We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liked it here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges North Sydney
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in North Sydney
Reviewed January 3, 2011

Had to relocate away from the City centre due to the enormous hike in prices all the hotels apply for the New Year and although this is more of a business venue rather than tourist, it was streets ahead of the previous hotel we were in at Darling Harbour. The room felt as homely as a hotel room can be and the extra touches such as the friendly accomodating manner of all the staff, free lobby wi-fi and printing, free car parking and a balcony with a harbour view made the stay here a very good one. It was easy to get into town from here and we wlaked the harbour bridge which we otherwise wouldn't have done. We have stayed 3 times with Rydges in Aus and New Zealand and our experiences have always been good ones.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtfromuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (878)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

793 - 799 of 878 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2010

Booked a 2 bedroom suite which was spacious and very comfortable. Still an expensive proposition but is in a lovely area of Sydney and the beds are wonderful. Bathroom is showing its age and some mould was obvious, paintwork and carpets seemed a little tired and the colour choice made the rooms seem older then they are. Had a good view but not much of harbour. 800 metres or so from train station and the area is a little hilly. Staff on front desk were very nice and helpful. There are few dining areas close and the in house restaraunt Mondo was an apalling experience. Having a hi tech ipad menu does not make up for poor service and a very ordinary menu. The menu was limited and the food was poor. If you are going to have the kitchen open and obvious surely you would try to look at least a little interested in what you are preparing. The wait staff were disinterested to the point that in the end we served ourselves our own wine the entire meal .The food was bland( how you do that to a curry I don't know) and overpriced. We have dined widely both here and in Europe and I cannot think of a more ordinary meal and dining experience from the supercillious staff member who patronizely told we poor older folk how to use his useless menu to the waitress who obviously misunderstood the term waiting.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank old44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydgesNS, Sales Executive at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2010

I am extremely disappointed that your accommodation experience was let down by a poor experience in the Mundo restaurant. I have forwarded your comments to the F&B department so this situation does not happen again. I sincerely apologise for the inconvenience this has caused. On the other hand, I am glad you enjoyed your stay in our 2 bedroom suite and enjoyed your sleep in our comfortable ‘Dream Beds’. I look forward to welcoming you to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2010

We stayed here 4 nights as we were recommended to as we attended a wedding nearby, what a mistake this Hotel needs revamping badly the rooms were OK in a 1980's type of way the corridors were shabby.

The Restaurant , well breakfast was not bad and the Tapas at the the evening time very quite good, the location is poor its a 15 min walk to the train station and Taxis circa $25 into the Opera House area, it would have been better and more convenient to stay around the Rocks area and just got a taxi to the wedding at least we would have had plenty to do on the doorstep rather than being stuck out over the other side of the bridge!

This place has no swimming pool or even an Area to sunbathe or relax outdoors and finally its a rip off for Internet connection in the room although you can get free connection in the Lobby surely in this day and age Internet connection should be free as it is most decent hotels anyway.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wirral69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydgesNS, Sales Executive at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2010

Dear WirralLiverpool,

Thank you for your comments. In regards to revamping the rooms Rydges North Sydney is undertaking a refurbishment during the first quarter of next year. The location being a fifteen minute walk from the train station is seen as an advantage as it ensures no traffic or train noise. In regards to a swimming pool at the hotel, unfortunately there is not enough demand as there is a public pool situated at Milsons Point. I hope that you consider staying at the hotel after the refurbishment. Thanks again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2010

My wife and I arrived early for a wedding and were very happy that our room was ready after a request of early checkin on 12pm, situated on the 12 floor which gave us an unreal view.

The staff always polite and very professional and polite .

The only negative comments would be the air conditioning , which doesn't seem to get cool enough.

The bathroom does need updating.

I would recommend this hotel and certainly would stay again.

Thanks dave

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydgesNS, Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2010

Dear David,

Thank you for your kind feedback. The view from the 12th floor is beautiful especially on a clear summer’s day. I will let reception know that their high levels of customer service and professionalism is appreciated. Thank you again for your valued feedback, and I look forward to welcoming you back to Rydges in the not too distant future.

Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

I had stayed before, with my parents, & I slept in a 'rollaway', so was looking forward to experiencing the Dream Bed and returning to Rydges.
Unfortunately the airconditioner was very loud even on the lowest fan speed, so the good nights sleep did not happen, and with it turned off was too stuffy. We had to turn it off also to hear the movie we were watching also.
I would love to give the hotel 5 stars on everying - location, service (ALL staff fantastic), good breakfast. Unfortunately a good sleep is something pretty important, though. The bathroom is a little dated, but clean, so no problem there.
I am looking forward to staying again once renovations are done, hopefully that will include a new aircon system. In the meantime I would probably stay at quiet place with opening windows,

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lozmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydgesNS, Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2010

Thank you for your positive feedback on Rydges North Sydney. Your personal five stars rating for location, service, and staff is greatly appreciated. It is unfortunate that your sleep was interrupted with the noise of the air conditioning; we don’t however experience this problem in all our rooms. Please be assured that your comments in regards to this issue have been passed onto maintenance to rectify this problem. Rydges North Sydney is looking forward to improving guest rooms early next year. Thank you again for your valued feedback and we look forward to welcoming you after the refurbishment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2010

Stayed in a 'Harbourview' doublebed room(12th floor) -which had a queen size bed. View was great. Despite my back problems and gastro- upset, for the 2 nights we stayed here, we slept well. The Rydges 'Dream bed' was simply fantastic. General room comfort was very good. Ensuite was a bit dated & has shower over the bath. Apparently they are starting to renovate the rooms. Bit dusty around the skirting boards and sill's(base) of the furniture -so housekeeping needs a rev up. Good big screen TV but DVD's cost an outrageous $15. VERY nice breakfast which covered all the bases -even had soy milk. Family had 2 more rooms on same floor and no complaints from them. Their park views were very nice too. Would definitely stay in the Rydges chain again. Good value for money compared to other hotels of similar type on North Shore. About 800m walk down Millar St to North Sydney Train station (swap at Central for the train to the Airport).

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abc123Victoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydgesNS, Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2010

Dear abc123Victoria,
Thank you for your extremely positive feedback on Rydges North Sydney. I am delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay. I do have to agree the ‘Dream Beds’ are extremely comfortable and add to that much needed sleep that travellers require. Breakfast does offer an extensive range of different food types ensuring there is something for even the pickiest breakfast eater. Rydges North Sydney looks forward to welcoming you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2010

I have looked at the below reviews and i dont understand how it is possible to say such 'negative' things about this hotel as i could not fault them. I stayed there recently with my husband and two kids in a parkview suite. We were welcomed by a vibrant extremly helpful and friendly receptionist who checked us in and offered great advise on what to do in Sydney. The room was clean, well maintained and quiet. I do have to add i had the best sleep i have had in awhile on the 'Dream Beds'. Not to mention it was so quiet and peaceful with no traffic or train noice. This hotel is a four star hotel for a reason and i will definetly be staying at Rydges North Sydney again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kells11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydgesNS, Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2010

Dear Kells11111
Thank you very much for your feedback. I am glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Rydges North Sydney. Yes I do have to agree that the Dream Beds are extremely comfortable which is an important factor when selecting accommodation. Thank you again for your positive feedback. Rydges North Sydney looks forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Sydney hotels
0.5 mi away
North Sydney Harbourview Hotel
0.4 mi away
Meriton Suites North Sydney
Meriton Suites North Sydney
#1 of 10 in North Sydney
870 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harbourside Apartments
Harbourside Apartments
#1 of 1 in McMahons Point
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
McLaren Hotel
McLaren Hotel
#5 of 10 in North Sydney
217 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Urban St Leonards
Hotel Urban St Leonards
#1 of 3 in St Leonards
397 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quest St Leonards
Quest St Leonards
#1 of 1 in St Leonards
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges North Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges North Sydney

Address: 54 McLaren St, North Sydney, New South Wales 2060, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > North Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in North Sydney
Price Range: $102 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges North Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges North Sydney is perfectly situated for the discerning traveller, within close walking distance to the North Sydney business district and only a short journey over the iconic Harbour Bridge into Sydney’s CBD. Completed in March 2011 a $2 Million accommodation upgrade included all corridors, completely refurbished bedrooms including carpet, curtains, cabinets, loose furnishings and freshly painted room. Dine in your room or MUNDO Grill and Bar offering an eclectic and exciting menu open 7 days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rydges North Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges North Sydney Hotel North Sydney
Rydges North Hotel Sydney
Sydney Rydges North Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing