We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family friendly pub”
Review of Red Lion at Litton

Red Lion at Litton
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Litton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“family friendly pub”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Visited when staying with three kids in a cottage in Tideswell. So good we went back again the following day. Great food and beer. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kath0836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    99
    37
    20
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
119 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Pies to die for, great service.”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Second visit to the Red Lion and experienced great food and great service on both occasions. This time my wife ordered the beef and ale suet pudding. I ordered the steak and kidney pie. Both were delicious, particularly the suet pudding which was so light with a gorgeous filling. The accompanying chips and veg were of very high quality. The staff were very friendly and helpful and each course arrived in good time. We will definitely be back and this time I will be having the steak pudding!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
395 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Traditional Quaint Pub, loved It”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We walked from Tideswell and it is a lovely walk. Pub is just gorgeous and good wine choices and beers. We had dinner and did not make a good choice. We were in a traditional pub so should have chosen beef stew, which other diners around us said was delicious, but we chose tuna and noodles. Tuna was ok but noodles were just completely tasteless.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank gill h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“TRADITIONAL COUNTRY PUB”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

A lovely traditional country pub in a pretty village serving good pub food - I will definitely visit again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SAR1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
387 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 600 helpful votes
“Best choice if visiting Tideswell”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

It;s an easy one mile walk to the Red Lion at Litton if staying at Tideswell, and worth the journey given that the pubs in Tideswell aren't up to much any more (a shame; even the locals take the walk to Litton nowadays). Food is generous and tasty - not the highest quality but generally good and beer is very good (watch out for the Absolution at about 5.3). Menu is the usual suet puddings, steak (okay), chicken (dry), gammon (very good). The village green and outside seating on a summer's evening makes this a popular stopover. It's a friendly pub, which makes it even more enjoyable.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roskers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Lion at Litton also viewed

Tideswell, Peak District National Park
Tideswell, Peak District National Park
 
Tideswell, Peak District National Park
Millers Dale, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Red Lion at Litton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing