We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wetheral
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2013

the service in this hotel deserves a five star rating the staff are brilliant. the hotel itself is in a pretty village near to the river and close to the rail station in an ideal a rural setting yet close to the m6 and a69. the original hotel has been expanded over the years and really falls into two parts the original parts of the building with thick walls contains the reception and a bar and the rooms here are old but nicely done and yes the floors creak but have probably done so for generations and you get some noise from people standing outside the bar because the windows are original single glazing but this part has real character and it was in here we had our room. the room was nicely decorated and very clean with a nice powerful shower. the more modern block is just what it says a block of rooms overlooking the car park that are much more modern. The leisure centre is much more than you would expect from a three star hotel it has two gyms squash courts and a really nice warm pool that was a delight. despite being fully booked and a wedding in progress the staff coped admirably the reception could not have been better and the evening meal was superb and served with real verve by the staff. the surrounding gardens were well kept and a beautiful view from the big windows in the restaurant. in our opinion this is much more than a 3 star hotel and we will be back

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jewelscrown, General Manager at Crown Wetheral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member

Thank you for your highly praised review, I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay here with us at the hotel and you enjoyed the facilities that we offer.

On behalf of myself and my entire team, it was our pleasure to look after you and your guests and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Crown Hotel inthe near future.

Kind Regards
Paul Hicks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,014)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

776 - 782 of 1,014 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2013

We recently booked a table in the restaurant at this hotel for our parents' Golden Wedding and our niece's 18th Birthday family meal and can not recommend it enough for great service, good food and a wonderful setting. We have been many times to eat in the bar in the past as my parents live locally and it is always a favourite choice to eat at when we are visiting. The menu always includes some good local favourites, great choices for kids, and me, being a fussy vegetarian, always find something on the menu that is both well thought out and great tasting. The setting and local village is wonderful too (although I may be a little biased as I am originally from the area?!?) I have to say that I have never actually stayed at the hotel (as parents down the road) but if the rest of the hotel is anything to go by, then I am sure the rooms will reflect the rest of the hotel. Overall, excellent service (with a special mention for Rachael who looked after us so well), great food and wonderful ambience and gardens with stunning views.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J9JVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jewelscrown, General Manager at Crown Wetheral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member

Thank you for your review. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your recent dinner in our Conservatory Restaurant celebrating your parents golden wedding and your nieces 18th Birthday. Its lovely to read that you enjoyed the great service, food and our wonderful setting.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you next return to visit your parents.

Kind Regards
Paul Hicks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We only had one night here on our journey south but we would go back to stay there in a heartbeat. Found the Crown on Tripadvisor while looking for a convenient stopover near to Carlisle and the M6. This was perfect - the village of Wetheral is really lovely and a nice place to walk around and enjoy. The hotel was first class - the staff were friendly and helpful, the room was lovely and quite recently redecorated and the breakfast very good. We also had a light meal in the evening in the bar which was really very good as well. Would highly recommend the Crown and offer our very best thanks for a lovel stopover.

Room Tip: We had a room in the old original building and it was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jewelscrown, General Manager at Crown Wetheral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member

Thank you for your review, I am happy to read that your enjoyed your recent stay with us at the hotel. I am delighted that your enjoyed your accomodation, breakfast and the light meal that you had in our bar.

On behalf of myself and my team, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Crown Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Paul Hicks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We spent 2 lovely nights here, l wish we could had stayed longer.Of course the fabulous weather helped as did drinking Pimms on the lawn as the sun shone. The room was fine my only gripe being that whilst a mending kit and a shoe shining kit may be useful, what l really needed was a shower cap.
We chose to eat in the bar which we enjoyed both evenings, prices were reasonable. Breakfast was also good. Over all a lovely couple of days.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T4nya1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jewelscrown, General Manager at Crown Wetheral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member

Thank you for your review, I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Im glad the sun shone for you and you enjoyed your Pimms in our sunny garden. Im also happy to read that you enjoyed your meals in our bar.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Crown Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Paul HIcks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night as we visited some friends in Carlisle! The hotel is lovely and clean! The rooms are nicely furnished and comfortable! The staff were friendly and the service was excellent! Our friends joined us as we sat outside in the sunshine enjoying drinks in the beautiful gardens! Most enjoyable stay, we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorkshiregirl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jewelscrown, General Manager at Crown Wetheral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member

Thank you for your highly praised review, I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed your recent stay here with us at the Crown Hotel.

On behalf of myself and my staff it was our pleasure to look after you and your guests and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel inthe near future.

Kind Regards
Paul Hicks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

When I first pulled in to the car park I was a bit disappointed because that brings you to the functional, modern (and frankly ugly) part of the hotel. The older part (including the modern conservatory) faces the other side and is much more appealing and characterful. Views over the surrounding countryside from the gardens / gazebo are fantastic. The grounds are pleasant. Food is very good although a bit overpriced in the restaurant. You'd pay much less for a similar meal in London for example. But service is good although the muzak at dinner was appalling. If they adjusted that slightly it would make for a much more appealing atmosphere as the conservatory is lovely and light and airy.
Rooms are fine. Clean and tidy but nothing special. Rooms by the car park are a bit noisy. There are more characterful rooms on the old side of the building.
Leisure spa was good. All the facilities you'd expect. Well staffed and clean enough. Great location for surrounding countryside.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms on the car park side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dalston-guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jewelscrown, General Manager at Crown Wetheral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member

Thank you for your review, I am happy to read that you enjoyed the facilities that we have here to offer at the Crown . I do apologise that the music was not suitable for you,please if this ever happens again, let us know where we are only to happy to change this for you.

On behalf of myself and my team, it was a pleasure to look after you and your guests and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Crown Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Paul Hicks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Very nice Hotel and excellent food, we stayed on 15th July 2013, room was a suite very spacious and nice bathroom, bed comfortable and no problem to park the car . Check in was professional, food was very good and not expensive good service, polite staff, would love to go back. Well done the Crown keep up the great work!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jewelscrown, General Manager at Crown Wetheral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thank you for your titled review a Hidden Gem. I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your recent stay here with us at the Hotel.

On behalf of myself and my team, it was our pleasure to look after you and your guests, and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crown Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Paul Hicks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wetheral
4.2 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
1,028 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,416 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#1 of 20 in Carlisle
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#9 of 20 in Carlisle
648 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
#16 of 20 in Carlisle
1,086 reviews
5.9 mi away
Dalston Hall Hotel
Dalston Hall Hotel
#14 of 20 in Carlisle
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Wetheral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Wetheral Hotel

Address: Station Road, Wetheral, Carlisle CA4 8ES, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle > Wetheral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wetheral
Price Range: $102 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crown Wetheral Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the picturesque village of Wetheral close to historic Hadrian's wall and the city of Carlisle, the Crown can be easily reached by road as it is only two miles from either junction 42 or 43 of the M6 motorway network. The hotel offers a wide range of four star accommodation to suit everyone: tasteful rooms, executive rooms, superior rooms suites and cottages. We also offer a selection of pet friendly rooms. Our 51 bedrooms offer en-suite bathrooms, iron and ironing board, flat screen TV and DVD player, trouser press, hospitality trays, radio alarm clock, hairdryer, direct dial telephone, in room safe and complimentary fibre broadband. For added luxury our executive and superior rooms, suites and cottages offer bathrobes, slippers, deluxe toiletries, coffee pod machines, hair straighteners, mineral water and local fudge. Executive rooms also offer balconies overlooking our hotel gardens. Our superior rooms and suites offer a Jacuzzi in the bathroom, smart TV's and fridges. For guests requiring even more space and privacy we can offer the Crown cottages, Inglewood and Willow, two self-contained apartments in the grounds of the hotel offering all the comforts of home. The Crown offers residents extensive leisure facilities with a 12 metre swimming pool, two level fully equipped gym, exercise studio, squash court, Jacuzzi & steam room. There are also two beauty rooms offering a range of treatments using Elemis products and a fully equipped nail studio. Pamper days and Spa breaks are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Crown Wetheral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Wetheral Carlisle
Hotel Crown Wetheral
Crown Wetheral Hotel Carlisle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing