We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (175)
Filter reviews
175 results
Traveler rating
149
21
3
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
149
21
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lae cottages sand bar games room hummingbird cottage prickly bay marina swallow cottage living area home away from home coconut water hobie cat rum punch grand anse self catering unpretentious place lovely small bar bedroom apartment four nights
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 175 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Caribbean travelers who like a beachside property where they can make some of their own meals will be happy at Lance aux Epines Cottages. The kitchens are well-stocked with equipment (I always bring my own, sharp knives) and it's just a short drive to the IGA in the Spiceland Mall, where you can supplement your finds from the market. The beach is small, compared to the large Grand Anse beach, but pretty, quiet, and comfortable—we couldn't tear ourselves away to experience the other beaches. It's just a few minutes walk down the beach to the Calabash Hotel, and its super beachside bar/café and superior restaurant. We stayed in one cottage and two apartments, working around a Grenadine sail, and I particularly recommend the cottages because they are open (albeit screened) on the beach side and very pleasant to sit in 24/7. In addition, there are plenty of beach chairs, picnic tables, and hammocks for sitting outside. The staff is efficient and cheerful, and ready to help when needed. For us, that meant arranging transport to restaurants and sights. Will definitely return.

Room tip: Look at the map of the property and choose one of the five cottages closest to the beach, farthest from the road—not because there is any road noise, but just to enjoy the water noise.
Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissPo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meghan T, Manager at Lance Aux Epines Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2016

Greetings,

Wow, thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are particularly proud of our staff so thanks for noticing.

There are several new places to eat in Lande Aux Epines, just a short walk from the Cottages. They're worth checking out if you want a quick bite to eat. We also have some new stand up paddle boards to go along with our kayaks, for those who enjoy getting out onto the water. In the future, there will be someone available to take guests who don't sail out on the Hobie Cat, for a cruise around the bay.

We hope to see you again soon,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

My friend and I truly enjoyed Lance aux Epines cottages. Tim and the staff were welcoming. David was a very reliable driver who took us to restaurants, on a tour of the island, and to and from the airport. We enjoyed several days' relaxation on their beach and the ability to cook some of our own meals which cut down on the cost of our vacation and gave us some welcome flexibility. Our final day, Sunday the 11th, they had a pig roast on the beach rather than the usual BBQ. It was fun to see so many local people mingling with tourists, others staying at the cottages and some who came in from boats in the harbor. We will most likely return.

Room tip: If you have an option avoid one of the downstairs apartments. We had to stay in one the last night because others were arriving to stay in our cottage. You can hear people overhead in the 2d floor apt, and we had "trompers" running around up there to all hours for some reason.
Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NYscholar2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

This is a good place for relaxing and soaking up the sun. Not much else to do other than a barbeque and bar on Sunday afternoons. Oh and there is a very nice tv room that has tea/coffee facilities table football, pool and ping pong.

There are cottages and a few apartments.We had a cottage near the beach with a large kitchen/dining/living room and air conditioned bedroom. The living area was not air conditioned as it had fly mesh over glassless window openings that also had (decorative) bars for security The effect was to somewhat diminish the view over the bay from inside. This is a small gripe as the cottage had it's own picnic table, hammock and sun loungers outside and to be honest the bitey things came out at dusk so it wasn't really practical to sit outside in the evenings (the wet season had extended apparently meaning the mozzies were still around) so the fly mesh was useful. The room was quite warm however as the sun sets through the front windows and the ceiling fan could not really cope with this.

The kitchen was very well equipped for self catering which is useful as there are limited eating options walkable. If you don't want to cook your housekeeper will cook a meal, given notice, for a reasonable price.

The cottages were on a lovely (if narrow) sandy beach in a "posh" area surrounded by big houses with yachts moored in the bay. The beach was used by locals for swimming and a lot of dog walking (If you are dog phobic you may wish to stay elsewhere) but did not get crowded. There were kayaks and a small catamaran available for use of the cottages. We tended to pull our sun loungers under the trees next to the beach for shade and then just relax and soak up the atmosphere - taking the occasional dip to cool off.

The staff were exceptional, friendly and helpful. Our housekeeper kept the cottage spotless and surprised us one day with a wonderful fruit salad made in part from the fruit supplied as part of the food hamper that comes with the cottage. Gardening staff kept the extensive grounds immaculate and the reception staff were extremely helpful and nothing seemed too much trouble. Our one disappointment was that our cottage was in front of the apartments and next to a gazebo and surrounded by paths. We felt slightly overlooked and had to keep bedroom curtains drawn etc. The cottage adjoining ours was empty and offered more privacy. We did enquire about a swap but this was not possible because of cottage specific future bookings. Otherwise I think we would have been accommodated. Anyway a case of our personal preference rather than a fault of the resort.

Nearest bar was at the yacht marina about 5-10 mins walk. They had quiz nights and bingo etc and sold great pizzas but not particularly Grenadian in feel. Otherwise only 2 restaurants really walkable including the apparently very expensive Gary Rhodes restaurant and the Red Crab - we did not try either. If you want to go further afield it's taxis, restaurant pick ups or a vehicle. We had a 4x4 and found driving no problem if you take it easy and keep an eye out for the odd pot hole. A small supermarket with the essentials was next to the marina bar but a much larger one at the Spiceland Mall at Grand Anse Beach 5-10 mins in a car.

All in all an enjoyable and relaxing week in a quiet and friendly resort - we didn't want to leave

Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank redwing58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meghan T, Manager at Lance Aux Epines Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2016

Greetings!

Thank you so much for your positive review. :) We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and were able to share this valuable info to other travelers.

Many of our visitors enjoy relaxing on our semi-private beach, away from some of the main tourist hot spots. If you return, let us know if you find the open front room warm again. The wind level changes depending on the time of the year. We have standing fans at the ready that can be brought to your cottage. Paired with the ceiling fan these can help to move the air around if it feels rather still.

There are several new places to eat in Lance Aux Epines now: The Junction Bar & Grill and The West Indies Beer Company (located next to each other on the main road) and are a very short walk from the cottages. Fresh fruit can be purchased during the week, in the afternoons, from a fruit vendor, just outside of the brewery. They're all worth checking out! Especially the Brewery if one has a penchant for fine blends of ale and pub food.

Thank you again for visiting. Hope to see you again in the not too distant future. :)

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

My wife and I plus 11 friends have just come back from staying at LAE cottages.Everything was
just perfect.Starting with accomadation,location and Tim and his wonderfull staff.
Grenada is a beautiful unspoilt island and is a must you havent been and should you go a stay
at LAE cottages is a must.Thanks again for a great holiday.

Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Coff253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We came as a group of friends staying in several of the cottages and found everything about the setup to be perfect. The grounds are spacious and well kept, the beach feels like it's private and the cottages are well equipped and spotless. There are some restaurants and bars within walking distance and others a short taxi ride or car hire drive away. There are other beaches close by as well, along with marinas and the capital St George's.

The cottages have spacious dining and lounge areas, wifi, air conditioning in the bedrooms and everything from cooler boxes to coffee machines to blenders in the kitchen area.

Everyone there made us feel extremely welcome and looked after every ask, whether it be cleaning, washing, cooking, transport or help with setting up the Hobie cat or kayaks for use in the bay.

So if you want self catering, it's there. If you don't, there's plenty of choice.

There's a games/tv room too if required.

All in, perfect sums it up nicely. Thanks Tim!

Date of stay: November 2013
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank dodge440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews