We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lance Aux Epines Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2014

The beach is lovely, the rooms are very clean and have everything you need. The grounds are well kept, and there is always a security patrolmen on the grounds throughout the night.
Our housekeeper, Eva, made the trip, and acted as a cultural adviser of sorts. She also went grocery shopping for us to show/make us a local dish of our choice, and taught us how to make passion fruit juice and how to smash a coconut, etc. We also took out a couple of their kayaks for the day and paddled around the bay.
We rented a car for the week, so can't really comment on taxi fares, but everything is close. We toured the entire island and were easily able to return for supper each evening.
Would return in a heartbeat and absolutely recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pratly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 151 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2014

Caribbean travelers who like a beachside property where they can make some of their own meals will be happy at Lance aux Epines Cottages. The kitchens are well-stocked with equipment (I always bring my own, sharp knives) and it's just a short drive to the IGA in the Spiceland Mall, where you can supplement your finds from the market. The beach is small, compared to the large Grand Anse beach, but pretty, quiet, and comfortable—we couldn't tear ourselves away to experience the other beaches. It's just a few minutes walk down the beach to the Calabash Hotel, and its super beachside bar/café and superior restaurant. We stayed in one cottage and two apartments, working around a Grenadine sail, and I particularly recommend the cottages because they are open (albeit screened) on the beach side and very pleasant to sit in 24/7. In addition, there are plenty of beach chairs, picnic tables, and hammocks for sitting outside. The staff is efficient and cheerful, and ready to help when needed. For us, that meant arranging transport to restaurants and sights. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Look at the map of the property and choose one of the five cottages closest to the beach, farthest f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissPo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meghan T, Manager at Lance Aux Epines Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2016

Greetings,

Wow, thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are particularly proud of our staff so thanks for noticing.

There are several new places to eat in Lande Aux Epines, just a short walk from the Cottages. They're worth checking out if you want a quick bite to eat. We also have some new stand up paddle boards to go along with our kayaks, for those who enjoy getting out onto the water. In the future, there will be someone available to take guests who don't sail out on the Hobie Cat, for a cruise around the bay.

We hope to see you again soon,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

My friend and I truly enjoyed Lance aux Epines cottages. Tim and the staff were welcoming. David was a very reliable driver who took us to restaurants, on a tour of the island, and to and from the airport. We enjoyed several days' relaxation on their beach and the ability to cook some of our own meals which cut down on the cost of our vacation and gave us some welcome flexibility. Our final day, Sunday the 11th, they had a pig roast on the beach rather than the usual BBQ. It was fun to see so many local people mingling with tourists, others staying at the cottages and some who came in from boats in the harbor. We will most likely return.

Room Tip: If you have an option avoid one of the downstairs apartments. We had to stay in one the last night b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NYscholar2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

This is a good place for relaxing and soaking up the sun. Not much else to do other than a barbeque and bar on Sunday afternoons. Oh and there is a very nice tv room that has tea/coffee facilities table football, pool and ping pong.

There are cottages and a few apartments.We had a cottage near the beach with a large kitchen/dining/living room and air conditioned bedroom. The living area was not air conditioned as it had fly mesh over glassless window openings that also had (decorative) bars for security The effect was to somewhat diminish the view over the bay from inside. This is a small gripe as the cottage had it's own picnic table, hammock and sun loungers outside and to be honest the bitey things came out at dusk so it wasn't really practical to sit outside in the evenings (the wet season had extended apparently meaning the mozzies were still around) so the fly mesh was useful. The room was quite warm however as the sun sets through the front windows and the ceiling fan could not really cope with this.

The kitchen was very well equipped for self catering which is useful as there are limited eating options walkable. If you don't want to cook your housekeeper will cook a meal, given notice, for a reasonable price.

The cottages were on a lovely (if narrow) sandy beach in a "posh" area surrounded by big houses with yachts moored in the bay. The beach was used by locals for swimming and a lot of dog walking (If you are dog phobic you may wish to stay elsewhere) but did not get crowded. There were kayaks and a small catamaran available for use of the cottages. We tended to pull our sun loungers under the trees next to the beach for shade and then just relax and soak up the atmosphere - taking the occasional dip to cool off.

The staff were exceptional, friendly and helpful. Our housekeeper kept the cottage spotless and surprised us one day with a wonderful fruit salad made in part from the fruit supplied as part of the food hamper that comes with the cottage. Gardening staff kept the extensive grounds immaculate and the reception staff were extremely helpful and nothing seemed too much trouble. Our one disappointment was that our cottage was in front of the apartments and next to a gazebo and surrounded by paths. We felt slightly overlooked and had to keep bedroom curtains drawn etc. The cottage adjoining ours was empty and offered more privacy. We did enquire about a swap but this was not possible because of cottage specific future bookings. Otherwise I think we would have been accommodated. Anyway a case of our personal preference rather than a fault of the resort.

Nearest bar was at the yacht marina about 5-10 mins walk. They had quiz nights and bingo etc and sold great pizzas but not particularly Grenadian in feel. Otherwise only 2 restaurants really walkable including the apparently very expensive Gary Rhodes restaurant and the Red Crab - we did not try either. If you want to go further afield it's taxis, restaurant pick ups or a vehicle. We had a 4x4 and found driving no problem if you take it easy and keep an eye out for the odd pot hole. A small supermarket with the essentials was next to the marina bar but a much larger one at the Spiceland Mall at Grand Anse Beach 5-10 mins in a car.

All in all an enjoyable and relaxing week in a quiet and friendly resort - we didn't want to leave

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank redwing58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meghan T, Manager at Lance Aux Epines Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2016

Greetings!

Thank you so much for your positive review. :) We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and were able to share this valuable info to other travelers.

Many of our visitors enjoy relaxing on our semi-private beach, away from some of the main tourist hot spots. If you return, let us know if you find the open front room warm again. The wind level changes depending on the time of the year. We have standing fans at the ready that can be brought to your cottage. Paired with the ceiling fan these can help to move the air around if it feels rather still.

There are several new places to eat in Lance Aux Epines now: The Junction Bar & Grill and The West Indies Beer Company (located next to each other on the main road) and are a very short walk from the cottages. Fresh fruit can be purchased during the week, in the afternoons, from a fruit vendor, just outside of the brewery. They're all worth checking out! Especially the Brewery if one has a penchant for fine blends of ale and pub food.

Thank you again for visiting. Hope to see you again in the not too distant future. :)

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

My wife and I plus 11 friends have just come back from staying at LAE cottages.Everything was
just perfect.Starting with accomadation,location and Tim and his wonderfull staff.
Grenada is a beautiful unspoilt island and is a must you havent been and should you go a stay
at LAE cottages is a must.Thanks again for a great holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Coff253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We came as a group of friends staying in several of the cottages and found everything about the setup to be perfect. The grounds are spacious and well kept, the beach feels like it's private and the cottages are well equipped and spotless. There are some restaurants and bars within walking distance and others a short taxi ride or car hire drive away. There are other beaches close by as well, along with marinas and the capital St George's.

The cottages have spacious dining and lounge areas, wifi, air conditioning in the bedrooms and everything from cooler boxes to coffee machines to blenders in the kitchen area.

Everyone there made us feel extremely welcome and looked after every ask, whether it be cleaning, washing, cooking, transport or help with setting up the Hobie cat or kayaks for use in the bay.

So if you want self catering, it's there. If you don't, there's plenty of choice.

There's a games/tv room too if required.

All in, perfect sums it up nicely. Thanks Tim!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank dodge440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We had booked this family holiday for 6 of us after reading lovely review in this website. We knew that Grenada was beautiful and the people so friendly. But what we experiences blew us away.
Sterling customer service from the time of booking, to our eventual departure.

We were picked up at the airport by David, who is such a gentle soul with an engaging smile. We were welcomed by Thaneia, and what really impressed me was the way were were shown around our gorgeous two apartments Wren and Ramier which were linked so it felt like one huge open space. We were made to feel like this was our home away from home. There was also no pressure to fill in paperwork as one has to do when checking in to some hotels.

For my Mum who was recovering from knee surgery, the location of the apartments to the little gazebo was perfect as she could get there with her walker, on her own, sit and relax, looking out to the sea. She even managed to get into the water with our assistance.

The kitchen was fully equipped and we loved the fact that on arrival there was a jug of water already chilled and trays filled with ice cubes. We did most of our cooking but next time we will have some food prepared for us! Rooms are spacious, well decorated and so homely and so clean. Lots of clean towels available and especially beach towels!

Who needs a pool when this gorgeous beach is on your doorstep! We loved the fact that the beach is off the main tourist track, it really truly felt private and no hassle from beach hawkers. A portable icebox in the apartments made sure the boys took their beers down on the sand for truly relaxing time. Kayaking across the bay was lovely.

Prickly Bay Marina is on the other side of the bay and a short 7 min walk away. There is small supermarket here, where you can get bread, groceries and vegetables. The bar and restaurant here is really good where many ex-pats (british and american) hang out. The pizzas are amazing. And we even took part in the BINGO night where all the locals come to try their luck at winning the jackpot and several cheesy prizes. The atmosphere is truly energetic. Grenadians are so polite, have a great sense of humour and again so welcoming!

We have never experienced a self-catering holiday like this before. Lance aux Epines.....you have set the standard so high up there, thank you.

We will be back

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ashes20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lance aux Epines
0.7 mi away
True Blue Bay Boutique Resort
17.5 mi away
Petite Anse Beachfront Hotel & Restaurant Grenada
Petite Anse Beachfront Hotel & R...
#1 of 1 in Saint Patrick Parish
373 reviews
0.1 mi away
Calabash Luxury Boutique Hotel
Calabash Luxury Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Lance aux Epines
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Maca Bana
Maca Bana
#1 of 8 in St. George's
165 reviews
1.7 mi away
Radisson Grenada Beach Resort
1.5 mi away
Coyaba Beach Resort
Coyaba Beach Resort
#3 of 11 in Grand Anse
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lance Aux Epines Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lance Aux Epines Cottages

Address: PO Box 1187, Lance aux Epines 00000, Grenada
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > Lance aux Epines
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lance aux Epines
Price Range: $177 - $473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lance Aux Epines Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully equipped Cottages and Apartments directly on a peaceful tree-shaded beach. Maid and light laundry service included so you can relax! Free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Lance Aux Epines Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lance Aux Epines Cottages Hotel St. George`s
Lance Aux Epines Hotel
Lance Aux Epines Resort
Lance Aux Epines Cottages Grenada/Saint George Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing