We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“More magnificent than it looks on the web site”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Lance aux Epines, Saint George Parish, Grenada

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
aepmorris
Mousehole
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“More magnificent than it looks on the web site”
Reviewed January 23, 2011 for a stay in November 2010
2
people found this review helpful

Rolling Surf was more magnificent in real life than it looks on the web site slide show.

The villa is only a short drive from the airport and shielded from the road by a white panel fence and a sliding gate leading onto the carport forecourt.

When we arrived and looked down the stairs leading to the entrance, the double front doors were open in welcome and we could see through them across the vast living area and beyond, through the wide open terrace doors, the infinity pool and, beyond again, to the tranquil sight of the moored yachts swaying gently in Prickly Bay.

Once down the steps and inside, we were greeted by Cherry=Ann with welcome drinks and a cheery smile. Cherry-Ann looks after the house and the guests and their laundry will that same cheery smile.

The house is truly magnificent with the double doors in two of its double bedrooms opening straight onto the pool tarrace and the pool. and onto the view of the bay beyond.
The other (master) bedroom is on the other side of the main living area and has its own large and private covered terrace.

Our days were mostly spent swimmong and lazing the time away and the early evenings pent with our elbowns on the edge of the infinity pool, sipping our drinks and looking over the bay as we gossiped - a group of middle aged couples, friends of many years, enjoying peace and tranquility together but with plenty of room to be out of each other's way when needed.

For those who wanted to read, there were plenty of books and places to read them quietly. For those who wanted to exercise, there is adequate equipment in the downstairs TV room and for those of us who had to remain in touch there is a WiFi conection freely available. For those of us who wanted to swim in the sea which laps the walls of the villa, a ladder at the end of the lower terrace took us easily into the warm water with hardly a gasp and left us to swim safely out into the bay as far as we wanted to go.

Not only is the villa superbly placed, it is also conveniently placed. The Red Crab restaurant and the Calabash Hotel are a few minutes walk (or swim in the case of the Calabash Hotel) away, as is the local bottle shop. We also much enjoyed our visits to the Boatyard, again just five minutes walk beyond the villa, for its inexpensive lunches its outdoor bar and Friday night music'

A liitle further afield, we went to the elegant Laluna Resort for pre-dinner cocktails and to La Sagesse with its rustc bar and restaurant for a day's swimming on the unspoilt beach and to other resort restaurants for lunch or dinner - on the days we did not cook and eat at the villa. If we did not want to drive, then Terry with his immaculate people carrier was able to take us and collect us by arrangement.

There are, of course, many other good and interesting places to visit or to eat all over the island.

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The viilla was perfect for us - so enjoy yourselves when you get there - and if you really want to spoil yourselves, arrange for Dion to come to the villa and give you a massage, as form of gentle as you want.

Date of stay: November 2010
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caeseren
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The stuff of dreams !”
Reviewed January 10, 2011 for a stay in November 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Rolling Surf is everything one would expect from a film set. Its location, immediately on the beach with views of the Caribbean from every window (including the toilet!) make it the best villa in the area, and , I suspect, In Grenada. We certainly saw nothing to surpass it..
Every thought has been given to its luxurious furnishings. All equipment is of the highest specifications. The bedrooms are cool and luxurious, each with a large airy bathroom. We spent most evenings on the terrace, enjoying fabulous sunsets and rum punches. The location is peaceful and quiet and your privacy is safeguarded . No one can walk past. We waved to the odd curious kyaker, but found the villa quiet and tranquil.
The pool area is spacious and furnished with quality sun loungers. There is also a handy outdoor bar and BBQ area. We spent hours just leaning on the wall off the fabulous infinity pool watching the activity on the turquoise waters of this beautiful bay. Sometimes we swam over to Gary Rhodes' Calabash Restaurant, no more than 200 metres away. (You can walk if you wish!)
Part of Rolling Surf's charm is its staff. Chrrie-Ann made us welcome and was eager to be of service, though never intrusive. Ask her to make you some fish cakes . She will also arrange for a delivery of freshly cooked lobster. Garbo,the gardner,. lit our day with his smile.
One of the advantages of the villa's position is the number of quality restaurants within walking distance. The Boat Yard is only a short walk away and that joint jumps on a Saturday night.. If Grenada is new to you, it is a beautiful island with plenty to see and do; and plenty of lovely places to do absolutely nothing. Grenadians are friendly, and on our many nocturnal walks back and forth varous restaurants we never once felt nervous or threatened. Best if all, we had Rolling Surf to return to!

Date of stay: November 2010
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes England
Reviewed October 15, 2010 for a stay in April 2010

Date of stay: April 2010
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
marazion cornwall
Reviewed October 14, 2010 for a stay in May 2009

Date of stay: May 2009
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 65+
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TTClub
Camborne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A 5 Star Experience”
Reviewed October 13, 2010 for a stay in November 2009
1
person found this review helpful

The villa is beautifully designed, finished and appointed' whilst the bedrooms and ensuites where exceptional. Everything about the Villa was first class. Of course the pool side terrace was one of our favourite places what a spot to enjoy a meal. One could lie in bed at night and hear the gentle lapping of the waves. We all enjoyed the magnificent pool. The lay of the villa leant itself to a very relaxing and special holiday. You will not be disappointed.

Date of stay: November 2009
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewed October 6, 2010 for a stay in November 2009

Date of stay: November 2009
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
OH USA
Reviewed October 4, 2010 for a stay in January 2010

Date of stay: January 2010
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 65+
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing