We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Anderledy Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Rydges North Sydney(North Sydney)
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Meriton Suites North Sydney(North Sydney)(Great Value!)
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
McLaren Hotel(North Sydney)(Great Value!)
$139
$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Vibe Hotel North Sydney(North Sydney)(Great Value!)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Harbourside Apartments(McMahons Point)(Great Value!)
$123
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Urban St Leonards(St Leonards)(Great Value!)
$123
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
North Sydney Harbourview Hotel(North Sydney)(Great Value!)
$151
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Greenwich Inn Motel(St Leonards)(Great Value!)
$103
$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel St Leonards(St Leonards)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveler rating
82
52
6
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
82
52
6
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspancake machinesingle room with shared bathroomnorth sydney train stationdoors opening and closingwonderful retreatshort walkcontinental buffet breakfastceiling fanair conditionermini fridgeplace to staypubs and restaurantsrooms were very cleansmall roomexcellent breakfastacross the bridgelocation is excellent
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 142 reviews
Reviewed December 10, 2013

After a long flight from the UK, we wanted somewhere away from the bustle of the city for a few days, & could not have chosen better

As our flight was due to land at 7am, I emailed to ask if we could leave our cases at that time, & received a lovely reply saying that if a room was available, we would be welcome to check in then. That was exactly what happened, & we were given a lovely friendly welcome, & were able to have a rest straightaway.

The rooms are not luxurious, but very comfortable & spotlessly clean, & as we had a studio, with separate living space, it really was a home from home.

The included breakfast was outstanding, with machines for squeezing fresh juice, & for making pancakes.

The location, in North Sydney, is very convenient, with buses, trains, shops & eating places all within a few minutes walk.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walkmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Value for money by Australian standards.

Free WIFI is a bonus because many Australian hotels charge a high fee for something that comes free of charge in even the tiniest B&B in other parts of the world.

Breakfast is excellent and the place is very clean. The grounds are lovely and well cared for. The museum and cafe are also worth a visit.

Rooms are basic but comfortable and there are plenty of bathrooms. Staff are pleasant and helpful (but some would benefit from customer service training and better communication skills). For example, if the restaurant is closed for a function, let guests know rather than force them to forage for food in an area where there's not much on offer of an evening.

The lounge is often locked and the restaurant closes at 8.00 pm. There is little on offer by way of restaurants in the area of an evening (by day there are lots of good cafes, but being Australia, the coffee machines are often switched off by 5.00 pm). North Sydney, like the CBD dies at the end of the business day. Lord only know what those who live here do with themselves after five o'clock.

If you're looking for good budget accommodation in Sydney, this place offers better value for money than most.

Thank Frangipanette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This was a treasured find, staff were so helpful. I was just back from OS and had too much luggage and ended up at the wrong gate - they happily come and collected me and helped me get to the registration desk. I really appreciated their very friendly service. The rooms are perfectly clean, there are washing facilities, breaky is included with a great selection of food. A pancake machine, the gardens an lovely. I was in a suite at first and then moved to a single room with ensuite. Both rooms great. Easy walk to train station. Walking distance to harbour and Luna Park if you can do stairs. Great for morning brisk walk. Really loved this place.

Room Tip: Suites are large, single room with ensuite small but that is all you need.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AussieKate13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, General Manager at Anderledy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear kate,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are very proud of our hospitalty and this kind of review strenghen our belief that we are on the right path..

Kind Regards

Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Anderledy is a quiet haven with spaces to enjoy well kept enclosed gardens, away from the city bussle, yet close to buses, trains, ferries and taxis. A short walk down Miller Street there is a lovely older style collection of shops, cafes, pubs and restaurants. Close at hand and opposite the North Sydney station is a modern shopping plaza. The room was spacious and inculded a separate kitchen / lounge. Breakfast was included and very adequate. We felt safe and welcomed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darryl026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, General Manager at Anderledy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Darryl,

Thank you very much for your review,
It is very rewarding to see that we were able to deliver on our promises ,"safe ,clean pleasant and inviting accommodation.
We look forward to welcome you back soon

Kind Regards

Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This little piece of paradise was marred only by a few little things.
Our room was spacious and comfortable. The bed was comfortable and the shower water hot, however, the shower itself was pretty tiny I am a medium - large sized woman and I had a little trouble even turning around in the shower. The toilet was 'leaking' constantly so to prevent being kept awake by it all night we turned off the tap, the fire escape was right near the door to our room and everytime someone went through the door it sounded like someone had 'bodyslammed' our door and just a little thing but the hairdryers are only in the communal bathrooms on each floor not in the rooms which meant each morning going out of the room to dry my hair! (I know pretty petty but we paid for a bathroom it would have been nice to be able to do my hair in the room). The staff were very friendly and helpful and the pancake machine in the breakfast room made great pancakes!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cuddlefi5h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, General Manager at Anderledy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear guest,
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in our "little piece of paradise" despite a few inconvenience. I have advised our maintenance department regarding dripping toilets.
There should have been a dryer in your room so the housekeeping supervisor has ensured that it is in the room
Unfortunatly the fire escape doors are heavy due to fire regulation and we encourage our guest not to use the fire stairs only in case of emergency

Look forward to welcome you back and next time it will be a "perfect little peace of paradise"

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews