We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rydges North Sydney
Nearby Hotels
Meriton Suites North Sydney(North Sydney)(Great Value!)
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Vibe Hotel North Sydney(North Sydney)(Great Value!)
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Harbourside Apartments(McMahons Point)(Great Value!)
$123
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
North Sydney Harbourview Hotel(North Sydney)(Great Value!)
$151
$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Urban St Leonards(St Leonards)(Great Value!)
$123
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Greenwich Inn Motel(St Leonards)(Great Value!)
$102
$99
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
McLaren Hotel(North Sydney)(Great Value!)
$138
$99
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Hotel St Leonards(St Leonards)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Reviews (940)
Filter reviews
940 results
Traveler rating
107
329
313
111
80
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
107
329
313
111
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree wifitaronga zoobit datedtwo bedroom suitecomfortable staybuffet breakfastbusiness districtbusiness hoteltrain stationluna parka harbour view roompublic transportharbour bridgesydneyovalroomycbd
Filter
Updating list...
651 - 656 of 940 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment with a balcony & filtered harbour views. Spacious room with combined lounge and dining room. Arrived prior to check in time and were able to leave our luggage in storage and head off to lunch with friends. Hotel & Rooms are dated but clean, soft refurbishment made them much more welcoming.Bathroom definitely needs an urgent upgrade. Mundo Bar on the ground floor is a great place to catch up and Happy Hour between 5 and 7 on a Friday is a must. Great location and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank topher52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie D, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we greatly appreciate feedback from all our guests as it tells us where our strengths and weaknesses are.

Our 1 bedroom apartments are perfect for enjoying your own home away from home. We are lucky to be in such a great location too overlooking the harbour.

We love that you enjoyed happy hour on a Friday too, the perfect wind down for the end of the working week.

Thanks again


Katie Dewar
Front Office Manager, Rydges North Sydney
54 McLaren Street, North Sydney NSW 2060
Phone: 02 9922 1311
Email: katie_dewar@rydges.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment, room 113. Space was great for 5 adults. Bathroom very old fashioned and absolutely no water pressure. Carpet stained, walls knocked around, old fashioned decor. To add to this our booking was a mess when we arrived, in fact they had no booking for us. Our room had been given to another guest! Restaurant food was ok, breakfast average and bar service very slow! Our room overlooked car park, which was a shame with the harbour so close!

Room Tip: Some rooms have been refurbished and have beautiful harbour views.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie D, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thank you for your review on Rydges North Sydney

It is unfortunate to hear that you did not have the most pleasant experience when staying with us recently. I apologise for the disappointment but as our suites have not been refurbished for some time we understand they are a little bit dated. We have taken on board the feedback though.

In relation to your booking I am curious to know if you booked through a 3rd party website and that could possibly be why the booking was not found on arrival? It is good to hear that we could still accommodate you though and feel free next time to contact me directly to make a booking

Thank you again for your feedback

Regards

Katie Dewar
Front Office Manager, Rydges North Sydney
Phone: 02 9922 1311
Email: katie_dewar@rydges.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We booked the Rydges Zoo Package for a little weekend getaway, however we were quite disappointed when we arrived to see an old, dated hotel. Let's start with the bedroom... Firstly, a light bulb had blown in our bedroom which meant we had hardly any light. The door knob on the back on our bedroom door was also broken meaning we couldn't even close our door. Our room was quite cold in the evening but the air con wasn't warming up. The staff were lovely, and our breakfast was really yummy (a very impressive buffet), but included in our package was parking; but when we arrived back from dinner, the car park was full! Rydges had a sign up asking us to park on the street, and we then found that the surrounding streets charge $2.60 an hour up until midnight, and then start charging early the next morning! Extremely disappointing seeing that parking was included in the package. In addition to this, the hotel is so dated that the lift literally takes 5-10 minutes to get to your floor. The reason we chose to stay at Rydges was because generally chains are quite consistent with their offering. This particular Rydges was very old, and needs a LOT of TLC in order to keep competing with the other beautiful (and just as good value) hotels as North Sydney has to offer!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georgia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie D, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel we appreciate the time you have taken to advise us of your stay

It is unfortunate to hear that from the time you arrived you were disappointed with your room. The maintenance team are currently reviewing all our rooms for these types of issues so others do not encounter the same experiences.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed our staff, we are very lucky at Rydges North Sydney to have an eclectic group that all bring something to the hotel atmosphere.

We get great feedback on breakfast, we are always coming up with colourful options as it is the most important meal of the day so please you enjoyed it.

In relation to parking we do apologise, it is subject to availability which we try to reiterate at the time of confirmation. If we place the sign up and you have paid for parking we are happy to refund you and assist with alternative parking areas. It is rare that this happens but we find some weekends can become congested with offsite visitors to the hotel restaurant.

We hope that you will come and stay again soon so we can ensure a more memorable experience

Katie Dewar
Front Office Manager, Rydges North Sydney
Phone: 02 9922 1311
Email: katie_dewar@rydges.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

What I mean by that is that the Hotel, which appears to have been built in the 70s sits atop what is essentially a very pricey restaurant, the only source of food in the hotel. Unless of course you use the mini bar where a kitkat will set you back $4, a bottle of wine $26AUD or a bottled beer between $8 and $9.50..............$4 for a kitkat? Shame on you!

As a business traveller, these amenities are important, well they are to me anyway.

So, the restaurant. It is possible to order some of the restaurant menu and eat in the bar area, but you can't eat the bar menu in the restaurant. As I was told by a member of staff "it creates the wrong image for the restaurant".

With that in mind and a bill for the FOOD ONLY for 2 courses for two of us coming to $93, you might imagine that the service was impeccable and well thought through. Me too, which is why I was surprised to have my desert delivered to me (because I ordered two courses up front presumably) before my colleague had ordered his desert.

The room. Adequate other than the lighting in the bedroom where presumably you are only supposed to be able to feel your way to bed.

I had cause to pack after the sun had gone down....BIG MISTAKE. I know my eye sight is not what it used to be but really? Two low energy wall lights?

And finally, greedy, greedy, greedy. We asked if we could use the room on our final day until 7.00pm that evening because we were working till 3 and then had to come back to the hotel to shower and pack for our 26 hour return flight to the UK.

The hotel said that they were not full so the room would probably have been empty anyway (I know, that's not guaranteed). The rate was $225. To add insult to injury, when we returned that afternoon at 3, the room had not even been serviced!

We did point this out at reception who offered to get it done but.................well you know the rest.

Oh yes and if you want the "day room service menu" which apparently is available until 10pm, (it says so in your guest guide so it must be true!) don't call in your order at 2 minutes to 10pm because they have already gone onto the "night menu".

So in conclusion, as a business traveller, the things which are important to those of us who are not on a relaxed schedule, THIS PLACE FAILED.

As a tourist, I would suggest that you get a place closer to the centre of town because honestly I had as good a room at the Travelodge for a lot less on my last visit.

Would welcome a response from the hotel service manager and if I get one I will post the outcome. I believe in being FAIR!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbybear69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie D, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel we appreciate the time you have taken to advise us of your stay

We understand that when you are travelling and away from home having a good meal and options is very important. Our team do endeavour to provide the best possible service with options for restaurant dinning, bar snacks and room service, and yes they come from the same kitchen but most hotels operate this way.

Our food & beverage manager has reviewed your comments in relation to the mini bar, room service and Mundo restaurant. We do apologise for the unfortunate mishaps you have had but it is very rare that we will have comments on the minibar – Something that we will take on board. As for the dinner we will check with the team to ensure this isn’t a regular occurrence.

In relation to lighting as a Green globe hotel we try to be as energy efficient as possible by using compact/LED florescent lighting. We have reviewed your feedback with maintenance who are currently looking at a stronger globe that will ensure sufficient lighting.

In relation to your late checkout unfortunately when requesting a late check out after 1:00pm we do charge the full rate as we will not service that room or be able to sell it to another guest that evening.

I do apologise that your room was not serviced but as it was due out later that evening housekeeping would of left the room unless otherwise instructed. Reception are always proactive to assist when housekeeping has gone though.

It is unfortunate that we did not meet your standards sir and we assure you we always try our best to turn the guest around so I hope in good faith you do return to us to enjoy a more comfortable stay

If there is anything else I can do for you please let me know

Katie Dewar
Front Office Manager, Rydges North Sydney
Phone: 02 9922 1311
Email: katie_dewar@rydges.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Bathroom really needs to be updated. Plastic shower curtain that barely stay inside the tub, bad ventilation in the tub, rivets in the metal ceiling visible, beginnings of corrosion visible in ceiling, just needs major refurbishment. Number on my room door was damaged. Very very underwhelmed.

And ... agree with frequent_fly_1977 service was friendly but slow.

Bad value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms on East/Southeast side probably have a slightly better view
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TypeYourNameHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie D, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Thank you for providing us with feedback after your recent stay.

It is disappointing to hear that we did not meet your expectations but in this industry we value the time our guests take to let us know about their time with us.

Your comments have been discussed with members of our team and we hope that you do return again for a more comfortable stay.

If there is anything else we can do for you please do not hesitate to contact us.

Thank you

Katie Dewar
Front Office Manager, Rydges North Sydney
Phone: 02 9922 1311
Email: katie_dewar@rydges.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews