facility.

Internet : I bought four day internet for $20 at the time of landing. later realized they have internet center there as well. Not sure of the pricing you can checkout. But keep in mind the wifi is available only in the lobby & bar - it is not avaialble in the room & beach or else where.

Photo Shoot : Again expensive, you can hire photographers and they have various package which you can choose.

Some more tips:

- we bought a water resistant pouch for digital camera and were able to carry it in the ocean to take snaps. we did not use the under water camera we bought.
- you can grab couple of water bottles from the airplane / airport and you can buy soft drinks at male airport rather than buying it at the resort which are priced 300% more.
- roam around the island on day one and choose a preferred room of your choice.

I gave four stars only for the cost factor or else it is a five star resort. you can go and enjoy the fullest.

All the best & happy vacationing !

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank gapprasath g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Nov,12- The resort is very beautiful and very well managed. You have the option to pay all at once during check out for the things you eat or drink or buy at resort. There are multiple restaurants where you can sit, relax, drink and enjoy the beauty around especially at night. Days are bit humid but night is the time one can enjoy. One of the things we didn't like is, our hotel room was very far from the main area, we had to walk since there aren't much battery cars available (not when you need it). Wi-Fi is not free unless you are staying in water/heaven villas. We didn't explore the indoor games/water sports as their prices were on higher side.Food was delicious - Many options for non vegies in breakfast and dinner but very few if you are vegetarians. - Jatin

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jatin_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lankanfinolhu Island
2.6 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,771 reviews
4.4 mi away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
2,057 reviews
4.8 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Meerufenfushi
5,913 reviews
11.4 mi away
Centara Ras Fushi Resort & Spa Maldives
8.7 mi away
Baros Maldives
Baros Maldives
#1 of 1 in Baros Island
2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Island Resort & Spa

Address: 08420
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Lankanfinolhu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lankanfinolhu Island
Price Range: $184 - $961 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine an island right in the middle of the Indian Ocean, with bright white beaches, a lagoon with multiple hues of blue and aquamarine and tall coconut palms swaying to the breeze. Who wouldn't want to be marooned on one? All the more, when all modern comforts and formal professional services that one would expect on a five star hotel come together with it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TravelUp, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Paradise Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Island Hotel Lankanfinolhu Island
Paradise Island Resort Maldives
Paradise Island Maldives
Paradise Island Male
Paradise Island Resort & Spa Maldives/Lankanfinolhu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing