We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveler rating
170
13
5
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
170
13
5
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslarge poollocal areatennis courtsfood and winespacious bathroommin drivewonderful staytalented chefthis delightful boutique hotelyolandacountrysideterracehostcarcassonnefranceregioncitadel
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 191 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2015

Domaine Michaud is very near to where we live although we discovered it on trip advisor. We wanted somewhere different to go for a special meal - we certainly were not disappointed!

By chance, we were the only diners which is apparently unusual. However, Jolanda welcomed us warmly and had set us a table in the smaller dining room which had a lovely open fire in the huge fireplace. The ambience was superb in this fabulous building. From our table by the large windows we could see the lights of Carcassonne city and its famous medieval citadel.
The meal was delicious, flavoursome and very carefully prepared and served. I am a really fussy eater but had discussed my likes and dislikes when I booked and the meal was perfectly tailored to my tastes. Jolanda was attentive but in no way overbearing and she gave us time to relax and eat and drink our way through the evening.
For the quality of food and the dining experience it was very reasonably priced.

A super hidden gem and we are delighted that we live only a few kilometres away as we are sure to be back.

Stayed: October 2015
1  Thank Cazgeraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domainemichaud, Eigenaar at Domaine Michaud, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2016

Dear Cazgeraz,
Thank you very much for your positive review on TripAdvisor.
We are honoured that you have chosen Domaine Michaud to celebrate your wedding anniversary, and are glad that you have enjoyed your evening in our Restaurant.
Furthermore we are looking forward to your next visit and surprising you with another surprise menu.

Kind regards,

Domaine Michaud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2015

We spent three nights at Domaine Michaud at the beginning of September. It was our third visit to this gem in SW France and it definitely met our expectations once again.
The changes that have been made to the property since our last visit added to our positive experience. The new archway and staircase to the bedrooms are a welcome addition and have been built in sympathy with the rest of the property.
We received a very warm welcome from Jolanda, Fred, Naomi-esmée & Sandor Danen - with the usual very useful tips on things to do in the local area.
Of course one of the highlights of the Domaine Michaud experience is the food - thank you to Jolanda for cooking the duck dish for us once again! We also enjoyed the choice of local wines which perfectly compliment the various dishes.
Hope to see you again in 2016.

  • Stayed: September 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank landj76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domainemichaud, Eigenaar at Domaine Michaud, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2016

Dear Landje 76,
T
hank you very much for sharing your positive experience on TripAdvisor.
There is no better sign of satisfaction than guests coming back to us!
Additionally we are very pleased that you have noticed all the changes we have made =).
We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay for a third time and are very much looking forward to welcoming you again.

Warm regards,

Domaine Michaud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2015

It is a restored villa with 6 rooms and an immaculate swimming pool. The location is good if you are going to Carcassonne as it is only about 20 minutes away. Jolanda and her daughter Naomi are 2 of the most caring people we met in France and were always there for questions. Rooms and bathrooms are beautiful and light. They have a restaurant in the villa where people from the outside can come for a wonderful elegant meal. The villa has an amazing view and you may not want to leave. Breakfast is very nice in a beautiful dining room. One tip-since it is in the country you may want to find it the first time in the daylight but after that no problem.

  • Stayed: September 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurie116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domainemichaud, Eigenaar at Domaine Michaud, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2016

Dear Laurie116,

We want to thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review about your holidays at Michaud.

We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your time with us and more than honoured with your sincere compliments.

We hope to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Domaine Michaud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2015

Jolanda was so very welcoming and it made for such a lovely stay at Domaine Michaud that we want to book again to go next year.

We had a lovely suite which was beautifully decorated, extremely well presented and comfortable. Our room had a private terrace overlooking the pool and the amazing scenery... book it if it's available.

It is only 15 minutes drive from Carcassonne, but so amazingly quiet and peaceful. The road to the B&B is narrow and bendy, but then most of the roads in the area are.

The Food is excellent, although there is no choice, being a fixed menu you just have to trust what Jolanda makes. However if you have any allergies or aversions they can usually be accommodated. The fennel soup was honestly one of the best soups I've ever had! Excellent wine list too.

Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2015, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Max B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domainemichaud, Eigenaar at Domaine Michaud, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2016

Dear Max B,
We thank you very much for sharing your rave review with us.
We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay at Domaine Michaud, as well as the area.
And we are honoured to know that our fennel soup is was one of the best soup you ever had =).

We would be more than privileged to welcoming you next year again.

Kind regards,

Domaine Michaud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2015

We spent 9 days at domain Michaud in August 2015, in the self catering apartment. Have rented numerous apartments in Europe over about 20 years this is by far the best equipped that we have seen in terms of cleanliness (it was spotlesslessy clean) and the quality of the fittings. The evening meals provided by the hosts were interesting (something different from normal menus) and at a good price. As a place to relax its a perfect setting for all-comers, whether you feel energetic (local walks) or not (sleeping by the pool). It's hard to fault it, especially with the views of mountains. Strongly recommended (from someone who would normally never find time to write hotel reviews).

Room Tip: We stayed in the apartment which is spacious (bedroom, separate small lounge, small kitchen, bathroom) which also has a private patio.
  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ghytuin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domainemichaud, Eigenaar at Domaine Michaud, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2015

Dear Ghytuin,

Thank you very much for finding the time to write such a highly valued review on TripAdvisor, especially so shortly after your stay. We are glad that you have enjoyed your time here at the property and that you have appreciated our self-catering apartment so much.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Domaine Michaud and the breakfast buffet is already waiting for you. You know where we are speaking about haha ;).

Warm regards,

The Danen Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews