We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab stay yet again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wetheral
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from another great stay at the Crown Hotel. On our first night it was extremely busy with a coach party, however the staff were 'on the ball' and very attentive as usual and we were seated in the restaurant immediately. The Conservatory Restaurant has views over the lovely gardens and the food served is outstanding (one of the main reasons we keep returning). The leisure facilities are great with a jacuzzi, saunas and steam room as well as swimming pool, squash courts and gyms. The pool is sometimes busy as it's used by local people as well as hotel residents but there's always room in the jacuzzi and steam room. The staff are always friendly and welcoming (another reason we keep returning). We enjoy staying here for special occasions and are already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jewelscrown, General Manager at Crown Wetheral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you for your review, it was lovely to see you return back to the Crown Hotel again so soon. I am happy to read that you thought the food was outstanding and that our leisure club is great.

On behalf of myself and my team, I would like to thank you for choosing the Crown Hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Paul Hicks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,024)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

763 - 769 of 1,024 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

Always enjoy our stay at this hotel. Dinner and accomodation a bargain. Rather a dried up breakfast on my last visit, the only criticism I can think of to make really. But we both still enjoyed our stay, and the friendly service. An easy drive from Edinburgh, and you have the whole of the lake district to choose from for day trips.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jewelscrown, General Manager at Crown Wetheral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you for your review, I am happy to read that you did enjoy your recent stay with us. I do apologise that your breakfast was not to the standard we always serve, and I do hope on this occasion we were able to rectify the problem for you.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crown Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Paul Hicks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I am sat in the bar after a swim posting this review. our 2nd night of three all I can say everything is first class. lovely restaurant, pool, staff. rooms and location even a train station in the back garden. I would highly recommend the crown weatheral.

Room Tip: leave the car use the train
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norman T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jewelscrown, General Manager at Crown Wetheral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you for your highly praised review. I am delighted to read that you have written this review half way through your current stay. Its wonderful to read that you feel that everything is first class. I have passed your comments onto my entire team.

I would like to thank you for choosing the Crown Hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Paul Hicks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We decided (2 adults, 1 x 6 year old boy and 2 dogs) to go for a for a Saturday night and managed to get a late good value bed & breakfast deal. We selected the hotel as it is dog friendly, has a large swimming pool and there is a pleasant place (Talkin Tarn) to walk our dogs around the lake. Our room had a double and single bed and the staff had provided dog beds & bowls which amused our son. In the village of Wetheral there is a great restaurant called Fantails and this had been recommended, so we booked a table and had a fantastic meal. After dinner we returned to the hotel and our son played in the garden whilst we enjoyed a glass of wine in very pleasant surroundings. The next morning we enjoyed a good breakfast and used the swimming pool. It was a wonderful mini break and just the right distance from Newcastle (1 hour by car). For those that do not drive there is a train station in the village too!! We definitely intend to go back to repeat the break.

Room Tip: Phone the hotel to ask the receptionist which is the best room for your party.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Douglas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jewelscrown, General Manager at Crown Wetheral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Good Afternoon

Thank you for your review. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and your son and dogs enjoyed their break away and the facilities that we offer.

On behalf of myself and my team, it was our pleasure to look after you and your family and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Paul Hicks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

warm welcome, fantastic suite and accommodation, genuinely nice & helpful staff. I couldn't fault our stay and meal. Gluten free diets well catered for, and all facilities close at hand. Hope to visit again soon

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jewelscrown, General Manager at Crown Wetheral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Good Afternoon Mandy

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you especially enjoyed your suite.

I have passed your kind words onto my team, and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crown Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Paul Hicks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

we arrived at the hotel on Saturday 31 Aug at about 4pm, the welcome at reception was warm and welcoming, the room was nice clean and tidy. We used the spar which again was good. I booked a table in the conservatory for dinner, that was lovely the meal was excellent and really helpful staff. Very restful sleep with no noise. (but there were no weddings on when we stayed). Breakfast in the morning well i had to send our first cooked breakfast back as it was cold, but staff attended to that issue very swiftly and returned with a hotter breakfast. Overall the hotel was very good and we will certainly look at going back sometime.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulM7761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jewelscrown, General Manager at Crown Wetheral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you for your review, I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the hotel .

I do apologise that on the first occasion your breakfast was not hot, I am happy to see that this was rectified quickly.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crown Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Paul Hicks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

this is one of the hidden delights on my area, I am an area sales manager looking after the north of England from Stoke on Trent north, north Wales, Scotland and both north and southern Ireland.
The Crown hotel Wetheral is one of the best hotels I stay in on a regular basis. The food and service are second to none especially the conservatory restaurant, the have an excellent chef with the serving staff to match. The hotel is very comfortable and well positioned for both the business and private traveller. They also have a lovely relaxing spa area with pool. I would recommend to anyone

Room Tip: ask for a quiet non smoking upper room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billmitchison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jewelscrown, General Manager at Crown Wetheral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you for your highly praised review. I am happy to read that you have labelled our hotel as the best hotel that you stay in on a regular basis.

On behalf of myself and my team thank you for your continued loyalty and business. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crown Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Paul Hicks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wetheral
4.2 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
1,047 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,430 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#1 of 20 in Carlisle
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
#16 of 20 in Carlisle
1,106 reviews
4.4 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
654 reviews
5.9 mi away
Dalston Hall Hotel
Dalston Hall Hotel
#13 of 20 in Carlisle
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Wetheral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Wetheral Hotel

Address: Station Road, Wetheral, Carlisle CA4 8ES, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle > Wetheral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wetheral
Price Range: $98 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crown Wetheral Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the picturesque village of Wetheral close to historic Hadrian's wall and the city of Carlisle, the Crown can be easily reached by road as it is only two miles from either junction 42 or 43 of the M6 motorway network. The hotel offers a wide range of four star accommodation to suit everyone: tasteful rooms, executive rooms, superior rooms suites and cottages. We also offer a selection of pet friendly rooms. Our 51 bedrooms offer en-suite bathrooms, iron and ironing board, flat screen TV and DVD player, trouser press, hospitality trays, radio alarm clock, hairdryer, direct dial telephone, in room safe and complimentary fibre broadband. For added luxury our executive and superior rooms, suites and cottages offer bathrobes, slippers, deluxe toiletries, coffee pod machines, hair straighteners, mineral water and local fudge. Executive rooms also offer balconies overlooking our hotel gardens. Our superior rooms and suites offer a Jacuzzi in the bathroom, smart TV's and fridges. For guests requiring even more space and privacy we can offer the Crown cottages, Inglewood and Willow, two self-contained apartments in the grounds of the hotel offering all the comforts of home. The Crown offers residents extensive leisure facilities with a 12 metre swimming pool, two level fully equipped gym, exercise studio, squash court, Jacuzzi & steam room. There are also two beauty rooms offering a range of treatments using Elemis products and a fully equipped nail studio. Pamper days and Spa breaks are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Crown Wetheral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Wetheral Carlisle
Hotel Crown Wetheral
Crown Wetheral Hotel Carlisle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing