We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful view of the Sydney NYE Fireworks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
North Sydney Harbourview Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in North Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful view of the Sydney NYE Fireworks”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We took advantage of an exciting offer of two nights stay over New Year's Eve to specifically see the fireworks and were certainly not disappointed!
More than the exceptional view and the actual event, we were very impressed with the professional Service offered to us across all areas of the property - check in, meals, business centre, concierge etc. Very much a Corporate Hotel by choice I would think, it would be just as
impressive for holiday makers, as the North Sydney Station is just 30 seconds walk away.
Management and staff went to enormous lengths to ensure our stay was perfect, with small and
effective gestures such as deliverying champagne glasses before the Fireworks (in case we were celebrated in the room) and thank you housekeeping we did! Housekeeping delivering plenty of additional tea and coffee that morning in case we wanted more than usual before the fireworks. Just small things, but they all added up to a great stay,.
Thank you Management and Staff, you have a fine property and a great team! Diane and Edgar

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aus3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    500
    145
    49
    35
See reviews for
162
386
54
387
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (509)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Very convenient, right on top of Nth Sydney station, however the trains can be noisy sometimes. The view is excellent, as long as you get a room in the middle of the hotel. Facilities are good and the bed was comfortable. Bathroom a bit small and hard to fit 2 people in the shower :-)

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Doug-HHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Great location. Very close to the train station, shopping area and plenty of restaurants around. Beautiful view out of the window. The only downside seemed to be the noise from the trains, as the train line goes directly under the hotel. However, it didnt bother us at all. Room was nice and clean. Bathroom was a bit too small though. All in all a nice place. Would recomend it to anybody.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sindy_q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I've stayed a couple of times, usually on business. This time we had a family room for a holiday. Location of the hotel is good, view is not as good from the family rooms which are at the ends of the building and only on the lower floors, rooms are well furnished and clean. Beds mostly comfortable. There is rumbling from the trains which run directly below the hotel. This is more apparent in the lower floors where the family rooms are located but we had no problems. Free access to the North Sydney Olympic Pool (salt water, good views) is nice but make an outing of it! Will continue to stay here on visits to Sydney. Swimming pool rated average as not in the hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a harbourview room on an upper level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crimitorii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Excellent hotel right next door to North Sydney Rail Station and buses.A very clean and quite hotel
Hotel staff very friendly. Spacious restuarant with a large menu excellent food
Try one of there weekend deals good value
If you book for a harbour view room that's what you will get fantastic views of the city( especially at night)
We will be going back again

Well done Harbourview

Room Tip: Book a room with a view a little more expensive but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Great standard room in a great location. If you are a deep sleeper its ideal, but light sleepers might struggle with the sound of trains the run right by the the hotel (maybe under it too). Staff are great and once the lifts are finished it'll be faster to get around too. It could do with a better wifi service as the internet can run a bit slow if you're not connected via Ethernet. You only get a voucher to use a gym and you get a discount on a local pool.

Room Tip: The higher the level of your room, the better for less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackmccw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed here for one night, we walked from the city which was nice, weather was good, it took a while maybe 30mins but we wanted to explore places on the way that we could go for a drink or food, we walked over the bridge, we stayed on the 3rd floor and our room had a brilliant view of the harbour. The rooms are in really good nick, very clean, new, the bed is really comfortable, the room is a really good size, the shower was lovely. The city is a 5 min train ride away, get a day pass or walk. The rocks is the closest main area. I probably would stay again, like i say i have no problems with it at all, had a great sleep.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0yManc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Sydney
0.1 mi away
Meriton Suites North Sydney
Meriton Suites North Sydney
#1 of 9 in North Sydney
683 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbourside Apartments
Harbourside Apartments
#1 of 1 in McMahons Point
381 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rydges North Sydney
Rydges North Sydney
#6 of 9 in North Sydney
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
McLaren Hotel
McLaren Hotel
#4 of 9 in North Sydney
206 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection
1.8 mi away
Hotel Urban St Leonards
Hotel Urban St Leonards
#1 of 3 in St Leonards
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Sydney Harbourview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Sydney Harbourview Hotel

Property: North Sydney Harbourview Hotel
Address: 17 Blue St, North Sydney, New South Wales 2060, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > North Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in North Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — North Sydney Harbourview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The North Sydney Harbourview Hotel is minutes away from Sydney CBD, separated by the famous Sydney Harbour Bridge and offers magnificent views of the harbour and city skyline. The Hotel is within easy access to the City, Taronga Zoo, Luna Park, Darling Harbour, Circular Quay, the Rocks Village & Mary MacKillop Place and is right next door to North Sydney Train Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your North Sydney Harbourview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing