We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,834)
Filter reviews
2,834 results
Traveler rating
1,779
747
188
76
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,779
747
188
76
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater suitesbeach bungalowsunset barour waiterdolphin safarifishour honeymooncrabsuperior roomwater shoessalad barthree barscurriesroom boyoverwater suitelagoon sidemini bar
Filter
Updating list...
840 - 845 of 2,834 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2016 via mobile

After the short but exciting boat ride, we were told that there was work in the next water-bungalow so would we take a beach bungalow for a few days and accept an upgrade as compensation? In a heartbeat! The 2storey beach front accommodation was lovely, balconies on both levels, loungers downstairs, table &chairs upstairs, right on the beach and a few steps to the restaurant, there are 3 on the island but you're allocated 1dependant on where you stay, the food is buffet style with Chefs stations cooking specialities, breakfast again is buffet style with loads of choices all fresh and delicious. the water-bungalows have just been refurbished to a very high standard, aircon, fan, minibar, shower and jacuzzi bath, entrances to the deck from bed room and bathroom, steps into the lagoon and hand shower to wash off after your snorkelling, the tide is quite strong and can be very choppy, and water shallow 1st thing, so we went to the beach in the morning and lagoon in the afternoon, there are loads of different fish to see, we saw octopus, squid, loads of fish, black tipped reef sharks ( harmless) and a large Turtle, our room boy Sharif was excellent, the room was spotless and always ready for us, the decking walkway is a long way from the island but a lovely walk in an evening, take advantage of the all holiday laundry service, (great idea, saves washing when you get home) we had a dress hand made in 2 days on the island for $30 there are 3 main bars we went to the sunset bar every night, crab racing and live music most nights, the Mojitos here are the best on the island

Stayed: May 2016, traveled as a couple
4  Thank stik69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon Dhonve... G, Guest Relation Executive at Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2016

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives!

Thank you for choosing Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives for your 30th anniversary holiday! It’s always an honor to host our guest special occasions and to contribute in making such an important event of their life even more special.

It warms our hearts to know that we were able to make your holiday a wonderful experience. One of the best things about our jobs is we get to see guest create unforgettable moments on our island. It is great that you felt our personalized service. We will definitely share your review with the rest of the team especially to Sharif.

Again, thank you for such kind words written about your stay with us. It was a pleasure having you as our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2016

We went to Cinnamon Dhonveli in early June. We went from Berlin and arrived to Male 2 hours later than expected because of an delay. However on airport there were people waiting for us even though we should arrive earlier. That was really nice.
When we arrived to Cinnamon Dhonveli we were greeted by amazingly nice staff and got some welcome drink. Save to say that staff was the best I've ever seen in my life. Special thanks to our waiter "Jalel"!
The low point of our holiday came when we saw our room. I have never been more disappointed. I expected anything, but living with lizards and ants. Yes, we knew that there will be insect and anything, but there were lizards in our room (on walls, roof, in bathroom). We thought that these thing are in every room on the island, but we asked others and they had peaceful nights without sounds from lizards (they are pretty noisy at night).
Plus we couldn't close the window in bedroom properly and a/c worked also as a shower- because the hot air from outside have never stopped coming inside...
However the beach! Clear water, silence, everything about beach here was amazing!
Overal we don't think we will come back to this hotel, but as a first stay in Maldives it worked perfectly.

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AnnTheTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon Dhonve... G, Guest Relation Executive at Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2016

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives!

It was such a pleasure having you stay with us during your visit to Maldives and we sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and feedback on TripAdvisor.

While we are really happy to read that you recognized our team’s warm hospitality whilst your stay, we regret to hear your frustrations with regards to the ants and geckos in the room. We completely understand your feeling and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused. However please be advised as we are in tropical country, we can never get away with this. Rest assured that this has been minimize as we reinforced pest control before releasing rooms to guest. Anyhow, thank you for your valuable feedback, which is most appreciated in our endeavors to ensuring guests have a comfortable stay with us.

We wish to thank you for your valuable words about and especially towards our ambassador Jaleel,. It is certainly comments like yours that motivate us to continue our efforts to make every stay at Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives a memorable one.

We hope you will give us another opportunity and do consider staying with us again in your future travel as we wish to turn this unpleasant experience and restore your confidence at Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2016 via mobile

We arrived at Cinnamon Dhonveli on 22nd June after getting married on Saturday 18th June. It was a short and speedy boat ride to the island. We were greeted by warm and smiling faces as we got off the boat and taken to reception. We were put into a beach bungalow for 2 nights as our water bungalow was not ready!! And because of the inconvenience we were offered a complimentary excursion, 50 minute massage(which was heaven by the way) and 2 steak dinners on the beach( which was the best Steak I've ever had, it just made my mouth water) The beach bungalow (504) was great, very spacious, outdoor bathroom, 2 floors with bedroom on 2nd floor. Air conditioning and fan in room made it very comfortable to sleep at night. Balcony to sit out and on base floor a large lounge area with sun beds and a hammock to chill on. So we were not inconvenienced at all! We then moved to our water bungalow (801) which was very modern, spacious, comfortable and views of the ocean. We did go into the ocean a few times off our steps from our decking and saw very colourful fish but most of the time the current was very strong so couldn't go out too far.
The food was excellent, a huge choice of food as well and if you wanted something different the staff would accommodate it and go out of there way to do it for you( especially for my fussy wife ) I could not find any fault with the restaurants, 5 Star in every way, food...drink....staff and cleanliness.
We spent most of our days at the beach and what a beach! Views were great, water was safe and great for swimming and snorkelling in. Could always get a sunbed and if you couldn't the smiling friendly life guard would look after you and get you one. The Sunset bar was just a little stroll from the beach so could go off to get some beverages and bring them back with you on the beach.
We did spend a few days at the pool but we did prefer the beach mainly because of the views and snorkelling. The pool was nice but only one fault was the tiles on the pool floor had worn away and needed urgent replacing.
But overall this holiday was 5 star, which was made by the Island itself and the staff.
Thank you for giving my wife and I a honeymoon/holiday of a life time which we will never ever forget.
Love Hilary & Craig

Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
6  Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon Dhonve... G, Guest Relation Executive at Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2016

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives!

Thank you for choosing to stay at Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives for your Maldives honeymoon getaway.

We appreciate all the kind words and praises you have written here on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. It is delightful to learn that you had an overall wonderful stay and experience honeymoon in paradise. It really pleases us to hear that you experienced our friendly and personalize service and genuine warmth hospitality. We are glad you enjoyed as well the great food selection, location, amenities and comfortable rooms, as well as cleanliness and beautiful island setting.

However, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused concerning to our swimming pool. We have already shared your challenge to our Engineering and Management team and duly noted the point you have indicated which will be looked into, as your comments are very important for our continuous improvement.

Again, it is always humbling and inspiring to receive such feedback as we always aim to provide excellent guest experiences. Thank you for the lovely photos you have shared. We will look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2016

From arrival to departure we were looked after and had an amazing honeymoon.

It started with the 25 min speedboat transfer from the airport to the resort were we saw a pod of around 15 dolphins and the driver very kindly stopped and pointed them out so we could take photos.
We then arrived and were greeted very warmly by Kelly who took time to explain everything about the resort and the package. The water bungalow booked was undergoing renovations and therefore we had 2 nights in a beach bungalow in exchange for a premium all inclusive package, which was was fine as we got to experience both ammmodations and had the benefit from the package.
Both ammodations were amazing : outdoor bathroom and geckos all over the beach bungalow and the sound of the sea and private balcony in the water bungalow. The food was amazing and lots of choice.
All the staff around the island spoiled you and your happiness was their main concern and everyone always said hello when you were walking around.
We had a couples massage in the spa which was the best I will ever have in my life. We did a couple of the trips; sunset fishing which was fun, trip to the neighbouring island which was interesting to see the culture of the Maldives. We also had a sunset dinner on the beach which a must do and very romantic. The bars around the island provided a welcome cold drink and a place to watch surfers or a beautiful sunset. The entertainment in the pasta point bar was very good.
It was great to chill out on the beach, swinging in a hammock. I don't think I have ever been so relaxed. My husband was able to swim with reef sharks and a turtle. Lots of amazing tropical fish to see. Take coral shoes with you.
Amazing holiday and worth the long flight from the UK. The wonderful memories of this island and the beautiful people we met will be with me forever,

Room Tip: beach and water bungalow both were amazing for different reasons: geckos and outside bathroom / sound of the sea and private balcony
  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Melodybungle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon Dhonve... G, Guest Relation Executive at Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2016

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives!

Thank you for sharing such positive insights on your stay with us as well as choosing Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives to celebrate your honeymoon!

We are humbled by your high praises and we are heartened to learn that our teams were able to create a memorable time for you. We are pleased to read that you appreciated the Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives convenient location, facilities, and services. We will also convey your compliments to our culinary teams for their continued passion in preparing great selection of our food offerings.

We truly appreciate kind words and for sure everyone will be encouraged by your moving words and will be inspired to delight even more of our treasured guests.

It is our pleasure to have looked after you during your stay and we look forward to extending our warm hospitality to you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2016

We had celebrated our honeymoon and valentine's day with Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives. I must say we were taken very good care. The property is well maintained and good for first time visitor to Maldives. The staff make it really special here. We would definitely love to visit it once again. Thanks to everyone who put in a great effort day in and day out.

Stayed: February 2016
3  Thank Pritesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon Dhonve... G, Guest Relation Executive at Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2016

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives!

Thank you for choosing Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives for your very special occasion and our heartfelt congratulations for both of you!

We appreciate you for taking your time to write this generous review of us. We are delighted that you had an amazing stay with us, right from your arrival to departure. We’re heartened to know that you had a memorable honeymoon stay experience at Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives.

We are truly humbled by your kind compliments and we are glad to read that you appreciated our team’s genuine hospitality that we are known for. We will certainly be sharing this wonderful feedback to our team and for sure will be encouraged by your words.

All of us enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay with us. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back on your next visit in the very near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews