We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub”
Review of Commodore Hotel

Commodore Hotel
Ranked #259 of 714 Restaurants in North Sydney
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great pub”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We enjoyed a lovely lunch here in late December. The outdoor eating area was great and with the cricket on the big screen it made for a very good afternoon. The young staff were extremely friendly and the pub offers good value for money.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mignon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    26
    20
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Over priced and poor quality food”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

This pub was good a month ago. Something terrible has happened and the food is now not good quality and overpriced. How can you kill a hamburger - the Commodore has! My expensive scotch fillet came with a microscopic salad and bad chips. Even the pigeons were disgusted!

It doesn't improve at the bar. The on tap beers have declined in number and variety and my first two 'menu wine choices were met with - sorry didn't order them this week.

The Commodore has suddenly gone off. I and my companions won't be going back and I 'm a local business with large staff!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 502Roland_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pub in North Sydney”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The closest pub to where we live but we seldom go there because anyone above 50 is likely to feel too old as the crowd is generally pretty young. We took some friends there and they really felt out of place so we went down Blues Point Road to the Blues Point pub which has an older crowd.

Having said that they have a nice beer garden and they certainly won't miss our custom because it is generally pretty crowded - especially on Friday nights when it is very difficult to find a place to sit.
A good place if you're young and like the buzz.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
251 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Post City2Surf steak and beer”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

we ran the City2Surf and then headed back to our accommodation and found this little gem.
The steak was cooked just nicely and the chips were thick cut and crisp my only complaint was the salad, although it had a yummy dressing it was just rocket! A little bit of tomato/carrot or capsicum would have been nice. Only other complaint was the smokers!!! smoking in the outdoor dining area NOT good form!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cuddlefi5h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Commodore Hotel also viewed

McMahons Point, North Sydney
McMahons Point, North Sydney
 
McMahons Point, North Sydney
 

Been to Commodore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing