We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chaaya Dhonveli great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives
Certificate of Excellence
Groningen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Chaaya Dhonveli great place to stay”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We spent two weeks in juli 2014 on this magnificent island with our two kids. We had a beach bungle (#213) which was located approximately 30 meters from the lagune beach and close to one of the restaurants and bars. We had a wonderful time, the people at the island have been very nice and friendly, the service was outstanding and the food was very good. Although the island is not big, we have never had a dull moment, there are plenty of watersport activities to undertake and the different locations on the island give you the great opportunity to sit back and relax and enjoy the most beautiful scenery you can imagine. Picture yourself a bounty island and this island meets that picture. It is certainly an island worthwhile visiting.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaaya Island D... G, Guest Relations Manager at Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Greetings from the Dhonveli team!

Thank you for your review of your brilliant review. I am happy to hear that you fell in love with Maldives. We are delighted that our resort met with your expectations and that your holiday was fantastic. As a hotel we are dedicated to ensuring that our guests have the best possible experience and our entire team is geared towards making this a reality.

We will share your positive feedback with the entire team and certainly trust that we will have the honor of hosting once more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,404
    655
    164
    69
    37
See reviews for
299
1,671
38
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (636)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We stayed on the resort from 1st-11th July. It was our honeymoon and a gift to us from our families.

We travelled from Manchester with Turkish Airlines and had a stop in Istanbul. When we landed baggage reclaim was quick at the airport and we were directed to a booth, the man in the booth told us the speed boat would be 10 minutes. It was about a 20 minute ride and quite fun and refreshing after such a long time travelling.
Upon arrival we were kindly greeted by the staff offering us cold towels and fresh juice/ice tea! We were checked in quickly and were taken to our room. We had room 708 and over water suite, which was incredible! the room was so spacious and clean. The room was cleaned with fresh towels twice daily. our cleaner Mohammed was amazing, he really looked after us.

We were assigned to the Rhendi restaurant but it was closed for half of out stay due to the resort being quiet. We ate in Koimala restaurant the first half of our stay which was lovely! Although we had different restaurants we had the same waiter who was amazing (can't remember his name, sorry) He was friend with Gin, who was a lovely lad. The chefs in Koimala T.J. and Abdul were incredible, always had a chat with us and cooked amazing food! I really can't stress enough how amazing the food is on this resort, there was so much choice and diversity. When we moved to the Rhendi restuarant it was really nice to have the change in scenery, our table looked right through the doors and out to the ocean. We had a set menu here one day and loved that. We had a special meal on the beach while we were there and loved being under the stars! We also had room service on our last day which was really good. The drinks are great, a few cocktails on all inclusive and the wine and beer was tasty. you can pay extra for premium brands but I would recommend to wait for the beach/pool party. The cocktails ranged in price from $10-$15 but on a beach/pool party night you pay $17 for all you can drink premium brands with a disco.

We didn't use the pool but it looked lovely. The beach was incredible. so much choice in where to sit. the Snorkling was great, we saw sharks, sting rays, manta rays, parrot fish, lion fish, unicorn fish, angel fish, goby's, damsel fish, rainbow fish, eels, pipe fish, ras fish and many more that we don't know the names of.

The excursions we did were great, we did the BBQ at Kuda, which was $75 PP the snorkling was great and it was a lovely little island, we walked around it in 10 minutes. The BBQ was lovely and as in the restaurants plenty of choice. We did the Sunset fishing $34 PP which was a real laugh, we caught a barracuda and red snapper, you had the option to eat what you caught. The Dolphin safari £45 was well worth it, we went out on a dhoni boat and we saw a lot of dolphins (we also saw them go past the surf bar and on the fishing trip) on our last day we did a jet ski safari $180 This was epic, Sam took us out and we went around the 3 closest islands and to and area where dolphins are commonly seen. It was so surreal, we were literally surrounded by dolphins, all playing together and jumping around. Also, crab racing is great fun, we won a bottle of wine!

Overall this was the most, beautiful, amazing, epic, surreal, stunning, awesome place we have ever (and will probably ever) been to. This is what dreams are made of!! We really hope to return in a couple of years!!!

Room Tip: After walking around the whole island we were really happy we had an over water suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Adele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaaya Island D... G, Guest Relations Manager at Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Greetings from the Dhonveli team!

Allow me to first thank you for your detailed review! Such comprehensive comments are always very valuable for us.
We are delighted that our resort met with your expectations and that your holiday was fantastic.

We will share your positive feedback with the entire team and certainly trust that we will have the honor of hosting once more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Our group of 8 friends (only men) went to this hotel from the 7th till the 10th of July for 3 nights. It was my 5th trip to the Maldives & I have always enjoyed the Maldives (my favourite destination for snorkeling) We stayed in 4 water villas on half board basis. The breakfast & dinner buffets were quite good although could have been better. Lunch was a slight problem as there was only one place where we could order food & the variety was not that great. The lagoon was not that great for snorkeling & we learnt from other guests from Australia & New Zealand that the surfing here was very very good. Anyway, our main interest was that we were going for a liveaboard from the 10th till the 14th for 4 nights cruising the Maldives & that proved to be our highlight. We did great diving & snorkeling & there's no better way to see the Maldives. I would highly recommend all to try out the liveaboard cruise. Normally all companies do not accept less than 7 days but we were lucky that ANASTASIA let us try out for 4 nights. Thanks to Riyaz of Lets Go Maldives for giving us this great opportunity. Overall we all had a very great time & would love to do it again in the near future.

Room Tip: We stayed in water villas & had to walk quite far to get there. My friends complained that we sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NarinSachathep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaaya Island D... G, Guest Relations Manager at Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Allow me to first thank you for your detailed review! Such comprehensive comments are always very valuable for us and I can assure you that we are already working on the areas of improvement you have highlighted.

We are happy to read that despite some minor adjustments that still needed to be done, you truly enjoyed your stay with us. we are blessed with a passionate team of staff who help us make our guests’ stays unforgettable!

We thank you once again for having taken the time to write such detailed review and are truly looking forward to welcoming you all again for a stay filled with lasting underwater and terrestrial memories!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We added on a 5 day stay here on the back of our Sri Lanka trip as part of our honeymoon.
We only booked this place 5days (half board) before we arrived and what a great risk it was!
We're a well travelled couple, we have travelled around the world and have visited many beaches far and wide.
My husband is (we joke) some what a 'beach snob' as we have visited so many white sand turquoise sea beaches he's very fussy!
I researched so much on finding the perfect beach for him and I have to say I think I found it :-)
We splashed out and opted for an over water villa (ocean view) with it being our honeymoon. Definitely worth it although the beach front villas facing the lagoon also looked amazing!
The staff on arrival weren't particularly warm & friendly (obviously we'd been spoilt in Sri Lanka before hand) but once we got overly friendly to a few people they made a bit more of an effort.
We did get a refreshing welcome drink and cold towel which was nice after the short boat journey.
Upon arrival we had a quick walk through the island to where we were staying.
The walk out to the bungalows was gorgeous and there were so many fish in the shallow waters!
The lagoon is stunning! Beach highlight it's so calm, white sands and turquoise seas. It really is paradise.
This is a great island to surf, we saw many groups of people catching waves and generally having a great surfing time here.
From our bungalow we saw many fish below us, baby sharks and even a moray eel on our Walk to breakfast! We have done amazing diving /snorkelling all over the world & I'd say it was ok here. You see lots of pretty tropical fish & a few of the local manta rays.
We also did a snorkelling trip (extra£) the sea was very choppy although 7m visibility we saw turtles and sharks as well as hundreds of tropical fish.
For 5days this suited us perfect, along with half board.
Breakfast and dinner was great, the evening themes we loved. Could have more option of sea food though being an island. We just had chips or something small for lunch as we filled up at breakfast.
Great place to relax and snorkel, there's extra trips if you wanted to do them.
A lot of people moan about the added expenses but to be honest, in our experience,we have never stayed somewhere where you get free excursions. This is always added cost.
The Maldives is £££ & I'd say this was pretty good price for what it is and what you get.
These islands are disappearing and are getting priced out by the rich (we got informed thomsons no longer fly here whilst we were there) I'd definitely recommend tagging it on to the back of a Sri Lanka tour (flights from here £150) and just chilling for a few days as there really isn't much to do but relax and enjoy the stunning views!

Room Tip: Relaxing, romantic holiday Stunning beach lagoon Surfing and snorkelling Great choice for accommo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Natasha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaaya Island D... G, Guest Relations Manager at Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Sunny greetings from Chaaya Island Dhonveli.

Thank you for submitting your feedback on trip advisor. It's important for us to know your thoughts as it helps us to grow as a resort family. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and recommending us on good value for the money. It’s great to know that you love Maldives and its natural beauty

Thank you and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

I am writing this review while I am still in chaaya dhonveli resort. It is the best experience you will ever have. From the minute you land on there shore you are welcomed with the smile and politeness. I have been to many excursions but my best would be sunset fishing, maybe because I caught a big fish.
I would like to thank the gentleman who Looked after us at the swimming pool everyday, the cooks who made different and delicious meals for us each day, always told us what type of meat it was as we do not eat beef. Big thank you to Ahmed who was our waiter I could not fault him. He was courteous and would always ask us if we needed anything.

We are currently staying in room 809 water bungalow the view is breath taking. The room is very spacious as well as the bathroom. You even have your own back yard that has two sun loungers and table and chair.

I would recommend this holiday to anyone definitely will be back ap

Room Tip: Recommend the water bungalows
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Shakuntala A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaaya Island D... G, Guest Relations Manager at Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Greetings from the Dhonveli team!

Thank you for your very enthusiastic lines. How gratifying it is for us to read from you while you’re staying with us. It’s visible that your holiday is fantastic and met your expectation.

We will share your positive feedback with the entire team and certainly we are glade that will have the honor of hosting once more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for 1 week at the end of May and had a great time. The weather was great, food was wonderful and the people incredibly friendly.

We were picked up at the airport by speedboat and taken to the Island, took about 20min. There was a storm on the way and by the time we got to the Island the heavens opened. I have never see rain like it before in my life (and we live in England). The next morning we woke up we were met by wonderful sunshine and that was the norm through out. We couldn't have wished for better weather.

The food was very good and every night they have a different theme night. There chefs work incredibly hard and is always there with a smile and looking for a chat. The curries I had here is better then anything I've ever had in London. I cant speak highly enough of everyone that works in the restaurants so would be unfair to single anyone out.

Going to the Maldives you would tend to spend most of your time in or around the water, which is the way it should be. But, walking around the Island you cant help but be impressed how well its being maintained. We stayed in a beach bungalow and would definitely recommend it. You walk straight out into the sea were the snorkelling is incredibly. We bought a book of "fish in the Maldives" before we went and saw approx 70% just snorkelling around the Island.

All in all it was a brilliant holiday and we are looking to go back next year, I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Gawie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaaya Island D... G, Guest Relations Manager at Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Greetings from Dhonveli team and staff!

Thank you for your quick feedback on your busy schedule. We are delighted to know that you love the natural beauty of Maldives and our verity of food selection. I will pass your compliments to out chef and other colleges. They will be delight to know that they made you feel wonderful..


Thank you and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

This is the first time we have been to the Maldives and I can certainly say this was better than I could have imagined...
The Island is sand covered, the moment you step off the speed boat the charm of the island takes you in..
We stayed in a water bungalow which was amazing!! very spacious, very large bed and bathroom. There is a jacuzzi style bath like your own hot tub in the bathroom with large walk in shower. Both bathroom and bedroom look out from large windows (which can be opened!) on to the sea- may be either ocean or lagoon facing. There is a balcony with 2 sun loungers on and steps which go down into the sea.. Your room boy cleans your room twice a day!
The wonderful thing about this island is one side gets the waves- perfect for surfing, the other side has a lagoon and beach- the lagoon has no waves which means crystal clear waters which are very warm and full of amazing coloured tame fish! Snorkelling gear is a must the underwater world is truly unforgettable here.. although this island does not have a reef itself it has plenty of coral attracting loads of fish. If your lucky you may even see the amazing black tipped coral sharks! You are able to snorkel from your bunglow to the beach but better at medium to low tide. The hotel put on plenty of reasonable priced excursions- snorkelling with manta rays, dolphin safaris, island hopping, submarines, sea plane photos experience.
The staff are all very welcoming and friendly, we were all inclusive however somethings are not included in this- this didn't cause us any bother. There is food 3x a day in the main restaurant and between there is a snacks served in the main bar and coffee and cake time. The food is great with a real selection for everyone. There is a different theme for food each night. There is some evening entertainment however this is a little limited. They put on beach and pool parties when we were there but you had to buy tickets for this to give unlimited cocktails. Although reasonable priced it wasn't something we wanted to do as we were all inclusive. In all you will not be disappointed if you go to this island it is the most amazing holiday I have had...

Room Tip: Recommend a lagoon facing water bungalow over an ocean facing bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gemma3746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaaya Island D... G, Guest Relations Manager at Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Greetings from the Dhonveli team!

Thank you for your review of your brilliant review. I am happy to hear that you fell in love with Maldives. We are delighted that our resort met with your expectations and that your holiday was fantastic. As a hotel we are dedicated to ensuring that our guests have the best possible experience and our entire team is geared towards making this a reality.

We will share your positive feedback with the entire team and certainly trust that we will have the honor of hosting once more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farukolhufushi Island
5.7 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,695 reviews
12.7 mi away
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Meerufenfushi
5,248 reviews
8.1 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lankanfinolhu Island
2,402 reviews
7.7 mi away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
1,974 reviews
11.5 mi away
Baros Maldives
Baros Maldives
#1 of 1 in Baros Island
2,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives

Property: Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives
Address: Kanuoiy Huraa, 20252 (Formerly Chaaya Island Dhonveli)
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Farukolhufushi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Farukolhufushi Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives is Kaafu Atoll's best-kept secret for its world famous surf point known as Pasta Point. Located in the heart of the best surf areas, the island is a paradise for water sports lovers. Surfing, Diving, Snorkeling, Canoeing, Pedalo are hot favorites while Outdoor sports such as Tennis, Beach Volley Ball and Badminton are also available. This exqusite island resort offers lavish living spaces with 148 stylish rooms and six restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TravelUp, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Island Dhonveli Hotel North Male Atoll
Chaaya Island Dhonveli Resort
Dhonveli Beach Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing