We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
McLaren Hotel
Nearby Hotels
North Sydney Harbourview Hotel(North Sydney)(Great Value!)
$141
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Vibe Hotel North Sydney(North Sydney)
$102
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Meriton Suites North Sydney(North Sydney)(Great Value!)
$87
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Rydges North Sydney(North Sydney)
$110
$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Urban St Leonards(St Leonards)(Great Value!)
$124
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Harbourside Apartments(McMahons Point)(Great Value!)
$137
$123
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Greenwich Inn Motel(St Leonards)(Great Value!)
$104
$82
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveler rating
102
106
11
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
102
106
11
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastquiet streetcomplimentary portsmall hotelboutique hotelsitting roomroom was largethe ground floorminute walkhome away from homefree car parkinggood sizevisited sydneyguest houseon site parkingcomfortable bednight stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
211 - 216 of 227 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2011

We stayed 3 nights in mid April and enjoyed it very much. It's located about 10 mins walk from the North ydney train station on a side street so it's nice a quiet. The room was comfortable, quite large with air conditioning, although we did not need it. The breakfast was $7/person which is quite a deal and consisted of cereals fruits, toast, coffee, juices. They do also have Wifi for $5. That would be my only criticism. wifi needs to be free.

If you're looking for a smaller more intimate hotel experience in a audit location I qcan certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank meugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pacrim, Owner at McLaren Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2011

Many thanks for your review.
WiFi does need to be free. It is in Europe and the States. Unfortunately for us we are yet to see Telstra becoming realistic with the cost of providing services. We are currently paying Telstra 15 times more for the services than income derived from providing them to our guests. We felt that a flat $5.00 for the duration of the guest stay which averages at 2 nights at least gave us some contribution to the cost of delivery. For those who stay one night it is seen as a mite expensive and for those staying 2 nights or more we are generally finding little customer resistance.
we have Telstra coming into the hotel in a few weeks time - maybe we will see some concessions. However, monopolies rarely offer up anything. We will see.

Regards

Chris Fairbairn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2011

A beautiful building on a quiet street greets you as you arrive here, with lovely stained glass windows. The staff here are great - friendly helpful welcoming and informative, you feel like a real person not just a room number. The hotel is lovely, with real character, so you dont feel like you are staying in some bland multinational chain. The king sized bed was large, clean and comfortable, and the room we stayed in had a deck to sit out on, with plenty of natural light. The bathtub was big, the water pressure was fantastic, with endless hot water, and the shower was fantastic...mmm! Just bring your own bath bubbles. though they do proved shampoo and soap. Our room had a heat pump, so if you are sensetive to getting too hot, do ask them for a room with one. They seem to be always aiming to improve things here - previous guests had said that the wireless broadband signal was weak, so they had put in a new box - the signal we had was great ( we had a few other issues with the broadband instead, but they were sorting those out, and were very helpful). The broadband was also very good value ( only $5 for our 3 night stay).
The breakfast room was lovely light and airy with glass doors out into to the small quiet garden, where we sat and read the papers over our toast...a simple breakfast but filling and good value. We gave up trying to find a cooked breakfast, as most places were closed over the weekend anyway!
And in the evenings we enjoyed the complimentary port - one of the many things that made us feel like welcome guests rather than just customers.
Thank you Owen, Chris, and all the staff that were so friendly to your kiwi guests!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flowery3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2011

Pretty good location just off Miller St, 10 minutes walk to North Sydney train station. Quite nice heritage building. Friendly and helpful staff. Small lounge area to help yourself to an after-dinner port. Internal decor is not very modern and is a bit daggy. It's clean, comfortable and has all the basics that one needs. Thin walls as could hear shower/toilet flushing from the next room. I had a deluxe room with a king bed and a bigger size room. I have stayed here another time with a standard room which is smaller but still larger than standard size rooms and has a standard double bed. I found some long black hairs on the pillow when I checked in which was disturbing. Everything else was clean. All in all it is good value for money. If you are in North Sydney for business, there is not a lot of choice in this price range, so you could worse than the McLaren.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank galtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pacrim, Owner at McLaren Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2011

Many thanks for your review.
Your comment concerning noise is one we have grappled with for some time. Our advice is that because the back rooms are constructed on a common cement slab any noise is transmitted quite efficiently. We have investigated the idea of filling in the cavity walls with foam, however at the time it was prohibitively expensive. We might revisit this one to see if a newer technology has surfaced. With luck might still be able to resolve this one.

Regards

Chris Fairbairn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

I stay at the McLaren a number of times annually, for business and leisure.
It is well-located, has friendly staff and represents excellent value.
The rooms are a good size, generally well maintained and those to the rear are very quiet

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timboc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

We absolutely loved it. It is a 100 year old boutique hotel with stained glass windows and 13 foot high ceilings. A green leafy, quiet street so close to Sydney. We stayed in the Tara Suite (honeymoon suite) as there were 3x of us and wanted that bit of extra room. There is a large balcony facing the beautiful large street trees. Suite has small kitchenette for extra convience and other lovely peices of furniture. There is sitting room downstairs for guests to simply relax, read the paper and have a small glass of sherry! Has quaint meals area with gardens and free car parking.

Bus stop is around the corner on Pacific Highway where there are many buses to catch. Hop off at Wynard bus/rail station then walk around city and to Darling Harbour, can also catch train from there to Circular Quey (one stop) and the rest is history.

Can also walk from hotel to North Sydney shopping precinct and dine in style or catch bus and go two stops. Buy MyPass transport ticket, which can be used on bus, train and ferry services. We stayed almost a week and bought the 7-day unlimited use pass. And here's more....Budget rental car is a 2 minute walk to Pacific Highway!!

Thank you to Owen and the other staff incluing our lovely cleaner for the best stay ever, will never forget how great it was to experience charming North Sydney and to have stayed in a heritage building. Home away from home...

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews