We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 Week Work Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges North Sydney
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in North Sydney
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I recently spend time in the Rydges North Sydney for a 3 week long business trip and as it was my first visit here is was pleasantly surprised. Although it is somewhat tucked behind most of the hustle and bustle it is within walking distance to the main train lines and taxi's were very easy to find from out front.

The room its self was fairly basic, a standard double bed that was very comfortable and a moderately large TV, which was a pleasant bonus. The bathroom was small to say the least, combining both toilet and shower facilities into a small room. However the shower was one of the best I have used, perfect pressure and temperature, unusual for a hotel to have a good shower these days.

The most pleasant part of my journey had to be the downstairs bar. Situated between the lobby and the dinning area, it was the perfect place to relax and rewind after a days work. Serving all the classic cocktails and drinks the prices were reasonable and the staff fantastic. One bartender even made me a Dirty Martini to rival the ones I have had at some expensive cocktail bars.

I would defiantly recommend the Rydges North Sydney to anyone, tidy rooms and great staff make it a great overnight experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie D, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Hi Josh,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Great to hear you found a home away from home during your business trip. We love having long stay guests and making them feel as comfortble as we can so glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us.

Look forward to welcoming you back again

Thanks

Katie Dewar
Front Office Manager, Rydges North Sydney
Phone: 02 9922 1311
Email: katie_dewar@rydges.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (887)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

644 - 650 of 887 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

An oldish hotel that looks like it has been recently renovated in the past couple of years. Overall appearance is good and the rooms fairly comfortable with plenty of space. The bathroom look a little tired and the decor dated, but it was clean.

The room had all the usual fittings and features including mini bar, iron and ironing board, large flat screen TV and internet access (fees apply; just wish Australian hotels had free WiFi as a standard feature). Comfortable queen size bed.

Undercover parking onsite is available. The restaurant was used just for breakfast which was either buffet or a la carte. The buffet option was very nice with a very comprehensive selection of hot dishes, cereals and pastries.

The staff were courteous and helpful - especially as my online reservation didn't appear on the system when we checked in. Just a couple of minutes delay and we were on our way to the room. The hotel is well within walking distance to North Sydney for shops, cafes, restaurants and the train station.

I would probably use this hotel again in the future when visiting Sydney.

Room Tip: Try and get a city/park view on the south side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GuyRMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie D, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Hi GuyRMB

Thank you for your comments on Rydges North Sydney.

We were pleased to hear you were impressed with the soft refurbishments the hotel has taken the past few years, as you can imagine it is hard to shut down the hotel for extensive periods to do a full refurbishment but eventually we will get there with bathrooms and those other areas that need a freshen up.

We pride ourselves on providing the best possible service and essentials you need for your time away from home so it is great you felt the room had everything you needed.
.
The breakfast gets great reviews and we continue to come up with new ideas to make a lasting impression for our guests, so lovely to hear you enjoyed that as well,

We appreciate the time you have taken to review us and mentioning the great service you received whilst staying at Rydges North Sydney.

Regards,

Katie Dewar
Front Office Manager
02 9922 1311
katie_dewar@rydges.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

The room itself was in great condition. Nice, modern décor and spacious with all the modern facilities you could ask for and the bed was extremely comfy, but the bathroom was showing its age. A number of wall tiles were cracked, chipped and/or broken, and many of the floor tiles were grey not white and the thick layer of paint on the ceiling was obviously covering over years of neglect. And the chipped bathroom door was poor. They need to totally refurbish the bathrooms ASAP.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveStefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie D, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Hi SteveStefan,

Thank you for expressing your concerns for our bathrooms here at North Sydney.

We do value the time you have taken in letting us know the unforutnate state of our bathrooms and assure you it is something our General Manager and front office team take into serious consideration.

It is disapointing that this brought a down point to your stay and I hope that when you return the next time you are not effected by this.

Thank you again for letting us know your feedback and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Cheers, Katie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed at the Rydges North Sydney at weekend 8th and 9th February 2012, Staff very helpful very lucky to get a view and a balcony. Beautiful view and although an old motel it was very quiet and private and clean. No complaints. Breakfast was excellent and service very helpful. The package to go to the concert at the Zoo was excellent. Will probably go again next year.

My husband and I were only going to stay 1 night but were glad we had a change of plans and stayed 2 nights. Ventured around Sydney on bus and trains without problems. The rail staff were very helpful also. We rarely go to the Sydney and found it a wonderful weekend and very relaxing.

In summer on Friday nights North Sydney has a picnic in the Park you can take your own wine and take picnic dinner or buy a variety of foods freshly cooked they have different artists each Friday. The North Sydney Oval has movies on a hugh screen Wed to Sat nights and that would be great also .. All within walking distance.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 548sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie D, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Hi Sharon

Great to hear you enjoyed a little break to Rydges North Sydney during the summer.

We love the Twilight package as it brings so many wonderful guests to our hotel who don't always get the opportunity to visit Sydney and experience a great night out.

I hope you book again next year and get to enjoy a fabulous time again with us.

Cheers, Katie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

If you have an early business start in North Sydney then this is an ideal location.

My room was comfortable, huge and had an ultra modern audio visual setup - but in many parts (particularly the bathroom) looked quite jaded. The lifts and lobby also look a bit like they are from an earlier era. Importantly though the room was dead quiet.

The bed was very comfortable, and the air conditioning (separate control in bedroom) worked quietly and well.

Breakfast was average - a good range in the buffet, but food not quite up to 5 star standard taste wise.

Staff at all times attentive and helpful.

All up - this is a perfectly acceptable place to stay, and in fact is ideal if you have an early morning start in North Sydney and don't want to battle the traffic. There are nicer - slightly more expensive hotels - in the CBD, but the traffic may not be worth the extra ambience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bruceras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie D, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Hi Bruce,

Thank you for your feedback about your time with us in Rydges North Sydney.

What a great review for the team to read. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and that it was a comfortable one especially when travelling for business.

We do get a lot of feedback about our bathrooms and it is something that we will look to improve moving forward. In regards to the buffet too we will certainly express to the chefs your thoughts, we are always up for new ideas and ways we can improve.

I do hope you return more frequently to Rydges North Sydney and enjoy another great stay

Thanks again, Katie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I have stayed at Rydges North Sydney overnight each week for the last two years. My experience at the hotel has always been exemplary with all the staff, from the front desk to the man who refreshes the mini-bar, smiling, helpful and always friendly. Any request I have made in the last two years has been responded to promptly and courteously. The hotel is located close to major tourist attractions in Sydney. Luna Park, Taronga Park Zoo, the Opera House and the CBD are all accessible by train, taxi, ferry or bus. There are lots of great cafes and restaurants within walking distance. I recommend the hotel without reservation and look forward to continuing my association with Rydges North Sydney.

Room Tip: Just ask for what you are looking for and the Rydges staff will do their best to help you out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie D, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Hi Andy,

Thank you so much for such a lovely review.

We work in an industry where we appreciate all types of feedback and to hear that we are doing it well makes the team want to keep providing the best possible service.

Whilst at times things go out of the teams hands we will always endeavour to step up and help where we can.

Look forward to seeing you more in Rydges North Sydney

Thanks, Katie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed 2 nights on the 11th floor in a Harbourview room. The room was clean and had been recently renovated. The view out to the Habour was a nice touch (note that the view to the Harbour is to the north of the Harbour, so no Harbour bridge or Opera house views at this hotel). The only downside to this hotel was that the bathroom is still very dated. Despite their efforts at modernising the bathroom with new shower heads and taps, it still has shower curtains and an old bath tub.

The hotel does have onsite user pays parking, but we parked on the street. North Sydney has plenty of free on-street parking which is metered on week days but not weekends.

We found booking direct with the hotel online with the Rydge's priorityrewards membership was by far the cheapest rate. We paid only $264 for a 2 night stay there which I thought was a bargain!

I would recommend this hotel for those who wants to have access to a car while visiting Sydney (car parking fees in CBD hotels are astronomical), as it's less than 5km from the city itself. Lower North Shore also has plenty to offer in terms of restaurants, cafes and glorious views of the Sydney Harbour.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zigletta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert-Alam, Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear Zigletta,

Thank you for taking the time to review Rydges North Sydney. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your room, especially the harbour views and the convenient location. Our bathrooms are dated and we are looking into renovations for them in the near future. Our Rydges Priority Guest Program does offer the cheapest rates online, it is free to join and members get many benefits, including 10% of standard rates, discounts on meals and internet and more!
I look forward to welcoming you back to Rydges North Sydney in the near future.

Robert Alam
Rooms Division Manager

0299221311
robert_alam@rydges.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Sydney hotels
0.5 mi away
North Sydney Harbourview Hotel
0.4 mi away
Meriton Suites North Sydney
Meriton Suites North Sydney
#1 of 10 in North Sydney
903 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harbourside Apartments
Harbourside Apartments
#1 of 1 in McMahons Point
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Urban St Leonards
Hotel Urban St Leonards
#1 of 3 in St Leonards
399 reviews
0.2 mi away
McLaren Hotel
McLaren Hotel
#5 of 10 in North Sydney
220 reviews
1.2 mi away
Glenferrie Lodge
Glenferrie Lodge
#1 of 3 in Kirribilli
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges North Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges North Sydney

Address: 54 McLaren St, North Sydney, New South Wales 2060, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > North Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in North Sydney
Price Range: $95 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges North Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges North Sydney is perfectly situated for the discerning traveller, within close walking distance to the North Sydney business district and only a short journey over the iconic Harbour Bridge into Sydney’s CBD. Completed in March 2011 a $2 Million accommodation upgrade included all corridors, completely refurbished bedrooms including carpet, curtains, cabinets, loose furnishings and freshly painted room. Dine in your room or MUNDO Grill and Bar offering an eclectic and exciting menu open 7 days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rydges North Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges North Sydney Hotel North Sydney
Rydges North Hotel Sydney
Sydney Rydges North Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing