We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make sure your hungry”
Review of The Raddle Inn

The Raddle Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Tean
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Make sure your hungry”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed a couple of miles away, was recommended this place by family who had eaten here. Nice little country pub, could do with a little TLC though but still nice. Food portions are MASSIVE, couldn't finish all the food and it looked like I had hardly touched it, go hungry! Food was nice, not offensive but have had better, but 8 quid average for a main meal is reasonable so could really complain.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 526Will
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    58
    21
    17
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Needs a bit of TLC”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We ate here on a recommendation. Loverly little pub although really needs a touch of TLC to lift it up in parts. Staff were friendly and polite and the me u had quite a bit of choice. I was glad to see some of the dishes we chose where home made, always a massive tick when in country pubs. Darters were overly and the home made tomatoe and basil soup was really nice although a little thick. The mains however were the opposite. Chip shop sausages reheated... In an area surrounded by farms and woodland you woul expect fresh local produce. We both left most of our mains. Desert was on the cards and we had a warm bakewell which was loverly.

Over all a nice little place but just be careful what you order. Outside could do with a good scrub to but I guess it is the end of summer.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnEyersx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Traditional country pub but needs a little attention...”
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed in the area & stopped at this pub for an afternoon drink. The pub is a traditional country pub & is really quirky. We decided to walk down later that evening for dinner.
The menu looks great however the food was pretty average. Our first dealings with the staff on the evening was a little unwelcoming and we ended up moving away from our table 20 mins after finishing our meals because the plates were not cleared.

However when we asked for a taxi or a number for a taxi the young waitress who hadnt served us previously that evening insisted on running us back to our accommodation. This was a nice touch and much appreciated.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bogeysprockett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke-on-trent
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“good value home style food”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Called here for a meal on the off chance as we were in the area and hadn't been to this place for about 20 years.

The scenery is beautiful and the pub is very traditional but has plenty to offer wether it be a nice county pub drink or meal.

It was about 6pm on a Saturday evening and the place was a little bit busy but we managed to find a table, we sat near the door which was a mistake as it went a little cool outside and with people coming and going meant we caught the draft from the doorway.

The food has to be ordered from the bar but the menu is easy to work from and has a good choice, the service was pretty good and the staff are pleasant.

The food was of a good standard, nothing fancy but wholesome and tasty. Prices are reasonable and portions are of a good size.

The drinks can be added to your bill so all can be settled in one, and the bill is clearly itemized so no chance of confusion about who had what.

Overall I think this place is very good and would recommend to anyone who likes wholesome food at a price that's reasonable to give it a go.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dosso4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ne
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful place for a delicious meal.”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My family of 10 journeyed here for a sunday lunch. In order to get to the restaurant area, you have to drive through this amazing scenery down a slope. It was hidden in a quaint area near tents and lodges. They even had an area for children to play. The tables were set with class and the staff was very helpful. The food came out hot and delicious. (Only slight downfall was that only 1 waitress brought out 1 plate at a time, so it took us all awhile before we could begin to eat as a family.) The atmosphere was lovely as well. Food price was equal to the amount of food given on a plate. Overall, wonderful place to dine out with family and friends!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Raddle Inn also viewed

Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 
Alton, Staffordshire
Alton, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Raddle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing