We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Hens Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges North Sydney
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in North Sydney
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We booked a room for my Mum, sisters and I to stay after my sisters Hens Night in the City!
We had a two bedroom suite with dining room table, lounge and full kitchen. We didn't want to leave the room was first class.
To top it all off we had the best hotel breakfast ever the next morning. Great choices even gluten free choices available, really nice coffee and excellent service!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydgesNS, General Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2012

Dar Karen C,

I was delighted to read that you had a fun, enjoyable stay with us.

The 2 bedroom suites are certainly very spacious and great for families; I note you enjoyed the fully equipped kitchen. We have recently upgraded the 12th floor Suite with more extensive facilities than Suites on the lower floors, so my tip is ask for the 12th floor Suite if planning extensive cooking or entertaining.

I was also more than pleased to read your endorsement of breakfast, we’ve refocused our efforts here and the feedback has been very positive.

Thanks again I hope we see you back in North Sydney soon.

Sincerely
Jon Ackary
General Manager
jon_ackary@rydges.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (847)
There are newer reviews for Rydges North Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

708 - 714 of 847 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2012

We booked a room for 2 adults and 2 kids. So a one bedroom suite was perfect. Kids went to sleep n the bedroom, adults watched tv from the sofa bed.
We chose Rydges Nth Sydney for the Twilight at Taronga concert package. Bus transfers, buffet breakfast, all great for out-of-towners.
Probably the best part was the welcoming smile on arrival, and that nothing was difficult at all. We were originally booked into a 4th floor suite, but the furniture was still being cleaned. We ended up on the 8th floor, with a great view. All this was done in a matter of moments, by the front desk manager.
Service isn't everything, but it's very important. These guys got it right!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melbflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydgesNS, General Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2012

Dear Melbflyer,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel.

Fantastic to read your kind remarks regarding the hotel and particularly the Suites, there are 46 One and Two Bedroom Suites and they are certainly very spacious!

Likewise I was delighted to read that the service from the Front Desk was so responsive and the Twilight Concert at Taronga Zoo value & fun.

I have shared your kind remarks with the Front Desk Team, thank you again I hope we see you on another visit to Sydney.

Sincerely
Jon Ackary
General Manager
jon_ackary@rydges.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Stay here on business when I travel to Sydney.
Good rates, great hotel, good room service, good rooms.
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mellos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydgesNS, General Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2012

Dear mellos,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel.

I was delighted to read you enjoy staying regularly on business; the Hotel is certainly well located and it is gratifying we are measuring up in other areas including room service.

I hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back to Rydges North Sydney soon.

Sincerely
Jon Ackary
General Manager
jon_ackary@rydges.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

This was the second time my wife and I have stayed at Rydges, North Sydney. On each occasion we have been most impressed by the value for money and the quiet and green location of this hotel. The staff were efficient, friendly and,overall, a credit to their demanding profession. We also note the excellent buffet style breakfast.
John Kidd, Brisbane.

Room Tip: The higher the room the more impressive the view. We had a great view from the 12th floor.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydgesNS, General Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2012

Dar John Kidd,

It was great to read you enjoyed staying with us, especially pleasing were your kind remarks regarding the staff, thank you so much.

The Hotel location is certainly a highlight, a great balance between ease of access and quiet restful ambience. I was also delighted to read your endorsement of breakfast, we’ve refocused our efforts here and it’s gratifying to read you enjoyed it a healthy start to the day makes all the difference.

I have shared your review with the staff thanks again I hope we see you in North Sydney soon.

Sincerely
Jon Ackary
General Manager
jon_ackary@rydges.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

we stayed in a family 2bedroom apartment with rollaways for 2 grandchildren. 4 adults and 2 kids. The apartment is one of the best as far as size goes. it is set up really well with plenty of room. adequate kitchen facilities for mini holiday. Bedding is very comfortable, even rollaways. is very central to eateries , hotels etc. 5 minute walk down hill to Nth Sydney station, but 10 minutes up hill to return. buses are a couple of minutes walk from hotel. is a great position for Taronga Zoo, Luna Park and all the sights of Sydney. Rooms higher up have great views of harbour towards Fort Dennison or across nth Sydney towards Darling Harbour. bar in foyer is very relaxing and laid back. breakfast is very good, but try and avoid rush times as business stayers tend to fill tables. tapas in foyer are great, especially on Fridays, when they have specials 5-7. as far as rooms go, they are excellent, except we had a rather musty smell in our room. The weather has been very wet, so this could account for smell. room deodorizes would have helped. I don't think 2room apartments are used much, as we never have trouble booking at last minute, so are probably closed for longer lengths of time. All in all, this is a great Hotel in a very central position for all sightseeing. Is ideal if you are using Mater Hospital for day surgery or longer.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank penwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydgesNS, General Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2012

Dear penwar,

Sounds like you had a lovely stay in North Sydney, thank you for the positive feedback on our Hotel.

There is certainly much to see and do close by Taronga Zoo is an absolute highlight, a world class zoo with the most amazing harbour and city views.

I was delighted to read that three generations of the family were comfortable in a 2 bedroom suite, we have 24 of them so as you say they often available.

Your concerns regarding the musty smell have been noted and we shall take care to try and alleviate this problem when they have been vacant for a period.

Thank you again, please visit us soon.


Sincerely
Jon Ackary
General Manager
jon_ackary@rydges.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We picked Rydges as we had a wedding to attend in Mossman at the Gunners Barracks. It was about a 12 minute drive there from Rydges so it was very handy.

Just a quick stay flew in Sat morning and out on Sun morning. Room was everything we needed, bit pricey but we were upgraded upon arrival to a ocean view room which was a nice surprise. Staff were very polite and helped us booking a taxi to our venue.

They say all rooms have 'dream' beds.....I have to say it is the most comfy bed I have ever slept in!!!!!!! Room was quiet and parking was available which was great.

BLISS and just what we needed would definately stay here again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jules_Bfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydgesNS, General Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2012

Dear Jules Blfy,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel.

I was delighted to read you enjoy staying with us; the Hotel is certainly well located and the “Dream Beds” great (we put in some “not so” hard yards choosing them).

I hope we have an opportunity to be of service if you’re in North Sydney again.

Sincerely
Jon Ackary
General Manager
jon_ackary@rydges.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Thus place is very consistent. Staff very efficient, small thing like printer in lobby for printing boarding pass etc really help. Had a good wrap via room service for lunch and it was very good.
Taxis ate always easy to get too.

Will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J_and_R_AKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydgesNS, General Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2012

Dear J_and_R AKL,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel.

I was pleased to read you enjoy staying regularly, the Hotel is running efficiently and small things like the printer make it all a bit easier.

Thank you again, we appreciate your continued loyalty please visit again soon.
Yours sincerely
Jon Ackary
General Manager
jon_ackary@rydges.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Sydney hotels
0.5 mi away
North Sydney Harbourview Hotel
0.4 mi away
Meriton Suites North Sydney
Meriton Suites North Sydney
#1 of 9 in North Sydney
757 reviews
0.2 mi away
McLaren Hotel
McLaren Hotel
#4 of 9 in North Sydney
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Harbourside Apartments
Harbourside Apartments
#1 of 1 in McMahons Point
383 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Urban St Leonards
Hotel Urban St Leonards
#1 of 3 in St Leonards
387 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quest St Leonards
Quest St Leonards
#1 of 1 in St Leonards
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges North Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges North Sydney

Address: 54 McLaren St, North Sydney, New South Wales 2060, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > North Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in North Sydney
Price Range: $124 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges North Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges North Sydney is perfectly situated for the discerning traveller, within close walking distance to the North Sydney business district and only a short journey over the iconic Harbour Bridge into Sydney’s CBD. Completed in March 2011 a $2 Million accommodation upgrade included all corridors, completely refurbished bedrooms including carpet, curtains, cabinets, loose furnishings and freshly painted room. Dine in your room or MUNDO Grill and Bar offering an eclectic and exciting menu open 7 days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges North Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges North Sydney Hotel North Sydney
Rydges North Hotel Sydney
Sydney Rydges North Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing