We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tapas/Small Bites”

The Beach Club at Calabash
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Placed on the white powdery sands of L'anse Aux Epines Beach, The Beach Club at the Calabash offers the perfect lunchtime setting. British chef Mark Banthorpe fell in love with the island's flavours, and this love lead him to create an exciting menu focused on Grenada's natural ingredients and spices. Lunch is served between 12 noon - 3pm and "tapas" bites and cocktails available from 10.30am - 6.30pm everyday.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Tapas/Small Bites”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We went for a late lunch and we're not disappointed. We shared several appetizers and while the portions seemed small we were satisfied. The small plates were well thought out and very tasty. Our 6 yo daughter loved it too. A definite must when visiting Grenada

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    33
    8
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“somewhat disappointing”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I came to this restaurant with high expectations, in part because of the reviews, and in part because the menu on the website was promising. The location is very pleasant indeed (but so are many locations in Grenada); the service was friendly. But the tapas were rather disappointing: the shrimp in the garlic shrimps for instance very strong and the ginger chili chicken (heavy Asian influence) not in any way special. Local ingredients are scarcily used, which is sorry. It's expensive, compared to most other restaurants in Grenada. Maybe just a bad day. We may try again another visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adele G, Owner at The Beach Club at Calabash, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear adgent,

Thank you for taking the write a review of Bash Restaurant.

I'm so pleased that you enjoyed most of your experience, but we're very sorry to hear you were disappointed by the tapas dishes that you tried.

A lot of effort has gone into the menu design to ensure that we use local produce, and largely our diners have had wonderful experiences at Bash Restaurant.

Once again, please accept our sincere apologies and we hope to see you at Bash Restaurant again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom Downs, Surrey, England
Level Contributor
96 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Fantastic tapas menu daily, just great for light bites - very imaginative food. Chef Mark B is very welcoming.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank juliamould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Have a Bash”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Other reviews (bar one oddity) are all rightly complimentary. I would only add that it is one of the essential visiting spots on the island, it is the only time I have eaten Grouper which was good and we did have a pleasant chat with Mark, the chef / owner.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RichardAHWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Superb! Great location! Sunday barbeque, live music!”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Every day the food has been superb! We love the tapas idea, you can eat when you want and how much! Sunday lunch is our favourite! Barbecue, lobster and Jerk Chicken! And live music!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank RosieNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beach Club at Calabash also viewed

St. George's, Saint George Parish
 
St. George's, Saint George Parish
St. George's, Saint George Parish
 

Been to The Beach Club at Calabash? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing