We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, lovely service, value for money”

Sakura Japanese Cuisine
Ranked #121 of 714 Restaurants in North Sydney
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Sydney
Level Contributor
101 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great food, lovely service, value for money”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

The Sakura team are friendly, efficient and the food always lovely. We have been there as a family too many time to count and we are never disappointed . Also the lovely terrace makes it great outdoor dining and lovely at lunch time.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bambasydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    10
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dungog, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Japanese food”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Loved the food, good selection and staff really friendly. We had mixed tempura plate, mini spring rolls, seafood curry and teriyaki chicken - all delicious

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Col_Du
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,247 reviews
576 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 588 helpful votes
“Just like Japan”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Having lived in Japan for 3 years, this place and its food reminded us of many of the casual eating places we visited while there. Not a flash interior but works. If 2 people sharing you will need a table for 4 as single tables for two offer no space for several dishes brought out at once. Outdoor area is very suitable for warm Sydney evenings but just inside with doors wide open was a nice feel. Staff did not interact much with customers but service was efficient. Our meal was a selection of entrees to share and the gyoza, karaage chicken, eggplant with sesame and miso, all very good. Have had better battered vegetable tempura. Mains are well priced and good selection. Moderate wine list and some good sake. Overall great value for money. Expect popular with the North Sydney business community for lunch.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emanpee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Menu has changed”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Ever since the menu has been changed they got rid of some good value stuff like the Tofu don set. Instead they now call it Teriaki Tofu set which they explained it's the same with the old Tofu done set. I Tried it and the tofu itself did not change much. What's changed is the portion. I 'm not a big person and I was still hungry after mt meal. Also the old Tofu don, Tofu was on top of a bowl of rice topped with yummy Chinese cabbage, mushrooms and eggplants. The new Teriaki set is no where near as nice.
Other dishes are either too oily or too sweet.
They charge $2.00 for a tiny bowl of rice which I could easily have 2. Again i'm not a big person with a huge appraise.
Service was average when you are lucky and get a waiter that speaks good English. most of them I could not understand.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SMiTH520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
539 reviews
358 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Good Sushi choices”
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

i mostly go there for take away deals. their menu is full of deals anyway and the platters of sushi are tasty and fresh.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChristianeNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sakura Japanese Cuisine also viewed

North Sydney, Greater Sydney
North Sydney, Greater Sydney
 
North Sydney, Greater Sydney
 
North Sydney, Greater Sydney
North Sydney, Greater Sydney
 

Been to Sakura Japanese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing