We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Domaine Michaud
Nearby Hotels
$144
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Budget Carcassonne Aeroport(Carcassonne Center)(Great Value!)
$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premiere Classe Carcassonne(Carcassonne Center)
$34
$32
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
KYRIAD CARCASSONNE - AEROPORT(Carcassonne Center)
$66
$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fasthotel Carcassonne(Carcassonne Center)
$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel l'Etoile(Carcassonne Center)(Great Value!)
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Domaine d'Auriac(Carcassonne Center)
$382
$283
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
$107
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Montsegur(Carcassonne Center)
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel de la Bastide(Carcassonne Center)(Great Value!)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
185 results
Traveler rating
164
13
5
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
164
13
5
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssuperb hospitalitytwo nightslocal areaenjoyed our visittennis courtsfabulous viewsgames roomspacious bathroomwonderful staysurprise menupyreneesyolandapropertycarcassonnefrancehostesscountryside
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 185 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed in Domaine Michaud for two nights in September 2012. We travelled straight there from Perpignan airport - it was a tiny bit difficult getting there but it when we arrived we were taken aback by the spectacular views and peaceful setting. Yolanda welcomed us and described at length everything we needed to know about the house and its history. The house is well presented, very clean and the centre piece is a fantastic, giant fireplace in the middle of the dining area (there's an amazing wood-burning smell when you pass through the room). Our room was the perfect size, very chic and stylish, with a decent sized, clean, bathroom/shower. Opening the shutters gave a spectacular view over the pool and rolling hills that are part of the property. On both nights we stayed we decided to eat at the house. Prices were very reasonable for the (high) quality of the food & wine. Yolanda really is a talented chef - she should really expand the restaurant! Her daughter, Naoimi, chatted with us and explained about the background of local wines we tried. Breakfast options were plentiful, fresh and delicious. They're lucky to have a good quality baker nearby!
Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. There were other very nice guests staying at the time - so, between them and Yolanda and family it was a very convivial atmosphere. The two (small) complaints I would have is that the pool was not available for use when we arrived. I know most French people would not want to swim in a pool in September but us Irish guys have a high tolerance for cold water! Also, there needs to be credit card facilities so it is difficult to have cash on hand to pay the final bill when the nearest cash machines are probably in Carcassonne.
I'd highly recommend staying here if passing through, or even as a destination - you'll not be disappointed by the location, quality, rooms, food nor the hosts.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rjdmccarthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My husband and I visited Domaine Michaud for a much needed relaxing break after travelling from Australia. My sister-in-law and her partner joined us from England and we found this to be the most amazing B&B for our family holiday. Its location was peaceful with the most spectacular views, rooms were large and comfortable and Yolanda's cooking was just fantastic (breakfast, lunch, dinner). Sitting in the afternoon sun having a lovely glass of wine looking over the country side truly was a beautiful and relaxing experience. Thank you Yolanda for making our family catch up so special :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My partner and I had a wonderful 9 night stay at Domaine Michaud. The B&B is in a very quiet location but only 15 minutes from Carcassonne. Jolanda, the hostess with the mostess was very friendly, helpful in giving suggestions of things to do and places to visit and kept this fabulous B&B clean and inviting. We enjoyed the breakfasts which were basically continental with cereals. The museli was scrumptious. We had dinner there on three occasions and found the food to be excellent. We especially enjoyed dinners when the daughter, Naomi Esmee was available to be the lovely waitress. The bedrooms are large and very comfortable and our ensuite had a bath tub and separate shower - nice decor and furniture. The views from the pool area are just spectacular and we enjoyed several days just chilling around the accommodation and pool. We would well reccommend if you like lovely views, a tranquil location you stay at this great find.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be individual and nicely presented and roomy.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We were going to stay in Carcassonne for 4 nights but were having difficulty finding an hotel that we liked. We came across Domaine Michaud almost as a "last restort" and we are sooooo pleased we chose to stay there for 4 nights. Our room was a good size and nicely presented. The view from our window was superb. Jolanda and her daughter Naiomi Esme are Dutch and speak very good English too! After a day sightseeing it was lovely to come back to the peace and quiet of the garden and sit with a glass of wine and soak up the late afternoon sunshine. We opted to eat there and we weren't disappointed. Jolanda's food (served with wine) was superb, some of the best we had during our month long tour of France,Switzerland, Italy and Spain. Jolanda was very helpful in planning our sightseeing and Naiomi Esme's evening greetings and stories were a highlight. Domaine Michaud is still "work in progress" but what they have achieved in the short time they have been there shows their commitment to make their guests stay as memorable as possible. We would not hesitate in recommending a stay here and don't miss out on Jolanda's cooking.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden and pool have fantastic views.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LFOak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We bathed in the magnificence of Domaine Michaud for three nights and so wished that we could have stayed longer. A stunning location tucked into the hills above Carcassonne. Beautifully appointed with everything you could want; an enveloping bed, a large bathroom, comfort and such cleanliness. After a day of sightseeing, to return to the terrace, a crisp bottle of chilled white wine from the local 'cave' and a good book was more than anyone could wish for. To while away the time in the October sunshine until our superb dinner is something I intend to do whenever I am in the region. This is truly a rare place made special by the care and consideration to all aspects of the hospitality given by this friendliest of families.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christine_balson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews