We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveler rating
145
21
3
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
145
21
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslae cottagessand barhummingbird cottageprickly bay marinaswallow cottageliving areahome away from homefront officegrand anseself cateringrum punchefficient air conditioningbedroom apartmentlocal disheshired a carfully equipped kitchenhousekeeper
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 171 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2013

What a charming, peaceful place to stay. LAE cottages were able to put up my entire family in four cottages and assist me with my wedding on their shaded beach. The staff are the friendliest on the island. They go beyond to help you with any need that might arise. I almost hate to write this and let out the best kept secret.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DC2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is our third time staying in the Cottages - this time we were in Sandpiper, which is a two bedroom/two bath cottage. First, the scene is spectacular - looking out on Prickly Bay with it's own private beach is beautiful. The cottages are clean, well maintained and comfortable. We arrived to the island late in the evening, but prior to arrival ordered a food hamper, so we had some basic food items stocked in the refridgerator. The kitchen has all of the "basics" that you need to cook simple meals - they even offer to have someone cook for you (we've never requested this amenity, but it soulds great!) The staff is friendly and helpful. Wi-fi provided great reception and was very fast. The kids really enjoyed the game room for playing pool, foosball and watching TV. I'm already looking forward to our next visit. Thank you to Tim and his whole staff for another great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We spent 3 nights here - Prickly Bay is idyllic and the views from our apartment (Wren) were spectacular. It is dry season, so the garden is not as verdant as it would be in the rainy season, but it was still beautiful, because the bouganvilla , oleander and allamander were all in bloom. Wi-fi service is reliable and fast, the kitchen is stocked with the stuff we needed , there are several restaurants within walking /driving distance, St. Georges is but a taxi ride away.

Room Tip: We stayed in the wren apartments which were spacious and airy
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Our initial 4 days of our 2 week stay was in the Swallow Cottage and then we moved to the Kite apartment as availability dictated. Both were equally comfortable and spacious. The kitchens were well stocked with the tools you need to cook and serve a decent meal. I brought my own knives and didn't have to use the somewhat blunt instruments supplied. Only the bedrooms are AC'ed as it is not necessary in the other rooms with the constant sea breeze flowing through.

The grounds are immaculately maintained with plenty of trees to provide shade throughout the day making it ideal for reading and napping on their lounging chairs. Even though all beaches are public in Grenada, this particular stretch is as close to private as you’ll get. There are few people sharing this beach of fine sand and calm protected waters. I swallowed a bit of the salty stuff during my first morning when I fell asleep floating on my back.

All staff is very hospitable and service oriented. Any issue will be addressed quickly to the best of their ability. A special thanks to Eva, our housekeeper, who cooked us a delicious ‘oil down’, a Grenadian national dish as well as a couple of cakes that where accentuated with local flavours.

LAE Cottages is situated within walking distance of some good restaurants as well as easy access to shopping by bus or taxi. St. George’s is just a 15 minute ride by taxi.

Room Tip: Book early. Some of the regulars have their bookings made for years to come!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BJW S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laecottages, General Manager at Lance Aux Epines Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Greetings! Thank you for doing a double review of sorts, and providing us with feedback about both the cottage and the apartment you stayed in. Your positive rating was gratifying to see.
Maintaining a well stocked kitchen is important to us, as many of our guests like to do their own food preparation, or have food prepared for them by our staff. We've made note of the blunt knives and will look to put sharpeners into all of the kitchens in the very near future! I hope bringing your own knives was not an inconvenience.
Our friendly staff are a stellar team and make our carefully maintained facility truly shine. Thanks for noticing! We will relay your compliments to them and hope to see you again one day in the future.
Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

The apartment we had (Kite) was spacious, clean, and well-appointed for self-catering. Being on the second floor, for sleeping, we definitely found it necessary to use the air conditioner that is located solely in the bedroom. We found the manager and staff to be very helpful and accommodating: indeed, the manager loaned us a cell phone and gave us his cell phone number to be used any time we had a problem anyplace in Grenada. The grounds were pleasantly landscaped, clean and located on the bay; watching the sun set over the bay while sitting outside was almost obligatory after experiencing it once. BTW, walking out to the tip of the LAE peninsula from the Cottages is delightful and quite beautiful. In short, I do not hesitate to recommend LAE Cottages and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelin_tommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laecottages, General Manager at Lance Aux Epines Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you for reporting back about your stay at Lance Aux Epines Cottages. Feedback on what you enjoyed, or ways we can enhance your visit is always welcome, as it helps us tailor our services, so we can continue to meet the expectations of our valued patrons.
Without a doubt, the heat in the Caribbean can be intense during certain times of the year. You’ll notice it first when you step off your plane. Our beach-front property allows guests to cool down quickly though, by enjoying a refreshing dip in the sea, and we recommend several cold drinks at Sand bar on weekends! Standing fans can be requested to help increase the airflow in the non air-conditioned part of the apartment and all bedrooms are fully air-conditioned, providing you with a respite from the tropical heat. This also makes sleeping much more restorative.
Lance Aux Epines is a special place to us, and we are glad you took some time out to explore it. The view from the peninsula, especially when the sun sets, is nothing short of breathtaking. I hope you brought your camera. We would love to have you back and hope to see you again one day in the future.
Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews