We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold, old and very tired”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rydges North Sydney
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in North Sydney
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I am not talking about myself but this tired old hotel. My bedroom was so cold that I had to complain. Finally they conceded that they couldn't fix the problem and they put a small electric heater in my room. Whilst this helped, it was very noisy. The restaurant was also cold, particularly at breakfast time. One morning my shower ran out of hot water.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The meals were ok, but if you don't like Spanish food, there is little else to choose from.

There was no pool or fitness centre.

For $259/night I would expect better. I would not stay here again

Room Tip: If you need to leave via taxi, hail one from the stand in the street rather than having one come to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sanchdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie D, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Rydges North Sydney.

I would like to apologize for the unfortunate heating issue that occurred during your stay. It is one that especially over this cold winter period is an inconvenience to not only our guests but the hotel as a whole.

In relation to hot water this has been reviewed by our maintenance team and solutions have been put in place to avoid it happening to another guest.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the team, we Endeavour to put our guests in safe hands to ensure your stay is most comfortable. We do understand that not everyone is a fan of Spanish influenced food but endeavor to keep a range of options on our room service menu that cater for everyone’s needs.

We unfortunately do not have a pool and gym on site however are affiliated with Fitness first (local gym) for those who wish to exercise during their stay, Milsons point is also a quick walk to access their Olympic pool.

We thank you again for providing us with constructive feedback and hope to welcome you back on a better note

Katie Dewar
Front Office Manager, Rydges North Sydney
Phone: 02 9922 1311
Email: katie_dewar@rydges.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (859)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

582 - 588 of 859 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed at Rydges North Sydney overnight with our 2 boys. The staff on check-in & in the restaurant were very friendly and attentive. We had an early dinner in the restaurant, and the food was great. The kids menu actually contained 'real' food as well (we chose the teriyaki chicken and rice for the kids which having had a taste ourselves was delicious).

As part of the package we received 11am checkout, tickets to 2 Sydney attractions, full breakfast and also free parking - great value. The breakfast was fantastic, with all options covered, and the staff were very attentive in collecting plates when finished, and checking all was OK.

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment, with a pull out sofa. Both beds were comfortable, and the room also contained a small kitchenette. The carpet in the hallways was quite worn and dirty looking, however the carpet in our room was clean, and looked to have been replaced recently.

Our only gripes, were the cleanliness of the bathroom. The grout looks to have not been scrubbed in a long time, and the bathroom windows were quite dirty as well. The lack of hot water when showering was also not great. A few degrees warmer would be much more comfortable. And the ringing of a bell by the cleaner at 10am up and down the hall could surely be done without? The incessant ringing did get mildly annoying after 5 minutes of constant ringing every minute.

All in all we had a comfortable stay, and with a paint job, and a few replacements throughout the hotel, it would really increase the standard in general.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunny_days_in_newie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie D, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you for your recent feedback on your stay with us.

Fantastic to hear that our staff looked after you and that the kids enjoyed a yummy dinner. Derek our Executive chef and his team endeavour to keep ‘healthy’ and ‘colourful’ food options available for the children so great to hear it is working.

How great is the Stay and Explore package, we love it too. It certainly is one of the best ways to enjoy Rydges North Sydney and our favourite attractions.

Thank you for letting us know about the carpets and bathrooms in the suites, we are in the middle of organising a productive way to get these up to our guests expectations. Hopefully within time we will get there but your feedback is much appreciated.

Looking forward to welcoming you and the family back soon

Katie Dewar
Front Office Manager, Rydges North Sydney
Phone: 02 9922 1311
Email: katie_dewar@rydges.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Hotel was fine. Clean room, if a little small. Restaurant was fine, although the service was a little slow and breakfast was good. Internet connection was terrible, despite there being a leaflet boasting about how they had invested in better broadband connections!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PickyglobetrotterUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie D, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay.

We are pleased to hear that the room was clean and that you enjoyed the RISE breakfast on offer at the hotel. We take pride in breakfast as it is the most important meal of the day.

We apologise for the slow connection for the WIFI and are very excited to let you know we are currently running a FREE WIFI trial in the accommodation rooms which also has an option for High speed internet for a rate of $10.00 over a 24 hour period.

Currently we are collating data and feedback from numerous guests who seem to love the new offer we have available, hopefully the next time you stay you can enjoy it too.

We value the comments you have made and will take them on board for future stays, looking forward to welcoming you back again soon

Katie Dewar
Phone: 02 9922 1311
Email: katie_dewar@rydges.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The spacious suite was a pleasant surprise. It had lovely views over North Sydney oval and St Leonards Park from the balcony.
Beautifully appointed with a central ipad which sets all of the lights, air con, curtains, television etc.
This was particularly good during the night as the lights to the various rooms can be set to a sensor mode making the many trips to the bathroom much easier.
The full size kitchen was superb, the unit is quite large, as was remarked by my wife, "one could live in this size unit".
The dining room provided one of the best Hotel breakfasts experienced in Australia.
Various types of hot food as well as fruit, cold meats and "shots" of various juices.
I had cause to pick up a couple of coffees shortly after arriving from the dining/bar area.
I found the young gentleman to be very friendly,caring and efficient, despite the fact that he had closed down the coffee machine. Nothing seemed to be a problem for him. Well done!
The check in process was quick and simple as was check out.
Parking is also quite good and has a feeling of quite sound security.
All in all another positive experience at this Hotel.

Room Tip: Northern side has a nice balcony overlooking parkland, however, there are good views from most rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kalyngra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie D, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

What a fantastic review to read, this is one that will make our team smile.

We love our parkview suite, a room that has modern finishing’s and the guests love how interactive it is using the Ipad.

It is certainly a home away from home and we love that you got to enjoy the spectacular view that overlooks North Sydney oval.

Our RISE breakfast is one we are proud of . The team continue to put on a colourful display and having lots of colour, light and life for an early morning is the perfect way to start the day

Thank you for the great feedback on our team and we hope that you will be back again for another lovely experience

Katie Dewar, Front Office Manager
Rydges North Sydney
Phone: 02 9922 1311
Email: katie_dewar@rydges.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My daughter and I recently stayed here to attend a weekend course.
When I made the booking on line, I specifically requested that housekeeping minimize use of chemicals for cleaning our room prior to check-in. I stated in particular that no bleach or room deodorizer be used. I requested this as i have extreme chemical sensitivity, and stated this fact along with my request.
Needless to say, I was very disappointed and annoyed when we entered the room only to find an absolutely overpowering smell of bleach. It seems there is a massive communication problem betwen reservations and housekeeping!
I ended up with a huge headache and severe nausea until the smell finally dissipated.
I made sure to put out the Do Not Disturb sign for the next day, to be certain that housekeeping did not come and service our room with another bucket of bleach.
Whilst our experience was overall acceptable, a simple lack of communication certainly set our weekend off to a very bad start.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miranda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie D, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you for providing your feedback on your stay during the month of June
I understand that you booked on the Rydges.com website and after reading your below comments I have gone back through your reservation to see the instructions you had provided to our team.

I am sincerely apologetic to you as the team had allocated and specified to the housekeeping team your requirements. After following up with reservations, housekeeping and reception I did find that on the afternoon of your arrival the room you we’re allocated was not ready so the Guest services agent had arranged for you to go to another room only to find that this room had been cleaned using a higher amount of bleach.

This matter has been addressed with all parties and I cannot apologise enough at how this would of effected the weekend.

We do hope you return to Rydges North Sydney and get to enjoy a more comfortable stay next time

Thank you again,

Katie Dewar
Front Office Manager, Rydges North Sydney
Phone: 02 9922 1311
Email: katie_dewar@rydges.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

This was our third stay at this hotel and we were impressed yet again with the quality of the service, room comfort and excellent breakfast. We choose to stay here rather than in the city and drive into the city or catch a nearby train, bus or the ferry, depending on the weather and what suits. This visit we had a one bedroom suite with the children sleeping on the sofa bed. The room was a good size and very comfortable. We appreciated the extra tv in the bedroom. Kitchenette is handy and it is refreshing to find a package that includes parking, breakfast and visits to the local Sydney attractions that doesn't cost a small fortune. Highly recommended for an affordable family holiday with the benefit of included parking and unlimited access to the carpark (unlike the restrictions of Sydney city hotels) The hotel staff are always friendly and willing to assist with local knowledge and advice.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adventures1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie D, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for such a great review. We appreciate the time you have taken to rate Rydges North Sydney and are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.

We hope that you will be back for another visit soon.

Thank you again.

Katie Dewar
Front Office Manager, Rydges North Sydney
Phone: 02 9922 1311
Email: katie_dewar@rydges.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Recently my husband and I checked into the Rydges as we were presenting a course in nearby Walker Street. We had stayed there last year and found the room to be sunny and in close proximity to the area we were working in. Due to our previous booking, the young man in the office said we had been upgraded to a two bedroom apartment. The apartment was certainly spacious, but very dated and the bathroom was in a poor condition. The apartment was cold and took a long time to heat. The rooms smelled damp and we wondered if this apartment was used very often. The bed was comfortable and linen was clean. The towels in the apartment, that once were white I assume, were a grey colour and not very fluffy.In the morning we asked if we could have some help with the luggage as my husband had been working for a month in Europe and had two large suitcases.The young woman at front desk replied that the Rydges mainly have corporate guests during the week so there would be no assistance with the luggage. We held our suitcases in storage until the end of the afternoon. The front desk was not adequately staffed, so the taxi driver and myself had to wait several minutes for a person in the office to give me the remaining suitcase. The garden setting of the hotel is pleasant and the area is quiet.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie D, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Thank you for your recent review of Rydges North Sydney.

We do apologise for the unfortunate mishaps that happened during your stay. In regards to the upgrade whilst we understand not all of our suites have been refurbished we always like to try offer you more space and facilities to make your stay more enjoyable. The thought was there but in relation to the dampness of the room this is something that is un-common and we will take it on board for future guests to avoid another encounter.

Glad to hear you enjoyed the bedding, our Rydges Dream beds get great reviews so we love when our guests enjoy their sleep.

In relation to the luggage it was myself you spoke to on checkout. I do apologise again that we do not offer a porter service but as I mentioned being a smaller/corporate hotel we do not always have a common need for this service. I had offered to assist you with a trolley that morning which you politely declined too however for future reference reception are always happy to assist with trolleys to get luggage downstairs.

We hope that next time you stay with us that we can improve from this recent stay and help with anything you require.

Thank you again for taking the time to write us feedback

Regards

Katie Dewar
Front Office Manager, Rydges North Sydney
Phone: 02 9922 1311
Email: katie_dewar@rydges.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Sydney hotels
0.5 mi away
North Sydney Harbourview Hotel
0.4 mi away
Meriton Suites North Sydney
Meriton Suites North Sydney
#1 of 9 in North Sydney
804 reviews
0.2 mi away
McLaren Hotel
McLaren Hotel
#4 of 9 in North Sydney
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Harbourside Apartments
Harbourside Apartments
#1 of 1 in McMahons Point
387 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Urban St Leonards
Hotel Urban St Leonards
#1 of 3 in St Leonards
393 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quest St Leonards
Quest St Leonards
#1 of 1 in St Leonards
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges North Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges North Sydney

Address: 54 McLaren St, North Sydney, New South Wales 2060, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > North Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in North Sydney
Price Range: $125 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges North Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges North Sydney is perfectly situated for the discerning traveller, within close walking distance to the North Sydney business district and only a short journey over the iconic Harbour Bridge into Sydney’s CBD. Completed in March 2011 a $2 Million accommodation upgrade included all corridors, completely refurbished bedrooms including carpet, curtains, cabinets, loose furnishings and freshly painted room. Dine in your room or MUNDO Grill and Bar offering an eclectic and exciting menu open 7 days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rydges North Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges North Sydney Hotel North Sydney
Rydges North Hotel Sydney
Sydney Rydges North Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing