We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just right......”
other travelers have booked this property
The view from the front door
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The view from the front door
Lounge - The apartment has open plan lounge - kitchen - dining Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
59 reviews
The view from the front door
Lounge - The apartment has open plan lounge - kitchen - dining
Bedroom
Kitchen
Dining
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Litton, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Allan R
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Just right......”
Reviewed June 25, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Very clean and well equipped. Ideal for my wife and I, plus our dog. It was nicely located for walks and the red lion pub was only 5 minutes walk. Meals in the pub are great.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole061...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Location”
Reviewed March 28, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The apartment was spacious, clean and had everything we needed. We would definately recommend this apartment to friends and family.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elizabeth...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed October 18, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

What a find,clean and spotless,views out of this world. In a great location, walks from the door.red lion pub 5 minx walkway excellent

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lang51
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic little gem...”
Reviewed October 5, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

I booked this little gem based on the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor - and can honestly say it really does live up to what people have said. Such a great little find, reasonably priced and fantastically located for walking and relaxing. Great little space for the two of us and our dog. The cottage has all that you could need and more, comfy beds, great shower facilities, kitchen has all the utensils required. Excellent arrival and departure process - completely seamless. Amazing views of fields, sheep and the sky - our ideal. Spotlessly clean through out - and we had no problems at all throughout the stay. Hopefully we will be back very soon.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolward...
Elstree, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Litton - Short Break 3 nights”
Reviewed September 27, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We loved this place and it was ideal for our needs. We just wanted a short stay between visiting our daughter in Nottingham and a week booked in the Lake District. We had with us our two 10yr old West Highland Terrier. It is as described and had everything we needed. The door opens to a small garden the gate of which is right on a footpath going up the hill. It was lovely to be so close to the sheep and cattle which did not bother us at all. The local pub was excellent although we did not eat there as we were on a budget so cooked in the apartment instead. We walked the self guided trail of the Litton loop in two sections which was very easy and takes in part of the Cressbrook Dale. Nearby TIdeswell is very interesting to visit. We also visited the Chestnut Centre Otter, Owl & Wildlife Centre at Chapel En Frith. Dont miss the stunning views as you walk from the car park as you by pass them on the route back. We would definitely like to stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was small and compact but had room enough for us and dogs. It made for less cleaning on exit
Liked least: The grass needs cutting. Would make it easier to pooper scoop.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigFatGoa...
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Would stay again!”
Reviewed July 29, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My husband and I have a lovely 2 night stay at Meadow View Holiday Apartment. It's located in a lovely little village in gorgeous countryside, and it is within easy driving distance of many sights and places to visit.

The apartment itself is spacious and well decorated. There are plates, bowls, glasses, and all basic cooking instruments. I would have liked to have some basic spices - at least salt and pepper. The bathroom is large with a wonderful large bath and overhead shower. I couldn't find a hair dryer, which was a bit of a let down. The bed was comfortable and there was plenty of storage space for our things.

Overall we were very happy with our stay and would definitely stay again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeriousTr...
London
Level 6 Contributor
409 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
“nice location, pub nearby serves excellent food. WARNING - be extremely careful on the uneven paving by front door”
Reviewed May 26, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

It was built in 2009 so is modern and fitted with current appliances. The two Velux windows in the roof are well positioned to let in light and allow you to see the sheep in the field - delightful. Inside it is cosy, generally big enough though I bumped my head twice on the sloping roof while having a shower - not an especially big problem. While the window in the front ‘stable’ door is small it was very nice to be able to see the blossom on the tree outside. It is unfortunate the kitchen table is low so does not offer a view – had the weather been warmer it would have been nice to eat outside. It has a good TV and a comfortable settee. The kitchen is well equipped and as someone who generally doesn’t stay in a self-catering apartment I thought it was well presented internally. It was disappointing the grass in the small area by the front door was circa 10 inches tall; it would have been better had it been cut.

I encountered one problem, and it was / is a big problem. I fell over a paving slab between the front door and the gate – the slabs are not at the same level and there is a step of circa two inches and although I’d walked over it several times before, I didn’t spot the two inch step on one occasion – I had a bad fall, significantly hurting myself; I was extremely lucky not to break any bones. I’ve contacted the owners to make them aware of the problem and suggested they lay a level path with only one step. Leaving that issue aside, would I stay again - quite possibly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: good location, modern, cosy
Liked least: I had a very bad fall on the paving stones by the front door!
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing