We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Brekkie Ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges North Sydney
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in North Sydney
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I'm going to skip quickly over the room here. Not that it doesn't merit comment - it's clean, well equipped and very comfortable with a decent bathroom. Perfect For work or holidays if u need your hotel to be a base rather than the key focus of your trip. It's just that this hotel is ALL about the breakfast! I've never seen a wider selection of food. Fresh juices, wheatgrass, yogurts, fruits, every type of egg, bread, pastries, cereal.... Getting the jist??! I put on about 5kg in 3 days through breakfast alone.

I stayed for work, but I'd certainly go back for holidays. It's well located near the train and harbour bridge in what seems like a lovely neighbourhood!

Definitely stay here and be assured you'll have a super stay.

Room Tip: I had an end room and it was very quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrishSailor08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie D, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Thank you for such great feedback on our breakfast

We are so lucky to have such great chefs who are dedicated to making the most important meal of the day look amazing

Great to hear you enjoyed yourself and we hope you will be back again soon

Kind regards

Katie Dewar | Front Office Manager, Rydges North Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (847)
There are newer reviews for Rydges North Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

548 - 554 of 847 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

The hotel is a little old but rooms are clean, comfortable soft beds and pillows in every room.
Staff friendly and professional, great food and service. We stayed here few times since July and definitely will be back again!

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unit noise
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bozena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie D, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Great to hear you have had another lovely stay with us.

Thank you also for recognising our staff too, we really appreciate the feedback and the team are humbled when they recieve such lovely feedback

Thank you again and we hope to see you soon

Katie Dewar
Front Office Manager, Rydges North Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We opted to stay at Rydges, North Sydney given its proximity to the harbour, the bridge and it's views. We chose a harbour view room and were allocated room 1010 on the tenth floor. Great views and we were able to view a good bit of the naval fleet assembled.

Room Tip: It's generally a quiet place
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karori12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie D, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you for letting us know about your stay

We are happy to hear you enjoyed Fleet review as much as we did.

Hopefully you will keep coming back to enjoy the festivals in Sydney

Thanks again,

Katie Dewar
Front Office Manager, Rydges North Sydney
02 9922 1311
katie_dewar@rydges.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Lovely ambient setting and the reception area was modern and new.
The restaurant was excellent and very accommodating. The food and service excellent.
Rooms were ok and clean but bathrooms/ showers could definitely do with an upgrade.
Overall, very happy with our stay

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichelleLRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie D, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Great to hear you chose us for your stay during your visit to Sydney and even more pleasing that you enjoyed the Mundo latin bar and grill.

We are so lucky to have such creative chefs who go that extra step to make meals exciting, full of flavour and leave the lasting impressions on our guests

Thank you again for a great review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon

Katie Dewar
Front Office Manager, Rydges North Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Got nothing wrong, but its not gonna blow your mind.
Service good, room size and bed quality good. Bathrooms a little dated.
Typical room service menu - Am i the only one that craves a good dumpling, curry, nasi goring etc when staying away from home. Im getting tired of club sandwiches, burgers, pizzas and choice of steak or chicken with sides.

Stay here for value for money, and walking distance to business in North Sydney. Would happily come back if I needed to stay in North Sydney.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank therockjedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie D, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you for letting us know your feedback about your stay

Something that is exciting is we have updated our room service menu over the past month.We do try our best to give guests what you want. Great that you have let us know what you want - It is important we get things right for our guests.

We hope you continue to come back to Rydges and keep giving us feedback - We love it.

Kind Regards

Katie Dewar
Front Office Manager, Rydges North Sydney
02 9922 1311
katie_dewar@rydges.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed in Rydges for the second year i na row for the Sydney Harbour Bridge running festival. It is half the price of other hotels but lacks in nothing. Just liek last year, the staff where the friendliest most professional bunch of peolple I have ever met. The hotel is alittle old and could do with a face lift, the bathrooms etc are dated, but the rooms are comfortable, top quality and this year we even had a view. Running in a running festival meant that we missed out 12pm check out and where alittle late to leave, but the staff never grumbled and there was no mention of charging us. Great location in North Sydney, we will be staying here every year!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brooke L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie D, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thank you for a lovely review.

Great to hear you enjoyed yourselves during your stay with us.

We hope that you return again for the summer season

Thanks again

Katie Dewar
Front Office Manager, Rydges North Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Have stayed here before for family get togethers. Although a bit old the rooms are very comfortable. All staff including reception, room service and restaurant were super friendly and helpful. Once again we enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s h m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie D, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel

Great to hear the team made your stay most comfortable. We are lucky to have such a lovely team here and it is warming to hear that they are providing the best service possible

We look forward to welcoming you back in 2014

Thank you again

Katie Dewar
Front Office Manager, Rydges North Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Sydney hotels
0.5 mi away
North Sydney Harbourview Hotel
0.4 mi away
Meriton Suites North Sydney
Meriton Suites North Sydney
#1 of 9 in North Sydney
753 reviews
0.2 mi away
McLaren Hotel
McLaren Hotel
#4 of 9 in North Sydney
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Harbourside Apartments
Harbourside Apartments
#1 of 1 in McMahons Point
383 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Urban St Leonards
Hotel Urban St Leonards
#1 of 3 in St Leonards
387 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quest St Leonards
Quest St Leonards
#1 of 1 in St Leonards
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges North Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges North Sydney

Address: 54 McLaren St, North Sydney, New South Wales 2060, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > North Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in North Sydney
Price Range: $124 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges North Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges North Sydney is perfectly situated for the discerning traveller, within close walking distance to the North Sydney business district and only a short journey over the iconic Harbour Bridge into Sydney’s CBD. Completed in March 2011 a $2 Million accommodation upgrade included all corridors, completely refurbished bedrooms including carpet, curtains, cabinets, loose furnishings and freshly painted room. Dine in your room or MUNDO Grill and Bar offering an eclectic and exciting menu open 7 days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges North Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges North Sydney Hotel North Sydney
Rydges North Hotel Sydney
Sydney Rydges North Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing