We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveler rating
145
21
3
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
145
21
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslae cottagessand barhummingbird cottageprickly bay marinaswallow cottageliving areahome away from homefull kitchenfront officegrand anseself cateringrum punchefficient air conditioningbedroom apartmentlocal disheshired a carhousekeeper
Filter
Updating list...
144 - 149 of 171 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2009

My husband and I got married on the grounds of the cottages in July, 2008, and I couldn't have asked for a more ideal setting for our wedding! The ceremony was held on the beach by the water, with the Lance Aux Epines bay as a backdrop. The gardens and grounds are large, and there was plenty of room for our 120 guests to mingle, dance and dine. We set up tents, a steel band, tables and seating and a dance floor, and there was still lots of space for the natural beauty of the gardens and beach to shine through.

The owner, Tim, and his staff were exceedingly gracious and accommodating throughout the planning process of the wedding and beyond. We had about 35 of our guests staying in the cottages for the week surrounding the wedding, and they had nothing but wonderful things to say about the colourful cottages, the friendly staff and the location of the cottages directly on the beach. Many of us rented vehicles to get around the island, and the cottages provided a great base for all of our adventures, and a cozy, private escape to return to at the end of each day.

I can't recommend the Lance Aux Epines Cottages enough! I recommend them to everyone I know who is travelling to Grenada on holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank iriebride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2009

The service was really great....the maid service was excellent.

The 2 bedroom cottage is fully screened so is mosquito proof. I think that most of the cottages are screened. The bedrooms are air-conditioned with adequate cupboard space. The beds were comfortable.

The kitchen was very well equipped and when we wanted something extra, it was not a problem. In fact, we had a dinner party one night as we know several people on the island and we were provided with extra cooking pots, chairs, an extra dining table etc at no extra charge.....they could not have been more helpful to us.

The bathroom was small but adequate and clean.

The living and siting area were comfortable, very roomy and attractively decorated. A nice touch was the plastic container at the front door to wash off one's feet rather than track sand inside.

There is a lovely hammock for each cottage and a picnic style table also for each cottage. The is a shared bar-be-que on the spectacular grounds. There is also an outside shower on the grounds for rinsing off the salt and sand.

The location is not remote yet gives the impression of being remote. There are restaurants within walking distance and a night club.

The beach is lovely but the sea is a bit hit and miss. Can be crystal clear at times and at other can be a bit sedimenty. However, I just swam out beyond that area and it was lovely. The scenery is stunning.

The games room is a great place to meet other visitors and it is well equipped....a really nice touch.

This would be a great place for a group of people to all stay in one place - family reunion, wedding, etc. Great for children as the grounds are large.

Would always recommend hiring a car to see the island. There are many lovely waterfalls, beaches, restaurants etc. Garfields bar on Grand Anse beach is a must especially for people who like to party.

Would I return - no - only because we now own our own holiday house on the island! Yes, we loved it that much! Otherwise, a definite yes.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SunSand34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2009

I was in Grenada for a 2 week family holiday in December 2008. We had 1 week at The Rex Grenadian and 1 at Lance Aux Epines Cottages. The Rex would be our much preferred choice and that's not just because it was a family holiday.
The downside to LAX Cottages is the location and beach. Although it is in the more up-market part of the Island (actually it's more Chav than sophistication) it is not a particularly attractive area. The beach is dissapointing and swimming very poor. The bay is full of (unused) yachts and the water is murky and full of sediment - definately no snorkelling here. Some of the photo's I have seen published of the beach deserve a creative award! Don't be fooled - this is not an idillic tropical cove. The grounds of the cottages are nice and well kept and the games room is well equipped - however they do insist that children are accompanied by parents - which is sort of defeating the object. Internally the rooms are fine, but again I do feel the price is not justified. One niggle was on the day of departure - Christmas Day, our flight was later in the afternoon. We asked if we could stay another hour as no one was coming in that day and it wasn't as if it would even be cleaned for a couple of days as staff were on holiday. The response was that we could if we paid another $40 odd. We declined - more out of principal. 5 minutes prior to the due time to vacate the premesis the secutity guard arrived to inform us that we needed to be out in 5 minutes. We had just spent the best part of $2500 with them! I know business is tough but you do need to reward customers and entice them back again. We will be going back to Grenada next year but staying at the Rex. Here the accomodation although a bit worn around the edges is very clean - the staff exceptionally helpful and friendly and the beach and water sublime.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lawrence L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laecottages, Manager/Owner at Lance Aux Epines Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2009

TripAdvisor has become an invaluable tool for the increasingly independent traveller. In today's challenging economic climate a negative comment such as this can present a problem for any resort and those that are blatantly untrue are particularly unpleasant. Though I regret that this guest found his/her stay at Lance Aux Epines (LAE) Cottages disappointing, there are some comments that warrant a response:

Charges - this guest actually stayed in one of LAE Cottages most expensive units for 9 nights during high-season at a cost of $2,500. Their stay at Rex Grenadian was actually 5 nights, low-season, which would have cost a lot less, particularly if the whole family (2 adults and 3 children) stayed in one room.

Check-out - westl0nd0n states that they were not allowed to check-out 1 hour later. This is untrue. Their flight was not departing until 6:10 pm and their request was for a late check-out. This offered facility allows full use of the cottage until as late as 5:00 pm at a cost of $40. They chose not to pay this and our policy asks for a 12:00 noon check-out time. After this time guests are welcome to use our air-conditioned TV lounge/Game room free of charge. For obvious safety reasons we do ask that an adult accompany children to the TV lounge/Game room.

Many of our guests return and agree that our service, location and peaceful beach make LAE Cottages very special. Other comments online demonstrate the most pleasant relationship we have with visitors who enjoy LAE Cottages. The statement that photos of the beach "deserve a creative award" is absurd. None of the photos in our brochure or website have ever been altered or retouched and we are careful not to provide any misleading information.

Tim Brathwaite, Manager/Owner
Lance Aux Epines Cottages

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2008

This is our second year at Lance Aux Epines Cottages. Last year, we stayed in a one bedroom cottage (Swallow); this year my son came with us so we experienced nine nights in a two bedroom cottage (Gaulin).

Just being repeat customers should give you an idea about LAE. (I understand they have repeat guests that come yearly and have for years!) It is a very nice, home like environment to spend your vacation. The LAE beach is beautiful, we spent some time there each day doing absolutely nothing on the beach - just what we needed!

The cottages have everything you will need to enjoy during your stay. We had ordered a food basket for our arrival consisting of water, beer, eggs, bread, tea, coffee, milk, cereal, fruit, etc. That made it especially nice when you arrive late and cannot get to a store to provision your cottage. The kitchen is well equipped, and we probably cooked meals at "home" about half of the time. There is a BBQ unit for the cottages to share - we were the only ones who used it however. (June is low season, so there were only a couple other people there.) The cottage bedrooms are air conditioned - which is wonderful in the tropics - it worked very well and we actually got cold!

Ann was our housekeeper this year - she did a marvelous job of keeping things tidy and making sure we had what we needed. She also put fresh flowers in our cottage, and kept them looking beautiful. She did laundry for us once during our stay - very prompt and it was back the very same day (we were surprised). Our cottage also had a little back porch with a clothesline, which came in handy for drying out beach towels and swimsuits. The housekeepers also can cook a meal for you - we (as of yet) have not taken advantage of that service. Maybe next time...

The property does have a game room complete with ping pong, pool, foozball, TV, and computer to use. It is air conditioned, so after dinner we often would go into the game room for a game of pool, or to check on e-mail. It is a nice touch. We also brought several card games with us that we learned to play and did so each evening. The property has a variety of books (both in the game room and in your cottage) you could read. I brought several books from home, and completed them while there (adding them to the LAE collection).

We love LAE Cottages, and will absolutely be back in the future. I highly recommend them as a self-catering beach cottage experience. Great vacation!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SunWanted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2008

Stayed at Lance Aux Epines for 9 days in the Wren apartment with hubby and my sister and brother in-law stayed next door at the Ramier apartment. Both were identical. Very spacious and comfortable. Full kitchen, dining, livingroom, bedroom and large bath. They were more than adequate. Only the bedroom had actual windows (glass) and airconditioning so at night we would keep the air on low just to take out some humidity. The rest of the apartment had windows but no glass - just curtains. Being from Canada it took me abit to wrap my head around the fact that the window had no glass and you could not close them. Turns out we did not need a window that closed because the weather was spectacular! It ranged around 85 - 90 degrees, the occasional cloud and rain once through the night. The grounds are beautifully maintained with a bounty of colour and variety. The groundskeeper, Patrick, was especially nice as he was just a young fellow but always said hi and even told me about an upcoming concert that was being held in St. Georges that was worth checking out. The manager, Tim, was very approachable and made every effort to make our stay perfect. Lance Aux Epines is located on Prickly Bay which is a popular anchorage for cruisers. Sitting on the beach looking out to all the sailboats anchored out abit was postcard pretty. The beach, however, is not what I would call a great swimming beach as there is abit of seaweed. Somedays more than others. The beach and sand is okay it is just that you cannot go out very far without running into the seaweed. The sand itself is dark with streaks of black sand running through it. On weekends a lot of locals come and enjoy the beach as they are all public.
We made several trips to the Prickly Bay Marina just down the road either to use the mini mart or for happy hour. On Friday nights they have entertainment and the pizza is very good. One time we had to wait a full hour for our pizza (they were not busy at all) and another time it took abour 25 min. Very inconsistant service.

We rented a car 3 of the 9 days to travel about and check out some other beaches. Our group of four are currently on a search for the "perfect beach". ( We may have found it this trip but unfortunatly it is not in Grenada) (read on). Magazine Beach was nice, uncrowded but just slightly rough. Mourne Rouge beach was beautiful. The water was calm, a gorgeous shade of blue and also uncrowded. I took several pictures of this beach and they are all framedable. The beach really is nice. We went on to Grand Anse beach and this too was very nice. Lovely shades of blue and very swimmable. This beach too was uncrowded. I guess it helps if you travel in off season if you don't like crowds. We then travelled across the island to Bathway Beach which was okay. Although it is much rougher on the east side of the island the waves were broke by a natural rock barrier which made it very swimmable. We also visited La Sagesse beach which was very nice. It was really wide, calm and very uncrowded. Not a pretty blue colour though. It is a kind of remote beach with one resort situated on it with only about 12 rooms. If you want a private retreat this place may be for you. From there we went on to Levera beach which we didn't care for too much but it had a lovely view of Sugarloaf Island. The drive itself up and over the island is hairaising with a very mountainous terrain, hairpin curves and cliffs that drop down. It was definitley a "white knuckle" drive. I must say that all the roads were in excellent condition with very new pavement and great drainage systems to the side of the roads to keep up with their onslaught of rain water. We left Lance Aux Epines after 9 days to travel to Carriacou and then on to Union Island, Palm Island, Mayreau and the Tobaogo Cays. ( Perfect beach is possibly found here). Check out my review of The Grandview Hotel in Carriacou and Kings Landing Inn on Union Island. After our 4 day trip to these other islands we returned to Lance Aux Epines for our last day before we flew home to Canada. Returning back to our Wren apartment after a few days was quite honestly like returning home. It felt sooo good to come back to Lance Aux Epines. With that feeling we decided that we must make it a priority to return to this lovely property in the future!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank traveljunkie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews