We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An interesting stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Khao Sok Jungle Huts
Ranked #2 of 2 Khlong Sok B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 27, 2012

I had to write a review for the Kho Sok jungle huts, simply because it was an unforgettable experience.

We arrived in Kho Sok and pulled up the the entrance, it seemed to look pretty cool. When we were checking in they were surprised by how much we'd paid (400bht) So they offered us a 'better' room.
We were taken all the way down to the river side, and showed into our room. We went in and it was tiny, and quite frankly it looked like a garden shed you have on stilts.
Being in the jungle I really wasn't that fussed, not even by the suspicious looking creature that was living the a small hole above the door to the bathroom.

The main excitement of our stay was after we came back form buying some supplies.
As we walked up to our door, we thought we heard falling fruit, As my friend turned around, I see a huge tail. Suddenly huge vicious monkeys come flying from every angle and block us in our room. Trying to open both doors with turning the door knobs.
The feral creatures were attacking the bars on the windows (now we know why there are bars on the windows) Even with some shouting, all we got was gritted teeth and what I can only describe as a grin..
Now you may think that was the worst part, oh no....
Eventually we got out of the room, and ran to the reception, because quite frankly we were a little scared. We were laughed at and made to feel very uneasy and as though we were making too much fuss. One of the ladies realized we weren't messing around and said she'd deal with it.
As we were walking back to our room, she tells us to wait for a moment. She walked away and came back with a HUGE slingshot, and then told us 'when I tell you to run, you run' (The same lady who told us that the monkeys aren't dangerous...)

So in short, we ended up changing to another room further away from the monkeys, which was actually even cheaper than the first room and much much nicer.

If you want to be terrorised by monkeys then by all means, stay in the river view huts.

Room Tip: Just don't stay by the river if you hate bugs or any other wildlife
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
There are newer reviews for Khao Sok Jungle Huts
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 128 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2012

This is the best place we´ve stayed in Thailand, mainly due to the hospitality and the very friendly and helpful staff. Spider Woman and Big guy were superb and treated us as part of the family… There was no pushy sales or any ploys to do stuff we didn´t want, they were just honest and really cool. Spider woman also went as far as helping changing our ferry booking to Ko Tao and it was really appreciated. Highly recommend this place and its people… 10/10

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob884334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

With the minibus of PP Service from Surathani we got dropped off at this place. The man at the office of PP Service already tried to make a booking for this place, but we wanted to check it out by ourselves. When we got there, we were tired and didn't want to search for other accomodation. We had a bungalow for 400 baht. In the restaurant they immidiately tried to sell us their tours, but we didn't want that. The bungalow had two horrible spiral matrasses and the next morning I woke up, because of little ants in my bed (but you're in the jungle, don't make a problem of it).

When we had breakfast I felt like unwelcoming guests when they served the food. No smiles or friendly words. The boss was walking around with his sarong on and proudly showed off his enormous belly. Not something you want to see if you're having your breakfast.

When we tried to ask for another bungalow the girl/daughter was very rude with us. 'What do you want? What's wrong with that bungalow?' And finally she answered that they were fully booked which we know was a lie.

We didn't book a tour with them, maybe that's why they act so rude. This is not a way you want to be treated and we left the property. I'll advise you not to go there. Bad karma, unfriendly staff, they only want your money!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

We stayed threre for two nights when we were in Khao Sok National Park. The hut we stayed in was spacious, the bed had a mosquito net, it was clean and the bathroom attached to it was very good. The staff was very friendly. We had a breakfast there a couple times and it was quite good. I would definitely stay there again if i were to go to Khao Sok again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tomash226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

we got picked up from the junction for the hotel for a 200 baht/night . arrived and after a small fight we end up paying 200 b. they wanted us to pay more. after we refused to book a guided trek with them they just stop talking us.we wanted to leave a day earlier and we asked them if they refund for the 1 night. they said yes , and when we went to checkout they refused to give the money back. plenty of bugs in the room. I would not be supriced if the bed was collected from the nearby garbage place.pros? nice garden, can be cheap .

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adonis5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

I'm a budget traveler and stay in hosels all the time, but this place was terrible. The hotel location is really scenic, but the rooms have bugs. Our room had big mosquito nets tied up over the beds, but they were full of bugs. During the night, the bugs fell onto us and bit us, so we ended up moving our beds away from underneath the mosquito nets. We took a 3 hour nature hike with "M" who, during all that time, only managed to point out bamboo trees and firt with the pretty girl in the group. Oh, and he also stopped repeately to pee on the side of the trail and smoke a cigarette every 15 minutes.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GretaArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2010

We stayed in a newer huts for 800 bhat. They were definitely cleaner than the 400 ones and even had a little hot shower. There was something going on with their pluming and it was really stinking in the bathroom. The breakfast, including coffee was absolutely terrible and the kitchen looked dirty. The honer was a bit pushy with trying to cell us his trips and we ended up getting one just down the street with someone else (who wasn't that pushy). We ate at the Morning Mist a couple of times as their kitchen looked clean and their drinks were amazing (decorated by flowers!), couldn't stay there as they were full but they seemed like the best option around!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Little_Birdie2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Khlong Sok
0.1 mi away
Morning Mist Resort
Morning Mist Resort
#6 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
262 reviews
0.1 mi away
Khao Sok Paradise Resort
Khao Sok Paradise Resort
#4 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
436 reviews
0.2 mi away
Khao Sok Green Valley Resort
Khao Sok Green Valley Resort
#8 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Khao Sok Las Orquideas Resort
Khao Sok Las Orquideas Resort
#3 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
472 reviews
0.3 mi away
Khao Sok Royal Cliff Resort & Spa
Khao Sok Royal Cliff Resort & Sp...
#6 of 21 in Khao Sok National Park
87 reviews
0.3 mi away
Art's Riverview Jungle Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khao Sok Jungle Huts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khao Sok Jungle Huts

Address: 242 Moo 6 Klongsok, Khlong Sok, Phanom 84250, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Phanom > Khlong Sok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Khlong Sok
Price Range: $10 - $18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Khao Sok Jungle Huts 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Khao Sok Jungle Huts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khao Sok Jungle Huts Hotel Khlong Sok
Khao Sok Jungle Huts Thailand/Surat Thani Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing