We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warwickholme Suite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wetheral
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Warwickholme Suite”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We have visited this hotel on several occasions we thought we would celebrate our first anniversary here,(we stayed in the Edenholme Suite when we were married which is really lovely). This is our first stay in this room, the room itself is very nice and comfortable however the noise from the room above echos throughout the room from the floorboards above, we wont be booking this room again and would not recommend it. We have stayed in other rooms and never experienced anything like this.

The food and lesuire facilities are really nice and service is always very good. Just be careful what room you book.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatherineJ64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jewelscrown, General Manager at Crown Wetheral Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoy your stay here with us. Thank you for your comments regarding the floor boards, I will have my maintenace department look into this.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Crown Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Paul Hicks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    604
    252
    82
    30
    11
See reviews for
193
417
25
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We met up at the Crown Hotel, Wetheral, from various parts of the UK to exchange Christmas presents and catch up with the family. There were 10 adults and 3 children in our party, all with various priorties for a weekend away. We were all very happy with the first class service, the staff made sure that our time together was relaxed and that we had everything we needed. We had a seperate area of the restaurant which was great as we had 2 young children who were not restricted in their wanderings! My husband and I had booked a new disabled room which had an excellent wet room with everything necessary for someone with limited mobility. The only downside was that the room was right next to the Function Room on the ground floor and both nights there were Christmas parties going on until after 1am in the morning. We had been pre warned there would be noise but we assumed this would be from people leaving in the car park, not from the music in the function room.
However, this was the only downside to the hotel. Food, both in the bar and in the restaurant was good and the deal for dinner, bed and breakfast was excellent. Wetherall is a lovely Cumbrian village with plenty of walks in the near vicinity. The Leisure Club, including a gym and squash court was well-run, clean and the staff were very helpful. Our overall impression was that the hotel is well-managed and a relaxing treat within easy reach of the Lakes and the Eden Valley.

Room Tip: Steer clear of ground floor rooms in the newer part of the hotel because of noise from the Function...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RydalDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jewelscrown, General Manager at Crown Wetheral Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I was delighted to read that your entire party enjoyed their Pre christmas gathering. I have passed your comments onto our head Chef regarding your enjoyment of the food.

I do apologise about the noise. Throughout the year we do host functions in the hotel and there are some rooms that are affected by function noise. We do advise all guests of this and Im sorry if this was not clearly explained to you on booking.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Crown Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Paul Hicks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wetheral
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2012

The Crown Hotel, Wetheral was the venue for my wedding on the 9th November 2012 and I just wanted to compliment the hotel and their staff for making this day perfect for myself, my new wife and family and friends who celebrated our special day with us. The hotel itself is clean and immaculate and the grounds are perfect for wedding pictures, the staff were friendly and courteous and could not do enough for us nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in The Honeymoon Suite which was well presented and breakfast the next morning was excellent, thank you Mr Hicks and Staff for a fantastic day and great memories

Room Tip: On our honeymoon we stopped at a 5 star hotel which did not come anywhere near close to the value an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunriseblinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jewelscrown, General Manager at Crown Wetheral Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review. On behalf of myself and my entire team it was our pleasure to look after yourself, your wife and all your guests at your wedding celebration.

I,m glad the day went exactly as you had planned, and you were all happy. We would like to wish you all the best for a happy life together.

Kind Regards
Paul Hicks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Me, my wife and 5 year old daughter stayed here in October for one night before I ran the Carlisle Half Marathon on the Sunday. The hotel is in a lovely village just outside Carlisle. The family room we booked was very nice, had a nice bed for us and a nice single for my daughter, and was a good size; it overlooked the railway but we heard maybe 2 trains all the time we were there so not noticeable. We went down for evening meal on the Saturday, hadn't booked anywhere, tried to get in the restaurant but was fully booked, but they went into the adjoining bar to request a table and managed to find the last table for us, which was a nice tough. The food was exceptional and the pub was lovely, the beer looked fab, even though I didn't have any. We used the pool on Saturday and Sunday, my daughter loved it, and was very quiet.
We asked if we could have a late check out after my run on Sunday, which they kindly extended to 1pm so I could return and have a shower. We then has sunday lunch in the bar, which was again a superb meal.
All in all a perfect stay, price was very reasonable for the size of the room and facilities, highly recommended for a stay in Carlisle, which is 10 mins away in the car

Room Tip: Overlooking the railway is a quiet side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spuddywag23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jewelscrown, General Manager at Crown Wetheral Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for your rewarding review. Im glad you enjoyed your stay here with us at The Crown Hotel. On behalf of myself and my entire team, it was our pleasure to look after youself and your guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Crown Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Paul Hicks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
827 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 381 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Here we find a lovely old hotel building plus many more rooms in a modern wing situated in a quiet village. The room, with a view over the garden, was spacious, comfortable and well equipped. The reception area is pleasant and welcoming. The general layout of the hotel is somewhat confusing and it is a bit of a 'rabbit warren'. I would advise checking out your exit in case of emergency.

Room Tip: Anyone with any mobility issues would I feel be advised to ensure that they get a ground floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betula103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jewelscrown, General Manager at Crown Wetheral Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I am delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Crown Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Paul Hicks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Just got back from two days stay, mr hicks want to compliment your hotel and staff, lyn an danielle so friendly n helpful on reception, lyn asking if we would like hand with our cases? didnt need help but touches like that stand out! the bar lots of locals in but everyone friendly n welcoming, our little girl sat o rocking chairs n people friendly smiling at her! our girl had fresh pizza in there, was lovely, girl who seves in there sat nights lovely brown hair didnt get her name, breakfast in rest very nice, girls in there sun couldnt do enough, daughter wasnt feeling well, my breakfast put on a tray no problem n then toast n cereal put on tray for my daughter, the girl in bar sat really helpful, hubby ordered pasta meal for daughter was watching match n ready quick, do you want someone to take it up for you? them touches again! our room.spacious and spotless even maids really friendly always spoke, daughter loved the bunkbed and getting colouring pack n lolly left on bed, was dead chuffed! Only thing gave the room not full marks, bathroom spotless an modern but shower had no power an really slow but otherwise couldnt fault a thing! booked to come back beginning of february, what a gem of a hotel, mr hicks we staued in four star hotels and they not a patch on your hotel or first class staff, forgot to give health club staff a mention too, daughter loved the splash pool an big pool not busy, everything gleaming! thanks to all the staff for lovely stay, cant wait to come bk, room service food was lovely too! just wish been staying longer! be back in february! lisa, stephen and steffi foster! newcastle upon tyne xxx

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank labs9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jewelscrown, General Manager at Crown Wetheral Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you , I was delighted to read your wonderful review. On behalf of myself and my entire team, it was our pleasure to look after yourself and your family. I was sorry to hear that your little girl was not well, but from reading the review you still got to sample everything that we offer here in the hotel and you all still seemed to be able to enjoy yourselves.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Crown Hotel in February

Kind Regards
Paul Hicks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We have just enjoyed a wonderful overnight stay at The Crown as part of my daughter's wedding celebrations.We could not fault the way in which Paul Hicks and his team organised the function. It was both first-rate and professional in the way everything was co-ordinated. The rooms were spacious and comfortably furnished,the staff friendly and very efficient,the food wholesome, unpretentious and beautifullly presented.Paul Hicks made sure everything flowed smoothly
which allowed everyone to relax and enjoy a day we will always remember.
Congratulations to a great team.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dot T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jewelscrown, General Manager at Crown Wetheral Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time, to write a wonderful review.

On behalf of myself and my entire team it was our pleasure to look after all your guests at your daughters wedding. I am delighted that you enjoyed all services we offer here at the Crown Hotel when we hosting a wedding. I have passed your comments onto my entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Crown Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Paul Hicks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wetheral
4.2 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
971 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,375 reviews
4.4 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#3 of 20 in Carlisle
223 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
#17 of 20 in Carlisle
1,013 reviews
5.9 mi away
Dalston Hall Hotel
Dalston Hall Hotel
#14 of 20 in Carlisle
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Wetheral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Wetheral Hotel

Property: Crown Wetheral Hotel
Address: Station Road, Wetheral, Carlisle CA4 8ES, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle > Wetheral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wetheral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crown Wetheral Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the picturesque village of Wetheral close to historic Hadrian's wall and the city of Carlisle, the Crown can be easily reached by road as it is only two miles from either junction 42 or 43 of the M6 motorway network. The hotel offers a wide range of four star accommodation to suit everyone: tasteful rooms, executive rooms, superior rooms suites and cottages. We also offer a selection of pet friendly rooms. Our 51 bedrooms offer en-suite bathrooms, iron and ironing board, flat screen TV and DVD player, trouser press, hospitality trays, radio alarm clock, hairdryer, direct dial telephone, in room safe and complimentary fibre broadband. For added luxury our executive and superior rooms, suites and cottages offer bathrobes, slippers, deluxe toiletries, coffee pod machines, hair straighteners, mineral water and local fudge. Executive rooms also offer balconies overlooking our hotel gardens. Our superior rooms and suites offer a Jacuzzi in the bathroom, smart TV's and fridges. For guests requiring even more space and privacy we can offer the Crown cottages, Inglewood and Willow, two self-contained apartments in the grounds of the hotel offering all the comforts of home. The Crown offers residents extensive leisure facilities with a 12 metre swimming pool, two level fully equipped gym, exercise studio, squash court, Jacuzzi & steam room. There are also two beauty rooms offering a range of treatments using Elemis products and a fully equipped nail studio. Pamper days and Spa breaks are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Crown Wetheral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Wetheral Carlisle
Hotel Crown Wetheral
Crown Wetheral Hotel Carlisle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing