We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Baros Maldives
Nearby Hotels
Angsana Ihuru(Ihuru Island)
$460
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$700
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Park Kodhipparu, Maldives(Kodhipparu Island)
$1,119
$519
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$181
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$486
$427
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Huvafen Fushi Maldives(Huvafen Fushi Island)
$640
$594
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kurumba Maldives(Vihamanafushi)
$255
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$433
$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Paradise Island Resort & Spa(Lankanfinolhu Island)
$208
$157
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (2,380)
Filter reviews
2,380 results
Traveler rating
2,198
140
31
8
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,198
140
31
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslighthouse restaurantvilla hostlime restaurantwater villaour honeymoonfishdeluxe villalobster bisquedive centrereef sharkssmall islandhalf boardindian oceanoutdoor showerthe resort managerother resortsmale airport
Filter
Updating list...
1,797 - 1,802 of 2,380 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2008

Beautiful And Relaxing Outstanding Service
To keep it short we had a fabulous holiday, we stayed in a water villa for ten nights, Kaheel (our room attendant) was simply the best. Ali, Hussan, Muntaz & Jules at the Sails bar were so friendly and gave us a service second to none, as did everyone on Baros, which we feel privileged to experienced. Simply Accommodation, Food, Service and Location have convinced us to return in 2009. Thank you to Ahmed & his team for looking after me (Donna). On my Adventure to Male. Donna xxx . Can’t wait to see you all Feb 2009.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank donnaandnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2008

What an outstanding resort!!
My boyfriend and i booked at baros for 4 days and 3 nights, and just returned this morning. We miss the place so much already that we are writing reviews and planning to go back!

From the first point, Baros representatives meeting us at the airport and ushering us to the LUXURY speedboat and to the resort...we knew we had picked the right place!
Baros was fully occupied but we were amazed how much people kept themselves to themselves.

This island, its staff, the rooms, the restaurants, the food, everything is off the scale outstanding!

We stayed in a water villa and were surprised how MASSIVE it was! Wow! Huge bed, bathroom, dressing area, terrace with loungers and day bed. Sheer luxury.
This resort does not fail to impress in every aspect.
We thoroughly enjoyed the food at Lime buffet breakfast, and the other restaurants were similarly fabulous!

Would highly recommend both of the excursions we done - dolphin sunset cruise (spotted lots of dolphins...jumping out of the water and making shows for us!) and the reef snorkelling. Amanda the marine biologist on the island was really helpful and a great guide. All the species living underwater was simply breathtaking!
We went to the spa, boyfriend for a Thai massage and me for a '"sunburn treatment" ... this too was outstanding!

Then before we left we made a trip to the boutique shop ... well it seems we just couldn't get enough of this place! I'm quite sure we bought 1 if not 2 of everything!!

Take plenty of suncream with you and prepare to be sent to heaven! For anyone who has written negative reviews on this website - they must be insaneeeeee!! I had severe sunburn on day2 and still managed to have the time of our lives!!

Thank you BAROS for an unforgettable experience, we will be back sooner than you know!
(No need for photo uploads as the resort is EXACTLYYYYY as it is on the website / photos!!)

Louise & Saber (330)

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2008

We just returned from Baros. To keep it short: Great (one of the greatest?) place to be on the Maldives. It´s our fourth trip to Maldives and second to Baros.
In my opinion, it´s a pity that all the small simple but comfortable islands are now turning into fancy 5star resorts with anything imaginable but definetly dispensable. But this is the trend and the target group of guests is changing, too. I am overhappy they did not set up a pool at least.
Diving and snorkeling was a pleasure which is our first priority! Service is 5star. I wish we could have had more chances to get together with other guests and staff. The manager´s cocktail was a good but the only opportunity.
A few suggestions: How about offering Boccia, tabletop soccer, openair movies?
We will come back Baros.

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bluediverbubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2008

We have just returned from a fantastic week's holiday on Baros in the North Male atoll in the Maldives. It was our third trip to the Maldives but this was by far and away the best yet. We stayed in a water villa overlooking the Indian Ocean - we had a private sun deck that caught the sun all day and looking out over the water you felt that you were looking out over the biggest private swimming pool in the world! When feeling a little overheated you could just step off at the bottom of the deck directly into the water - fantastic. The house reef is brilliant and we enjoyed the best snorkelling ever - in waist-deep water you could see giant clams, trigger fish, angel fish, parrot fish, sea slugs and cucumbers and beautiful coral - if you ventured a little deeper there were reef sharks, jacks and even turtles. We don't dive but apparently the dive school is excellent according to fellow guests. There are three restaurants - the Lime Restaurant which serves burgers, pasta, pizza, chicken satay etc - The Cayenne Grill - which serves basically anything you could grill - we particularly enjoyed the teppanyaki - the set seafood menu was delicious but there is a lot of it if you don't have a big appetite. We also enjoyed the Maldivian night with delicious curries. The most expensive restaurant is the Lighthouse which serves steak etc flambeed at your table - but I think the Cayenne Grill was our favourite. Breakfast is a buffet affair with all manner of tropical fruit and juices, yoghurt, cereals, pastries, cheese, meats, cooked breakfast and eggs cooked to order (including fried, scrambled, omelettes, pancakes and waffles). There is a lounge bar above the Lighthouse restaurant which is a great place to take in the sunset and between 6 and 8pm a nurse shark cruises up and down that particular stretch to feed. A word of warning to wine lovers - the mark-ups are ferocious!
There is a spa which looked good but we were too busy in the water to try it!
We did join the dolphin cruise - six of us sitting on the front of a speedboat with glasses of bubbly watching the dolphins peforming acrobatics at sunset - unforgettable! We also went on a sunset fishing trip - this was great fun and I actually caught a grouper which the the chef at the Lime Restaurant cooked for our lunch the following day (note they do charge 20 dollars per person for cooking the fish!).
The service was excellent and all the staff were very helpful, friendly and cheerful. There are 150 guests when the resort is full and 275 staff but if there truly were 400 plus people on this tiny island we have no idea where they were hiding - you rarely seem to see many other people apart from mealtimes.
The accommodation was luxurious and kept spotless by the villa attendant who came in twice a day.
We will definitely return to Baros as many other people have (one couple apparently were on their 52nd visit!).

The only down side was the emirates business class flight - definitely not as good as BA Club Class - would look at other airlines next time.

8  Thank seacucumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2008

We (two teenagers and parents) just returned from a week at Baros which we found to be excellent. We are very keen scuba divers and the whole Baros scuba set-up is very well organised. First of all, being in the center of the North Male Atoll means that there are over 30 dive sites that are less than 30 minutes (by boat) from the hotel; offering some of the best reef diving in the world. Secondly, the dive team and support was all very well done. Dispite the hotel being full, we always were able to get on the dive boat and we were never more than 5 divers per guide. The equipment was all in good condition and ready when we arrived at the boat which left on time. One final note, the "house" reef at the hotel is great and one can spends hours with a snorkel and see beautiful fish and coral within 100 yards of the beach.
We hasd two delux villas on the west side of the island. I was a bit concerned that we were too close to the dive shop and where boat deliveries were docked, but in fact we nerver noticed the boats and the sunsets were beautiful. The island is very well maintained; they seem to rake the whole thing everyday. Also the planting is such that were rarely saw anybody else when we siting on our terrace.
We used the spa a number of times, which we enjoyed and we always able to get time slots that we were seeking.
The food is pretty good and there is a wide choice. The breakfast is very well done and even arriving at the last mnute there was a full selection and it was all still well orgainsed.
The staff (and there are lots) are very firendly, surprisingly efficient and actully seem to like what they are doing. The atmosphere at the hotel is quite luxury; people tend to stay to themselves and there are very few t-shirts. There is a nice bar where we would have an evening drink, but there is no bar scene.
We travel quite a bit and try to stay in top hotels, which this is one; I would say the the main reason that this is not 5 stars is because there are no pools.
Although there is nothing planned for teenagers, if they like to dive they will love Baros as our children did.
We are planning our next trip...

Stayed: January 2008
9  Thank diver8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews