We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sort your staff out!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cadogan Ingham

The Cadogan Ingham
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Ingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: On the food side, the emphasis is on good quality, seasonal produce and, wherever possible, we source it locally. We are delighted to have been awarded an AA rosette for our food. Our breakfast menu includes Newmarket sausages, Suffolk bacon, our own hen’s eggs and smoked salmon from the smokery at our sister pub. We love Sunday lunch and offer a great roast – bring the family or meet up with friends and catch up on your week.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Sort your staff out!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Lovely place, excellent food, crap service..... not an awful lot more to say really.

Such a shame that the disorganised nature of the serving staff detracts from the over all experience.

Will definitely give this place another go just in case the team were having an 'off night'.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank steveholdenmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    60
    16
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food but.........Shocking Service and timeliness”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

This undoubtedly would have been a 5 rating if it wasn't for the shocking timeliness and attention service we received. This is best described through the timetable.
20:10 We arrived for 20:15 table sitting
20:15 Member of staff at the bar received us and took us to our table and advised our waiter would be with us in 5 minutes and there would be a 15 minute delay taking our order for food as the kitchen was a bit behind
20:30 Waiter eventually arrived and took wine order and said would come back in 5 minutes to take food order. 2 minutes later returned with the wine and said would be back in 2 minutes.
20:40 Waiter arrived to take food order. We ordered Starters and Main course.
20;43 Order was placed on their computer system, we have the receipt time.
21:15 (30 minutes later with zero contact from any member of staff)What seemed like a supervisor came over and apologised for the wait and said we would not have to pay for the starters which was great he spoke to us, apologised and suggested recompense, but this was 30 minutes after the order was placed.
21:30 The starters finally arrived again with apologies for the delay. We both had Thai Salad with Beef in Horseradish sauce, it was excellent
21:40 Plates collected.
21:55 Main course finally served (100 minutes after we sat down !!!) , my wife had Mutton Pie and I had the Pig plate which was 4 different ways of presenting pork. Both dishes were simply outstanding in quality and portion size. We provided this feedback to the staff to that effect and advised if they could likewise sort out the service and timeliness they would be par excellence.
10:15 I requested the bill, this was provided within 2 minutes
10:30 Then no-one attended to our table to collect the card for payment so eventually I went to the bar to pay. But not over then, they only had one card machine and could not track it down, they found it eventually. It is ridiculous an establishment that size only has one hand held machine.

Over all we would strongly recommend this establishment as the food was outstanding but the service, attention and timeliness was appalling. We have had service problems here before and unfortunately they don't appear to have addressed it but it doesn't stop us going there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Oakmead1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Party Buzz!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

we took over the restaurant with a works party of about 35, staff were very friendly, food excellent, though could have a bit bigger portions. Very nice time would recommend herb crusted hake fillet & leek risotto\\\ stay clear of the lemon posset ---not set!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kevalyash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
“A dining pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

A large family meal out was a complete pleasure at The Cadogan Arms, the staff were excellent and attended to our every need not to mention the delightful food enjoyed by all 19 of us!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lichfield
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great if you're on a diet”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Orderded the monkfish scampi from the lunch menu. I did feel that £6.50 for 4 pieces of scampi and a pea shoot was excessive. When I ordered the waitress did curtly ask if that was all I wanted, perhaps she should have explained that the portion was very small? It was listed on the menu with all the other mains so I don't think I mistakenly ordered a starter. Very disappointing and certainly wouldn't go back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Dilbert1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCadogan, Owner at The Cadogan Ingham, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
For clarity our Monkfish Scampi is a starter. Our lunch menu has two price columns as many dishes are available in a small or large portion size to give greater flexibility at lunchtime. The Scampi however is only available as starter and therefore only priced in this column. I'm sorry that this wasn't clear to you and can assure you that I will look again at the way we structure and present our menus to make sure that they are clear to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cadogan Ingham also viewed

Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk
Hartest, Suffolk
 
Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk
Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk
 

Been to The Cadogan Ingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing