We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful 2 night stay!”
Review of Domaine Michaud

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Domaine Michaud
Ranked #1 of 1 Roullens B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed at Domaine Michaud for 2 nights as part of our honeymoon. We booked through Alistair Sawday.

This guest house offers stunning 360 views. The drive up from from Carcassonne was beautiful. The grounds and property is well kept and you feel instantly welcome and relaxed. There is a very large pool which has plenty of sun loungers surrounding it. There are 2 very friendly dogs and 2 pigs at the bottom of the garden. It makes for a very friendly, family run experience.

Our room had it's own entrance and was large in size. It was well decorated and the bed was comfy. A fan had been put in the room for us to use in the warm nights. Our bathroom offered a double shower and plenty of fresh towels.

We ate at the guest house one evening. The food was extremely delicious. It was homemade and very tasty, a real taste of traditional french food. The family are very welcoming and we felt very at home having our meal here. We really recommend this.

We would really love to visit this guest house again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kennett2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 184 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

Fabulous stay at Domaine Michaud - instantly relaxed ater the hustle and bustle of Carcassonne. Weather fabulous. Pool area very comfortable. Fabulous 360 degree views. Rooms very tastefully decorated. Dinner exceptional and worth the wait - just more time to relax and chill . Great base to tour the local area.,Jolanda expecially helpful with travel tips and suggestions as well as a great hostess.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bridget B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We have just spent seven nights at Domaine Michaud. Jolanda , Fred ,Naomi -Esme and Sandor work very hard to ensure a pleasant stay. The dinner in the evening was exceptional and Naomi- Esme's harp playing enriched the experience. The weather was not kind to us whilst we were there but we still managed a couple of swims following sightseeing visits. As previously stated the views of the mountains from the terraces and front of house were exceptional. Many thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElizabethWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We love to visit France and flew to Carcassonne - using trip adviser to find our accommodation. Domain Michaud came up top and we are so glad that we went there. The food that Yolanda cooks is AMAZING. Better than many top restaurants. What better way to spend an evening than to sit by a log fire with an aperitif chatting to fellow guests, then enjoy a delicious meal ( every mouthful to be savoured ) washed down with glorious local wine, then fall into a comfortable bed. The views are amazing and it is so quiet. There is a great swimming pool with loungers although it was too cold to swim when we stayed. Only 15 minute drive to Carcassonne. Yolanda helps you to decide where to visit even providing local maps for the duration of your stay. We bought apples and carrots at a local market to feed the 2 horses and 2 pot bellied pigs! We ate in EVERY night as we just could not resist Jolanda's food!! A big thank you to Yolanda AND her delightful family for their warm hospitality.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nobby79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Many travellers have complimented this Dutch family and their wonderful building south of Carcasonne. Surrounded by a great variety of wild flowers the views are stunning. The rooms and furniture are spacious indeed, the welcome and ongoing care from Yolanda and/or her daughter is very warm. There is only one downside and that is that the (quite expensive, but beautifully cooked )"surprise" evening meal starts late and takes a long time to be served. There is apparently a real problem getting staff to help in the area and this places quite a burden on the hosts. However visitors should be aware of Yolanda's flexibility - she will do alternatives on request and one night we only wanted something light and just had a delicious soup. Very palatable and reasonably priced local wines are offered. Domaine Michaud is definitely a place to experience.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent I believe. Ours overlooked the pool and the hills ("Serena") and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hedgehog44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed here for a week and cannot recommend it highly enough. The location is fantastic, just a short drive into Carcassone and surrounds and the situation is just amazing. The views from the rooms and terrace are divine. Despite experiencing terrible weather, Jolanda is a warm and welcoming hostess. We ate here 3 nights out of the 7 and the food is gorgeous, beautifully presented and cooked. Jolanda is also very helpful with local information and ideas for days out and was always very happy for us just to sit and enjoy the views/lounge room etc. If you want peace and quiet with great food then this is definitely the place to stay.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Familyinsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed for four nights at the end of May when the weather was very unsettled but Jolanda and her family made us very welcome and we thoroughly enjoyed our visit. We had an evening meal every night although we had not originally intended to - every meal accompanied by a good local wine was fantastic, with Jolanda or her daughter serving and explaining each course. Both Jolanda and her daughter had ideas about where to visit and how to best park for Carcassonne. The B&B is in an excellent spot to tour the area and my wife & I have already recommended it to some of our friends.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mick520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Domaine Michaud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine Michaud

Address: 1 Lieu Dit Michaud, 11290 Roullens, Carcassonne, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne > Roullens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Roullens
Price Range: $170 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel , luxury B&B + high qualified restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Domaine Michaud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing