We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
North Sydney Harbourview Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Urban St Leonards(St Leonards)(Great Value!)
$101
$81
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Rydges North Sydney(North Sydney)
$119
$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
McLaren Hotel(North Sydney)(Great Value!)
$134
$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Meriton Suites North Sydney(North Sydney)(Great Value!)
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Harbourside Apartments(McMahons Point)(Great Value!)
$140
$121
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Vibe Hotel North Sydney(North Sydney)
$104
$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Greenwich Inn Motel(St Leonards)(Great Value!)
$84
$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$165
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,239)
Filter reviews
1,239 results
Traveler rating
440
546
162
52
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
440
546
162
52
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain noiseluna parkharbour bridgegreat viewlight sleepertrains passinglavender bayrailway linehigher flooropera housebuffet breakfastroom servicemilsons pointfamily roomshort walkcar parkinga harbour view room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
885 - 890 of 1,239 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Pros:

1. Beautiful view of the city!
2. Happy hour specials were excellent value!
3. Staff was friendly, though needed nudging

Cons:
1. A bit of a walk to restaurants at night.
2. Beware rooms close to the ground floor. You're right under a train track and it is VERY noisy on these low floors. I asked to move up, to avoid the noise. I was told there were no more rooms. I told them, then, that I needed to check out for the remainder of my 5 night stay (this was upon arrival). Magically, a room became available. ;-)
3. Rooms are not 4 star, nor is hotel. It's a cute hotel and perhaps 3.5 star is a better rating for it.
Temper expectations and you'll be fine.

Room Tip: High floor
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ATLconsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

There is northing particularly terrible about the harborview, but it's a very uninspiring place to stay. The view is fantastic of course if you get a room on the right side, too bad if you don't. The rooms are all fairly new but small. If you get a room on anything lower than level 7 than don't even think about an early night as the trains are very loud late into the night and early in the morning. Our company has a policy with the hotel that we are never supposed to be put on the lower floors, but they seem to forget a lot.

There's no gym or pool - there are two nearby gyms up the road but organizing a day pass is a bit of a hassle if you don't pre-book it. How hard would it be to install a small gym?

The bar closes early, even when there are people still drinking. I've seen last drinks called at 9pm with 10 people in the bar.

The restaurant food is OK most of the time, but it's all heavy high calorie dishes that are OK for one night maybe, but really dreary on longer stays. As North Sydney is a ghost-town at night you don't have many other options for local eating. And the food can be extremely variable. This week I was naughty and ordered fries. The first night they were so good, so crispy on the outside and creamy inside, really top grade. The next night I decided I needed to try them again and was supplied with a bowl of grey, oily, floppy pieces of potato that looked like they had been boiled in oil, not fried. I had a steak one night that was just awful, overcooked and just full of gristle, yet had lamb another that was perfectly cooked. There's no tight standard on the food that leaves the kitchen.

I'll continue to stay there as it's really very close to my work and they are stingy on hotel costs these days, but I would warn visitors to the city to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Griffo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Lovely views, nice standard hotel - but don't pay full price. We had a deal and so it made it worth it. Very convenient to North Sydney Station, but the quick stroll to Luna Park/pool involved 100 + stairs - tricky with little ones. Room was comfortable and modern. We were on the 2nd floor (probably because it was a deal price) and people were not exaggerating about the trains rumbling underneath. We are not light sleepers though so it was not too bad. Nice for a weekend away.

Room Tip: People are not exaggerating.... get a room above level 4/5 :)
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This hotel is a nice older style hotel located in a convenient location (North Sydney Train Stop). The hotel itself has a decent view looking into Lavender bay and at the Harbour Bridge from the south side of the building. It is a short walk to Luna Park where you can catch one of two water ferries and a bus. Plus you can walk or run along the boardwalk all the way to the bridge if you like. The restaurant is nice with decent food which is convenient as some places close after 6 or 7 during the weekdays.

I have a few observations and one or two complaints;

First Observation is the water pressure is pretty low in the shower making it a bit cramped to get under the water completely also the bathroom does not have an exhaust fan and being that the rooms are a bit small, well, smells can travel if you don't close the door.

The only complaint I would have if asked are the commuter trains. They start at about 4-5am and they don't stop running until after 11 on some nights. I could hear them clearly from my hotel room on the 14th floor, I can only image that they are much louder on the lower floors. The train runs above ground and through part of the bottom of the hotel. It's not so much the rumbling noise it is the fact that they often use their horns at odd times.

One last thing, no pool or gym. There are a few Fitness center's in the immediate area.

TL/DR
-Noisy because of train, shower has low water pressure, no pool or gym, right next to North Sydney train stop.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lostexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Most visitors tend to think of hotels on Sydney Harbour as including views of either the Sydney Harbour Bridge, the Sydney Opera House, Circular Quay and The Rocks, or all four. In reality it's either very unlikely or very expensive to achieve all this from one location.

However, if you think outside the square and travel north over the Harbour Bridge to North Sydney you'll find spectacular views of the harbour from the aptly named Harbourview Hotel, at a much more reasonable tariff and without compromising on quality accommodation.

While you cannot see the Opera House or The Rocks, the view is nonetheless spectacular and the whole experience just as enjoyable without the inner-city traffic gridlock and hoards of tourists. It's literally a 5 minute cab ride to the City centre, 10 minutes on the subway (which is right at your door), or for the more energetic a 30 minute walk over the iconic bridge itself.
Or you can even stroll down to the harbour from the hotel to enjoy a pleasant public ferry ride over to Circular Quay.

The point is, if you're happy to make a small compromise on immediate access to Sydney's iconic tourist locations, the payoff is definitely worth it. The Harbourview is a quality hotel with spacious rooms, a tasteful bar (including piano bar) and more than adequate breakfast and dining area. Valet car parking costs an extra $20 but considering it's literally impossible to find affordable parking in the inner city this is a small price to pay.

All in all, this is in my opinion, one of the best value hotels with a view of Sydney Harbour you'll find in the city. AW (Tony) Scott.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews