We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bed Forget Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Netherleigh Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 19, 2012

A lovely B&B sadly let down by by breakfast, accommodation was very nice, but if you are a foodie forget breakfast, especially the sausages they were well lets say not the best. We noted a comment in the visitor book about the breakfast and would whole heartedly agree with it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thomasj999, Owner at Netherleigh Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

As Abraham Lincoln once said -

“You can please some of the people some of the time all of the people some of the time some of the people all of the time but you can never please all of the people all of the time.”

All comments are taken on board, but I would like to add we never use cheap products in any part of our breakfast and at £2.50 a person I don't think you will find better, thank you

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 218 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2012

I booked this b&b through Laterooms when looking for something close to River Cottage for an event, and found this one - it was great value, a friendly welcome and just as it was described. We had 'The Snug' which was indeed, but managed to contain a fridge, a cupboard full of crockery, a toaster, a kettle with boxes of various teas and coffee, biscuits, mints, After Eights, Kit Kats, dvds, tv and dvd player and a fire, with a log we were told we could light! Amazing! Unfortunately we didn't get time as we were only there for one night but the idea was great!
We also didn't have the breakfast as I thought we'd be too full after River Cottage but it was good value at £2.50 each should we have wanted it.
We walked to River Cottage which was only about a mile up the road, although we did go up a dark track so take a torch if you do this, and the b&b owners lent us a dayglo jacket. We got a lift back with a fellow diner. Lovely views and comfy bed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Had a lovely night here. There was no one else staying so they had upgraded us to the suite. Thankyou. The weather was wet outside but it didn't matter. Great to have a fridge and microwave. It meant we were self sufficient and didn't have to go out in the rain. Fantastic coffee with a cafetiere. I was able to buy some online later. It was a local business with great choices, even down to the grind. Breakfast was lovely and we had it when we wanted it in our room. Wifi as well another real plus for me. A definite find. If I am working in this direction again, then this is where I will stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatieinMatlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We booked late and so the smallest room "The Snug" was available for our requested dates. We arrived to a warm welcome from Sue and were delighted to be introduced to our Snug room which was comfortable and highly functional.

Our room had a charming log fire, double bed, modern bathroom, TV, fridge, microwave, tea/coffee making facilities and a table with chairs - everything we could possibly need for a comfy stay. More importantly it was immaculately clean which by my high standards is a huge plus point!

The double bed was one of the comfiest we had slept in outside of out own home, again another plus point. A full English breakfast was brought the following morning at a time suitable to us and it was delicious!!

Thank you to Sue and John for making our short stay so pleasant. We will be coming again in the Autumn so that we can take in the local scenery at that time of year and without doubt we will request to stay in The Snug again. Who needs huge hotel rooms???!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dswillis1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

we booked Netherleigh for the River Cottage Summer Party. The B&B sits on a bank above Cooks Lane with amazing views of the Axe Valley. We were made welcome before we even got there when we discovered that every taxi in Axminster was booked for River Cottage, Sue and John asked the other residents if we could share their's and made sure we enjoyed our night. When we were shown the room we couldn't believe it, not not one room but 3! the bedroom is tastefully decorated and very clean and the bathroom is huge with a bath for two, the surprise lay in the sitting room with a spare bed, table for breakfast, fridge, mircowave, tv, dvd, a rack of dvds and cereals, tea coffee and milk, almost home from home. Sue and john couldn't be more accommodating, serving breakfast in our sitting room and offering to shelter us from the rain as we packed the car. We shall definitely be returning to the Rive Cottage and will be hoping Netherleigh has room for us again. 5 stars. thank you

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markmsomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed in the studio which was spacious, comfortable and well equipped. Breakfast was superb, the bed very comfortable and everything was spotless. Sadly we only stayed for one night but would certainly love to return for a longer visit.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank judibond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Great place to stay. John and Sue are very welcoming and friendly. Food was excellent, we had freshly laid eggs for breakfast from the chickens in the garden! Bed in top double bedroom is very comfortable and has a lovely en-suite with a HUGE bath! We stayed a couple of months later after the first visit in the studio and it has everything you need. Kitchenette, separate from the house so lots of privacy and lovely bathroom. You can come and go as you please and nothing is too much trouble for John and Sue. River Cottage canteen and restaurant is just around the corner, so very convenient location. Lovely views over countryside and hills.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zc90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Raymonds Hill
2.8 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
449 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lyme Tree House
Lyme Tree House
#2 of 2 in Raymonds Hill
70 reviews
1 mi away
Monkton Wyld Court
Monkton Wyld Court
#2 of 7 in Charmouth
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Spillers Farm
Spillers Farm
#1 of 4 in Musbury
421 reviews
3 mi away
Lyme Townhouse
Lyme Townhouse
#10 of 44 in Lyme Regis
112 reviews
2.1 mi away
The White Hart Inn
The White Hart Inn
#3 of 3 in Wilmington
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Netherleigh Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Netherleigh Bed and Breakfast

Address: Cooks Lane, Raymonds Hill EX13 5SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Raymonds Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Raymonds Hill
Price Range: $84 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Netherleigh Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Netherleigh B&B is in the middle of cooks lane, which is a quiet country lane in Axminster on the border of Lyme Regis, it has no street lights which on a clear night makes the stars in the night sky look amazing. We are only a few minutes away from the pretty market town of Axminster. Our local pub, The Hunters Lodge is a 16th-century inn which is only a few minutes by car or a 15 minute walk. It is a family pub serving great home cooked food and local ales and beers.We are a 5 mins car journey to Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall River Cottage HQ or River Cottage Canteen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Netherleigh Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing