We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location s everything!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
North Sydney Harbourview Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in North Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Location s everything!”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is a really nice hotel where the rooms are large and comfortable with everything you need and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. What sets it apart is the location overlooking Sydney Harbour, especially the Harbour Bridge and Luna Park. Make sure you get a room that side as you can easily spend all day and night just watching the comings and goings of the harbour activity! Also put your walking shoes on and get out early in the morning to walk the local (old) streets and foreshore.

Room Tip: Definitely harbour side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    490
    141
    46
    35
See reviews for
155
374
52
371
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (492)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed there over the
easter week end.Loved the view of the harbour,didn't realise it was just up the road from luna park so we spent Friday there and had a great time. Saturday at the royal easter show,then in to town for dinner.the hotel is very handy to the train station, very easy to go in to the city and the rocks etc.the staff were very friendly and helpful.rooms were quite spacious and very clean.had the buffet brekky on sunday morning.was very nice but would have liked sauté mushrooms,but overall very good tucker.only onedowner for us was the price of meals .I thought they were overpriced,but that was the only thing I could say against it.We are off to Phuket in September and I think we will stay there the night before and travel to the airport from there.so I summary I recommend the harbourview.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The hotel was clean and modern; the staff friendly and accommodating: all of which I expect from a hotel with a 4-star rating. What I do not expect is the city subway running beneath the hotel, rumbling from very early morning to very late evening -- and we were on the 7th floor. Also, the bed was way too soft; so much so that both of us still have backaches 5 days after our stay. Another issue was the lack of lifts (elevators). There was a sign saying they were in the process of installing more, but that didn't help when 20 of us were cued up to get up to our rooms. Then there was the difficulty of accessing the hotel. The above-mentioned subway entrance was only about 50 metres away, but the only way to the hotel entrance was up steep stairs or by walking up the car ramp. This was extremely inconvenient with heavy luggage, and no help was offered by the staff when asked. Although the hotel has recently been renovated, they really need to evaluate the company that installed the carpet in common areas. It was wrinkled up in many places, causing me to stumble at least once.

Bottom line: Skip this hotel and get one down in The Rocks or at Darling Harbour.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozdreamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
177 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

After touring the Blue Mountians we´re back in Sydney in the afternoon to Check-In with the Harbourview Hotel.
Turn right when you leave North Sydney station and there is the hotels entrance.
No time to wait during Check-In managed by a young and friendly receptionist.
A room on the top floor was requested and granted, level 14.
Not the best idea this time. It was a windy evening and the ventilation was howling all the time louder and lower, but constantly. After an hour I was back at the counter and asked for another room. Swiftly accepted and we moved one level down, where it was much better with the ventilation.
The view from above to the Harbourbridge and the city is marvellous.
The hotel itself is older, renovation works for example with the elevators is going on, but the room itself was equiped with modern style well designed furniture, also the bathroom was large.
A good nights sleep now.
Breakfast was really good, not included in the rate and expensive with 25.00 Dollars, but worth it
Different bread rolls on offer and really hot tea.
No time to wait during Check-out managed by a nice young woman and on the way for the airport again.
Downsides?: No free wifi, even not in the hotels lobby, sure not the standard these days.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLIEGER67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I was really happy with this hotel. Customer service was excellent. Room was clean. View was mesmerizing. For the price we got the room it was a great value. We requested a higher floor and we got the highest floor. We were not disturbed by train noise. Car parking for $20 per night was reasonable compared to other hotel parking charges. Walking distance to Luna Park and 5-10 mins drive to IMAX, and other attractions. We enjoyed so much and will be staying again if we visit Sydney in future.

Room Tip: Higher floor and corner rooms got a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chats86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Check in was a bit slow they had lost my request for early check in and I had to hang around whilst they worked out what to do. That aside, service was good, views from the bedroom were awesome and the breakfast was very good with a wide selection. Hotel decor in the lobby is a bit dated but rooms are modern and well maintained. Lifts are undergoing refurb so sometimes had to wait for lift to get to my floor but never too long.

Overall good value and would recommend.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lordtug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We have been privlidged to stay at the North Sydney Harbourview a number of times and the service has been excellent on every occasion. We had a Vietnam Veterans reunion there around 3 Anzac days ago and not one couple complained. The service and courtousy applied from reception right down to the cleaning staff has always been exceptional. The breakfasts are to die for.
We were there last weekend to visit Sydney to see Warhorse and nothing has changed, we will be there for three nights in April to celebrate Anzac Day again. The great staff are on the ball and certainly know their job.
One low point was that I was stuck in one of their lifts for around 20 minutes some years ago. It really didnt worry me, however they were on the phone every few minutes checking out how I was. We were given a bottle of wine for my inconveniance and that never had to happen, but just did.Fortunatly Harbourview has installed new state of the art lifts and they are great.
Thanks again, Harbourview!!!!

Room Tip: Try to get a high room as there is a train station below. Also try to get one facing the magnificent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Sydney
0.1 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments North Sydney
0.4 mi away
Harbourside Apartments
Harbourside Apartments
#1 of 1 in McMahons Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rydges North Sydney
Rydges North Sydney
#6 of 9 in North Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Urban St Leonards
Hotel Urban St Leonards
#1 of 3 in St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.5 mi away
McLaren Hotel
McLaren Hotel
#4 of 9 in North Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Sydney Harbourview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Sydney Harbourview Hotel

Property: North Sydney Harbourview Hotel
Address: 17 Blue St, North Sydney, New South Wales 2060, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > North Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in North Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — North Sydney Harbourview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The North Sydney Harbourview Hotel is minutes away from Sydney CBD, separated by the famous Sydney Harbour Bridge and offers magnificent views of the harbour and city skyline. The Hotel is within easy access to the City, Taronga Zoo, Luna Park, Darling Harbour, Circular Quay, the Rocks Village & Mary MacKillop Place and is right next door to North Sydney Train Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your North Sydney Harbourview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing