We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a business hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
North Sydney Harbourview Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in North Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2007

I travel to Sydney many times and have probably stayed at the harbourview on about 20-30 nights in 2006.

Reality is that it is your typical business traveller hotel. One of the best hotel views in Sydney and believe me, I have stayed in a lot of them.

If you want luxurious service, exquisite meals and someone to change your clothes for you then this is really not the hotel for you.

Better to stay up in the higher levels as the trains pass directly underneath and you won't hear them as much. All rooms have a view of the harbour (hence the name!).

Close to Nth Sydney train station which is about a 10 min ride into the city.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bizotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,137)
There are newer reviews for North Sydney Harbourview Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,103 - 1,109 of 1,137 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2007

We stayed here for New Year's eve. The Hotel is old and run down. Definately very far form being 4 star. We struggled up the stairs with our bags while the bellmen watched. Lobby is shabby. Rooms are old and bed covers stained. Bathroom mirror was falling off and we could see the hotel pipes behind it. Room service arrived on paper plates with plastic cutlery. The view should be great, but we had a corner room and couldn't see the bridge. Price we paid was a rip off (£300 for the night). There were a que of people complaining when we tried to speak to the manager the next day. Really, don't go.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a_scott_35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2007

We stayed here for 3 nights in January 2007.

This hotel is not located within walking distance to any restaraunts.

At time of booking we were advised this was a 4 star hotel but we certainly beg to differ.

Would definetley equate this to a 3 - 3-1/2 star hotel. Would not reccommend this to young travellers as there is no nightlife close by and to reach any you need to cross the bridge on a $15 cab fare.

On arrival the foldout bed for our guest from Canada was not there although the woman at the checkin desk advised me they were aware of it. The corridor on floor 3 where we were staying had a very strange odour like a flowery toilet perfume which was very unpleasant. The decor is very 90's and pillows were too thick.

The hotel definetley lives up to its name with each room having a sensational view of the Harbour bridge. North Sydney train station is virtually 30 metres walk from the hotel. These are the good things about this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank howheavyizthat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2006

My partner and myself stayed in this hotel for the couples package with Luna Park. The run down lobby and poor customer service was our first surprise. The room had 3 lights out and the hot water wasn't working. The buffet in the morning was disgusting. The best part wsa the view, luna park and getting the hell out of there.
My advice is stay well away.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank shoegal911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New Jersey, USA
638
Reviewed June 14, 2006

We stayed here for 1 night only at the end of a 3 week trip through Australia and New Zealand. I agree with others: great view, good service, but limited room space, limited internet availability, and serious problems with the climate control system. The heater did not work at all, making the temperature in our room at night very cold.
The location is OK; very close to train station, but I still much prefer to stay at a hotel in the city centre, as we did during the early portion of our journey.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
glendale.newcastle
12
Reviewed May 15, 2006

me and my hubby and my child stayed there and it was awesome,199 a night and that included hot buffy brekky for the 3 of us per day. it was fantastic. the bath in the bathroom was fablous also.............so close to the trains and the thai restrurant...called thai thanic...which is in blue point rd......loved that also,,,


10/10


ill be coming back for sure.


cheap drinks at the bar too that was great.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2006

You should know that this hotel is very noisy - the train runs underneath from 5 am to 12 pm so there is a short window for a good sleep. It is tired and most importantly for me, this hotel has a $30AUD Adsl internet connection with a 100 megabyte limit per day. I am in the the software business and this is unacceptable - and the download speeds are pathetic.

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phoenixgrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Sydney
0.1 mi away
Meriton Suites North Sydney
Meriton Suites North Sydney
#1 of 9 in North Sydney
754 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harbourside Apartments
Harbourside Apartments
#1 of 1 in McMahons Point
383 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rydges North Sydney
Rydges North Sydney
#6 of 9 in North Sydney
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
McLaren Hotel
McLaren Hotel
#4 of 9 in North Sydney
209 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Urban St Leonards
Hotel Urban St Leonards
#1 of 3 in St Leonards
387 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Sydney Harbourview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Sydney Harbourview Hotel

Address: 17 Blue St, North Sydney, New South Wales 2060, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > North Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in North Sydney
Price Range: $131 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — North Sydney Harbourview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The North Sydney Harbourview Hotel is minutes away from Sydney CBD, separated by the famous Sydney Harbour Bridge and offers magnificent views of the harbour and city skyline. The Hotel is within easy access to the City, Taronga Zoo, Luna Park, Darling Harbour, Circular Quay, the Rocks Village & Mary MacKillop Place and is right next door to North Sydney Train Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your North Sydney Harbourview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing