We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old, tired. and a poor nights sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rydges North Sydney
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in North Sydney
Queensland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“old, tired. and a poor nights sleep”
Reviewed February 6, 2011

We stayed in Rydges north sydney for 1 night last week. and was not impressed. The rooms are old. very old and tired and desperately need a refurb. A couple of flat screen tv's don't disguise the fact the bathrooms are straight out of 1985. however that is acceptable I suppose. The main problem was that the AC worked for a while then turned into an awful racket. this occurred late at night so we didn't bother contacting the staff. Also the bed/pillows were about as old as the room. (see my photos). They say they are refurbishing the place and it looks like the've done the dining room and bar, which were nice. we even had an excellent tapas meal. but overall this needs some serious attention. Plus it really annoys me when they charge 1.5% to use a visa or mastercard. I can understand for amex, but for visa is just plain gouging. They did offer us to pay cash!!! for no fee.

Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Misskatie_kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydgesNS, Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review, February 21, 2011
Dear Misskati,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel.
I was disappointed to read of your poor impression and acknowledge that the rooms are in need of refurbishment. Indeed I am delighted to advise we are part way through a $2 Million refurbishment program to upgrade corridors, Queen and Twin Bedrooms which will be completed late March 2011.
I was surprised at your comment regarding the "old" bed as there are none in the Hotel more than 5 years old and pillows are routinely replaced. Management also inspects rooms daily to ensure that all is as it should, please be assured that comfortable beds are of the highest priority and anything faulty replaced without delay. It would be great if you would contact me (jon_ackary@rydges.com) with the room number and I will personally double check.
Your comment regarding AC is noted and has been discussed with the Maintenance Manager, we understand we need to do better and hope you will accept our sincere apologies.
Again thank you for your interest, I hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back to our Hotel and that you enjoy the significant improvements outlined above.

Yours sincerely
Jon Ackary
General Manager
Jon_Ackary@rydges.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    301
    276
    92
    68
See reviews for
173
190
50
321
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level 6 Contributor
393 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2011

We stayed at this hotel because it offered a $234 package for accommodation, parking, breakfast, and transport to and from the Twilight at Taronga concert.

We arrived at 11.30 am and were pleasantly surprised to receive an instant check in. At that time on a Saturday, there were plenty of underground parking spaces available, and with direct access to all floors, it made luggage transfer easy.

Our room on the 11th floor had excellent distant views (see photos), good air-conditioning, a window which actually opened slightly, a decent desk, lamp and chair, and a chaise lounge. There was no noise from the street.

The bed was extremely comfortable, with quality linen and pillows. The bathroom however, sorely needed an upgrade. The hand towel and washer were fairly new, but the bath towels were greyish and well used. The shower was over the bath, which had a few enamel chips and a little mould between some tiles. The shower head was pretty woeful, and the shower curtain, while clean, could easily be upgraded to a glass screen.

The flat screen TV was great but the reception on some channels was dreadful.

And when will hotels realise that free wifi in the rooms is an excellent selling point? Sure, it was free in the lobby, but I prefer to sit at the desk in my room, which is far more comfortable than sitting with a laptop in a public space!

Breakfast was pretty ordinary - two juices (orange and pear), cereals, bircher muesli and yoghurt, stewed and fresh sliced fruit,and the usual bain marie offerings of scrambled egg, bacon, mushrooms, tomato, soggy hash browns etc. Flat white/latte etc coffee was at additional cost, and was tasteless.

I think we will stay elsewhere next time and drive ourselves to the concert at the zoo!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glynis031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydgesNS, Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review, January 30, 2011
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Rydges North Sydney.
I was delighted to hear you experienced fantastic service from our team during check in and that we were able to accommodate an early check in for you. Our rooms on the higher levels are extremely quiet and offer fantastic views. All our rooms feature the exclusive Rydges Dream Beds which offer the perfect night’s sleep and extremely comfortable.
I was however disappointed to hear the bathroom did not meet our usual standards and that you were not satisfied with your breakfast experience. Please be assured your comments have been passed onto the appropriate departments.
I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston-super-Mare, Somerset
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

Had to relocate away from the City centre due to the enormous hike in prices all the hotels apply for the New Year and although this is more of a business venue rather than tourist, it was streets ahead of the previous hotel we were in at Darling Harbour. The room felt as homely as a hotel room can be and the extra touches such as the friendly accomodating manner of all the staff, free lobby wi-fi and printing, free car parking and a balcony with a harbour view made the stay here a very good one. It was easy to get into town from here and we wlaked the harbour bridge which we otherwise wouldn't have done. We have stayed 3 times with Rydges in Aus and New Zealand and our experiences have always been good ones.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtfromuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2010

Booked a 2 bedroom suite which was spacious and very comfortable. Still an expensive proposition but is in a lovely area of Sydney and the beds are wonderful. Bathroom is showing its age and some mould was obvious, paintwork and carpets seemed a little tired and the colour choice made the rooms seem older then they are. Had a good view but not much of harbour. 800 metres or so from train station and the area is a little hilly. Staff on front desk were very nice and helpful. There are few dining areas close and the in house restaraunt Mondo was an apalling experience. Having a hi tech ipad menu does not make up for poor service and a very ordinary menu. The menu was limited and the food was poor. If you are going to have the kitchen open and obvious surely you would try to look at least a little interested in what you are preparing. The wait staff were disinterested to the point that in the end we served ourselves our own wine the entire meal .The food was bland( how you do that to a curry I don't know) and overpriced. We have dined widely both here and in Europe and I cannot think of a more ordinary meal and dining experience from the supercillious staff member who patronizely told we poor older folk how to use his useless menu to the waitress who obviously misunderstood the term waiting.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank old44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydgesNS, Sales Executive at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review, December 15, 2010
I am extremely disappointed that your accommodation experience was let down by a poor experience in the Mundo restaurant. I have forwarded your comments to the F&B department so this situation does not happen again. I sincerely apologise for the inconvenience this has caused. On the other hand, I am glad you enjoyed your stay in our 2 bedroom suite and enjoyed your sleep in our comfortable ‘Dream Beds’. I look forward to welcoming you to the hotel in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2010

We stayed here 4 nights as we were recommended to as we attended a wedding nearby, what a mistake this Hotel needs revamping badly the rooms were OK in a 1980's type of way the corridors were shabby.

The Restaurant , well breakfast was not bad and the Tapas at the the evening time very quite good, the location is poor its a 15 min walk to the train station and Taxis circa $25 into the Opera House area, it would have been better and more convenient to stay around the Rocks area and just got a taxi to the wedding at least we would have had plenty to do on the doorstep rather than being stuck out over the other side of the bridge!

This place has no swimming pool or even an Area to sunbathe or relax outdoors and finally its a rip off for Internet connection in the room although you can get free connection in the Lobby surely in this day and age Internet connection should be free as it is most decent hotels anyway.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wirral69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydgesNS, Sales Executive at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review, December 15, 2010
Dear WirralLiverpool,

Thank you for your comments. In regards to revamping the rooms Rydges North Sydney is undertaking a refurbishment during the first quarter of next year. The location being a fifteen minute walk from the train station is seen as an advantage as it ensures no traffic or train noise. In regards to a swimming pool at the hotel, unfortunately there is not enough demand as there is a public pool situated at Milsons Point. I hope that you consider staying at the hotel after the refurbishment. Thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these North Sydney hotels

Bathurst, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2010

My wife and I arrived early for a wedding and were very happy that our room was ready after a request of early checkin on 12pm, situated on the 12 floor which gave us an unreal view.

The staff always polite and very professional and polite .

The only negative comments would be the air conditioning , which doesn't seem to get cool enough.

The bathroom does need updating.

I would recommend this hotel and certainly would stay again.

Thanks dave

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydgesNS, Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review, December 1, 2010
Dear David,

Thank you for your kind feedback. The view from the 12th floor is beautiful especially on a clear summer’s day. I will let reception know that their high levels of customer service and professionalism is appreciated. Thank you again for your valued feedback, and I look forward to welcoming you back to Rydges in the not too distant future.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiama, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

I had stayed before, with my parents, & I slept in a 'rollaway', so was looking forward to experiencing the Dream Bed and returning to Rydges.
Unfortunately the airconditioner was very loud even on the lowest fan speed, so the good nights sleep did not happen, and with it turned off was too stuffy. We had to turn it off also to hear the movie we were watching also.
I would love to give the hotel 5 stars on everying - location, service (ALL staff fantastic), good breakfast. Unfortunately a good sleep is something pretty important, though. The bathroom is a little dated, but clean, so no problem there.
I am looking forward to staying again once renovations are done, hopefully that will include a new aircon system. In the meantime I would probably stay at quiet place with opening windows,

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lozmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydgesNS, Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review, October 25, 2010
Thank you for your positive feedback on Rydges North Sydney. Your personal five stars rating for location, service, and staff is greatly appreciated. It is unfortunate that your sleep was interrupted with the noise of the air conditioning; we don’t however experience this problem in all our rooms. Please be assured that your comments in regards to this issue have been passed onto maintenance to rectify this problem. Rydges North Sydney is looking forward to improving guest rooms early next year. Thank you again for your valued feedback and we look forward to welcoming you after the refurbishment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Sydney
0.5 mi away
North Sydney Harbourview Hotel
0.4 mi away
Meriton Suites North Sydney
Meriton Suites North Sydney
#1 of 9 in North Sydney
596 reviews
0.2 mi away
McLaren Hotel
McLaren Hotel
#4 of 9 in North Sydney
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Harbourside Apartments
Harbourside Apartments
#1 of 1 in McMahons Point
376 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Urban St Leonards
Hotel Urban St Leonards
#1 of 3 in St Leonards
379 reviews
3.0 mi away
Meriton Suites Chatswood
Meriton Suites Chatswood
#1 of 5 in Chatswood
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges North Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges North Sydney

Property: Rydges North Sydney
Address: 54 McLaren St, North Sydney, New South Wales 2060, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > North Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in North Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges North Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges North Sydney is perfectly situated for the discerning traveller, within close walking distance to the North Sydney business district and only a short journey over the iconic Harbour Bridge into Sydney’s CBD. Completed in March 2011 a $2 Million accommodation upgrade included all corridors, completely refurbished bedrooms including carpet, curtains, cabinets, loose furnishings and freshly painted room. Dine in your room or MUNDO Grill and Bar offering an eclectic and exciting menu open 7 days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges North Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges North Sydney Hotel North Sydney
Rydges North Hotel Sydney
Sydney Rydges North Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing