We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Busy, friendly and classic country pub” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Lion at Litton

Red Lion at Litton
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Litton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Lunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, UK
Level Contributor
100 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Busy, friendly and classic country pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Thankfully, our group leader reserved a table for us after a long walk as the place was crammed with people. Dog friendly, but there is a "child free" policy in place for the under 6's. Log fire burning away and food was good across all 3 courses.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RoamingRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    92
    34
    17
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Not a pleasant experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We went in on a recommendation from a friend. It was a little busy. We were shown our table in a cold little "snug". It took 45 mins for a starter of pâté and toast to come which admitaly was nice. Waited another 15-20 mins for the main. I had a burger that was dry and like it had been sat for a while. My misses had a Sunday dinner which wasn't like we had expected it to be. Can safely say wont be visiting again.

Helpful?
Thank Ollie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise P, Owner at Red Lion at Litton, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
It was very disappointing to read your review, as we explained upon your arrival that due to being extremely busy, there would be a wait for food. This was after initially being unable to offer you a table due to being fully booked. Your response was that you were in no hurry and happy to chill after a day shopping and being child free. When clearing your starter, you then said you needed to leave in 15 minutes and we prioritised your meal above others to allow you to leave on time. When paying, we apologised again for the food wait to which you responded it was not a problem and that you had enjoyed your meal. How can we, therefore, address any issues when people tell us they are happy when they leave and then go on trip advisor to say they are not???!!! This is a classic example of you can't please all the people all the time, even when you try hard to!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Children Unwelcome”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Cannot deny that the Pub looks welcoming and very warm, however whilst staying in the are walked the dog with my 11 yr old daughter and stopped here hoping for some dinner. Menu looked good but was told no childrens menu. Asked if a smaller portion of the menu could be arranged and they declined. Having been a single mum for the last 11 years I find it very difficult with places like this.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Horsetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise P, Owner at Red Lion at Litton, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
The Red Lion has not catered for children for the past seven years and therefore child friendly menus and portions are not something we offer.

It is, therefore, we feel, a little harsh to review us as poor for not providing a service which is un suitable for our pub.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
123 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Old Fashioned Pub, Traditional Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

This old-fashioned welcoming pub in a picturesque Derbyshire village has open coal fires in several rambling rooms. It is often busy, but it is worth waiting for a table. There are tables where you can be toasted on one side by the coal fire, and some that are a bit draughty, but why worry? The food is great, tasty and generous, and varies with season and availability. I had a well-filled steak and kidney pie with luscious gravy, hand-cut chips and fresh vegetables, costing a very reasonable £7.95. There is also a selection of lighter snacks, sandwiches, etc. A chalkboard has an extensive list of seasonal specials that may include game dishes. Vegetarian options are available.

The bar has a number of hand-pulled beers, always Barnsley Bitter, and guest ales. Today, they even had Belgian Blue, a beer flavoured with blueberries!

The pub welcomes walkers and dogs, but not children under six years old, because of the safety issues raised by open fires and staff carrying hot plates.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great for a pint with the dog but not kids.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

I walked the dog to Litton and popped into the Red Lion, very friendly staff and a nice, if not expensive pint. We then, as a family walked to Tideswell via Litton and only found on arrival that babies & children under 6 are not welcome. Dogs fine but done being your kids!

Helpful?
Thank Phillip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Lion at Litton also viewed

Tideswell, Peak District National Park
Tideswell, Peak District National Park
 
Millers Dale, Peak District National Park
Tideswell, Peak District National Park
 
Tideswell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Red Lion at Litton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing