We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,292)
Filter reviews
3,292 results
Traveler rating
2,135
814
212
78
53
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,135
814
212
78
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water suites beach bungalow sunset bar our waiter chaaya island fish dolphin safari our honeymoon crab overwater suite superior room salad bar water shoes pool attendant curries three bars lagoon side
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 3,292 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our second time visiting this incredible island and we were hoping that it would still live up to our high expectations. Well it certainly did and if anything we fell in love with it even more. Everything from the room, the food, the staff and the surroundings are just amazing! I have to give a special mention to Lateef, our waiter who was just lovely and also Sattar who is one of the happiest people I have ever met! There's also Raf at the bar who seems to be there whenever you want a drink! But the real star of the show is Malinda, he is part of the reason that we came back to Cinnamon Dhonveli and the reason we will visit again in the future. Absolutely fabulous guy and a credit to this resort. Thank you all for an amazing holiday!

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Nicjrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon Dhonve... G, AFOM at Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives!

Thank you for your continued support on our brand. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed the entire stay from the beginning until you left the resort with an unforgettable bank of happy memories and were impressed with our over water suite, the beautiful white sandy beach, cuisines, as well as the friendly service we offered. Certainly, your kind words will be shared with the entire team to motivate tus to continuously deliver the hospitality expected from us.

With the entire team, we are all looking forward on to offering you another remarkable experience in the not too distant future.

Have a fantastic day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I visited this hotel for 11 nights this month. We were upgraded to an over water suite due to work being done on the area of the island we had originally booked, and boy how lucky we were! The room was spacious, the bed large, the bath looking out to sea and the ‘hole in the living room
floor’ allowing you to view the fish in the sea water all magical.

Special mentions must go to Raf and Malinda who work in the pool bar, Sattar who maintains the pool are and Lyn, Hussain and Patrice in reception - all so friendly, could not do enough to enhance your experience.

The food is varied and always tasty and the massage we had in the spa highly recommended.

Our only regret? We couldnt stay longer! Once the upgrade work is complete, this island will go from amazing to perfection.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Lana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon Dhonve... G, AFOM at Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives!

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review!

We are all pleased to hear that we have successfully exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed your experience with us. We strive to give the best service to create memorable moments for our guests during their stay and going through your comments, it make us believe that we have solidly achieved this goal.

We certainly hope that future plans will bring you back to stay with us for another fantastic resort experience. Until then, we wish you a pleasant day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Where to start!! From the moment stepped off our plane and arrived at Male airport we were greeted with smiles and the most helpful and accomodating staff we could have asked for.
The staff on the speedboat ride ensured we were comfortable and had drinks waiting for us as soon as we arrived.
Upon arriving at the resort we were greeted by more happy and helpful staff.
Our room was nothing short of incredible!! Absolutely breathtaking... clean, modern, stunning views and everything the photos promised.
Our housekeeper was next level, nothing was too hard and he was always one step ahead of us. Very thourough, professional and super friendly.
Our waiter LATEEF was outstanding, he had our regular drinks waiting for us at every meal, was very helpful,happy and prompt at removing any plates we had finished with.
Then we have the incredible bar staff... MALINDA, RAFF, OSI and all the boys at the bar were outstanding.... so friendly, our glasses were barely empty before they were full again, had a great laugh and joke with us and really made us feel like family. Their impeccable service doesnt go unnoticed... and was by far one of our favorite parts of our trip.
All the staff at the dive center were remarkable, their experience, knowledge and friendly natures are second to none- as well as an amazing dive, the service was a standout.
The snorkelling was lovely, water visability was good and beach is stunning.

Spa staff are incredible, so friendly and amazing at their job!!! Highly recommend.

Overall we couldnt have been happier with our honeymoon, resort, staff, view, atmosphere and allround experience was incredible. We will definitely be returning in the near future.

Have met some gorgeous people along the way- 2 couples from the UK (Matt & Nicky, and Sean & Donna) both are frequents at Dhonveli- its not just us thats fallen in love with this resort!!!

Jaime & Jarred

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Jaimechapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rellynz, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Jaime & Jarred,

Greetings from Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives!

Thank you very much for the time spent writing a review on TripAdvisor.WOW!What an overwhelming review.We are simply delighted to hear you have had a memorable stay from arrival until we bid goodbye.We love how much you have described the friendliness of the team.We always wish every holidaying with us would feel the warm hospitality we wish to extend as friend serving friends.

Will certainly share your special mention to Malinda,Raff,Osi and other colleague highlighted.We are humbled hearing your praises and motivated at the same time.It has been a pleasure to have you with us on your honeymoon and glad to hear you have found new friends at the resort.

We hope we have given you a reason to re visit us in the future.

Have a pleasant day ahead!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

An excellent 5 days. Even through the island was going through renovation we still had access to half the island. We had an over the sea villa. It was amazing with access to the water. All of the team were amazing especially Samir our waiter for the whole stay. Lyn one of the leads on site was exception with any support we had during the visit. ( cinnamon team went over and above )

Food and drink were flowing and were of a great standard. If you want things like JD or min stream drink get the premier package for drinks.

In summary. Great. Well recommended. Will come back once the renovation completed to take advantage of the extensive facilities.

Well done cinnamon team.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Sevententhsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rellynz, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives!

Thank you very much for the time spent sharing your review on TripAdvisor community.We are truly pleased to have you with us.It has been a delight to know you have had an excellent stay all throughout.We are grateful to hear you appreciated every little gesture the team has extended.

We will certainly share how much you have recommended us to the team especially your special mention to Malinda.If we could be of any further assistance on your return visit feel free to reach us prior.Please send our regards and well wishes to Ms.Kathleen.

We look forward to seeing you back ashore.

Have a pleasant day ahead!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have just come back from an amazing 10 night stay at Cinnamon Dhonveli. From the moment we arrived at the airport, we were taken by speed boat which took around 25 minutes. The staff on the boat were very warm and friendly and once we arrived on the island the reception felt very welcoming. Our room was ready and everything was prepared for our arrival. 

We stayed in a over water suite and the room was fitted with very modern facilities. The view from the suite was exceptional and felt very private as if we had the island to ourselves.

The warm welcome continued when Satar gave us his own handmade flower necklaces and always made sure we had towels on our Sun lounges near the pool. He also made sure we didn't leave the island until we had seen the infamous shark feeding which was definitely worth seeing. Thank you Satar :)

The all inclusive package, in our opinion, is worth doing. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner was always to a high standard with various options every day. Drinks were always available to us and the selection was also very varied. All the staff at the restaurant and bar were friendly and helpful. Malinda behind the bar always welcomed us with a huge smile and great conversation. We wish we got everyone's names who were there when we were because they all deserve a special mention on here.

We took the opportunity to snorkel at our pleasure and there were many types of fish to see including Sting Rays and Black fin reef sharks which we had never come across before. Kole at the water sports centre took us on a jet ski excursion which was a cool experience as we hadn't done this before either.

Even though there were renovation works taking place on the island, this didn't affect our holiday and we couldn't see or here this from our room or restaurant.

Overall we expected the Maldives to be a holiday to remember but what made it so special for us were the people who made us feel at home. The personal touches like remembering our names, the "good mornings/evenings" and just general conversation made us feel very welcome.

We will definitely remember this holiday and would recommend anyone to go there who is after relaxation with some water sports/ surfing if you so wish.

Thank you Cinnamon Dhonveli for making our holiday so special.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 869abi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rellynz, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives!

Thank you very much for the time spent sharing your review on TripAdvisor community.It has been a delight for us to have you.Your appreciation towards the hospitality of the team until we bid goodbye is certainly valued.We are truly blessed with enthusiastic team who ensure we offer the holiday experience we would wish every holidaying guest would received.This is extremely motivating to hear that we were able to made you feel at Home enjoying all that we offers.

Once again,It was a great pleasure having you here as a guest and we thank you for the recommendation extended.

We certainly hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Have a pleasant day ahead!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews