We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch out for falling windows”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
North Sydney Harbourview Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in North Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Watch out for falling windows”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed there from 9-14 July. Windows can open which we did appreciate to get some fresh air. They have placed badly fitted old sliding windows behind originals to block out noise. I opened sliding window gently on third morning of stay. Whist turning away the whole window and frame crashed down on the side of my head. I was in shock&tears( window is approx 2mx1.5m) and quite heavy. Luckily daughter with me to help. Staff apologetic and manager offered a free breakfast and a 1 hour later checkout. Pretty poor I thought!!! I would dread to think of the consequences had this hit a young child or elderly person, it could have killed them. Maintenance screwed a piece of wood under sill to repair and on return our room had been left Not serviced and floor covered with plaster dust, screws from maintenance. There was no follow up to see how I was or an offer of anything! Very poor.returning guests are given a welcome card and Lollies! Apparently injuring a guest is of less importance. Staff on checkout suggest I have room longer until late flight that day but really it was all too late then! I was told that they would fix something on account at time of accident and yet they charged me for everything... Even a short phone call to husband to tell of my injury.
A hotel that rests on its views and location. It is tired, with poorly revamped old rooms and very dangerous window fittings.
I would never stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gojourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    500
    145
    49
    35
See reviews for
162
386
54
387
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (509)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Room 1015 is a corner room, spacious and comfortable however the king size bed is made up of two beds pushed together and because the mattress has collapsed on both sides, the only way I could get to sleep was by lying almost sideways to get my bottom on the middle divider. Was very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This hotel has fantastic views of Sydney Harbour and the bridge. All rooms have Harbour views. The buffet lunch is great value. They have refurbished some rooms this year and the side wall in the bathroom is clear glass facing out onto the bedroom and the Harbour however it does have a blind you can pull down for privacy. Beds are super comfy. Check in is quick and easy with a porter to manage your bags right from the taxi.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Supernanny56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This hotel have a very nice location which is only a 2 minutes walk to North Sydney railway station. View from room is very good, looking at spectacular night scenes.
One thing not good is you can hear noise from the railway at night as this hotel is built very close to railway tracks.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sisi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for a few nights, and I was really pleased by the service provided, which included a 24hour room service.
The rooms were very clean and they had great Harbour Views.
The staff were equally great with their courtesy and willingness to help.
I will definitely recommend other people to stay here.
I know where I'll be staying next time, and for many more times after that!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adhikari2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed here to finish of our Oz holiday, paid extra for the bridge view room, it was well worth it, views of the bridge and the surrounding area are fantastic. North Sydney is better value for money, excellent restaurants and cafeterias.Close to the rail links.

Room Tip: Very good value, restaurant and bars are cheaper than central Sydney.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Spent two nights in the Harbourview while attending the Lions Third Test against Australia. (The result had no influence on this review!)

The hotel is conveniently situated with a distant but excellent view of the harbour bridge. It is very convenient for public transport and nestles within a pleasant 'village' community. Previous reviews have commented on the noise from the railway. Despite being on a low floor, I didn't find the noise or vibration disturbing.

The hotel is 'chic' modern and comfortable; rooms are reasonably sized, clean and comfortable. The hotel represented very good value for money.

Reception staff were pleasant and helpful, but perhaps not prepared to go the extra mile!

Breakfast was served buffet style - just a caution here - the staff clear everything at the appointed closing time! If you're five minutes before the scheduled closing time, be prepared to stack your plate with whatever's left. There could be more flexibility in the operation here, as it must cause significant frustration. 'Rules are rules' but .............

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Sydney
0.1 mi away
Meriton Suites North Sydney
Meriton Suites North Sydney
#1 of 9 in North Sydney
685 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbourside Apartments
Harbourside Apartments
#1 of 1 in McMahons Point
381 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rydges North Sydney
Rydges North Sydney
#6 of 9 in North Sydney
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
McLaren Hotel
McLaren Hotel
#4 of 9 in North Sydney
206 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection
1.8 mi away
Hotel Urban St Leonards
Hotel Urban St Leonards
#1 of 3 in St Leonards
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Sydney Harbourview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Sydney Harbourview Hotel

Property: North Sydney Harbourview Hotel
Address: 17 Blue St, North Sydney, New South Wales 2060, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > North Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in North Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — North Sydney Harbourview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The North Sydney Harbourview Hotel is minutes away from Sydney CBD, separated by the famous Sydney Harbour Bridge and offers magnificent views of the harbour and city skyline. The Hotel is within easy access to the City, Taronga Zoo, Luna Park, Darling Harbour, Circular Quay, the Rocks Village & Mary MacKillop Place and is right next door to North Sydney Train Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your North Sydney Harbourview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing