We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lance Aux Epines Cottages
Nearby Hotels
$438
$424
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$225
$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Siesta Hotel(Grand Anse)(Great Value!)
$73
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$168
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$495
$302
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$941
$916
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mount Hartman Bay Estate(Lance aux Epines)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveler rating
136
20
3
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
136
20
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslae cottagesprickly bay marinaeach cottagegames roomsand barrestaurants within walking distancequiet beachliving areafull kitchenfood basketcoconut waterfront officeping pong tablerented a cargrand ansepicnic tablesself catering
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 160 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We spent 3 nights here - Prickly Bay is idyllic and the views from our apartment (Wren) were spectacular. It is dry season, so the garden is not as verdant as it would be in the rainy season, but it was still beautiful, because the bouganvilla , oleander and allamander were all in bloom. Wi-fi service is reliable and fast, the kitchen is stocked with the stuff we needed , there are several restaurants within walking /driving distance, St. Georges is but a taxi ride away.

Room Tip: We stayed in the wren apartments which were spacious and airy
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Our initial 4 days of our 2 week stay was in the Swallow Cottage and then we moved to the Kite apartment as availability dictated. Both were equally comfortable and spacious. The kitchens were well stocked with the tools you need to cook and serve a decent meal. I brought my own knives and didn't have to use the somewhat blunt instruments supplied. Only the bedrooms are AC'ed as it is not necessary in the other rooms with the constant sea breeze flowing through.

The grounds are immaculately maintained with plenty of trees to provide shade throughout the day making it ideal for reading and napping on their lounging chairs. Even though all beaches are public in Grenada, this particular stretch is as close to private as you’ll get. There are few people sharing this beach of fine sand and calm protected waters. I swallowed a bit of the salty stuff during my first morning when I fell asleep floating on my back.

All staff is very hospitable and service oriented. Any issue will be addressed quickly to the best of their ability. A special thanks to Eva, our housekeeper, who cooked us a delicious ‘oil down’, a Grenadian national dish as well as a couple of cakes that where accentuated with local flavours.

LAE Cottages is situated within walking distance of some good restaurants as well as easy access to shopping by bus or taxi. St. George’s is just a 15 minute ride by taxi.

Room Tip: Book early. Some of the regulars have their bookings made for years to come!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BJW S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laecottages, General Manager at Lance Aux Epines Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Greetings! Thank you for doing a double review of sorts, and providing us with feedback about both the cottage and the apartment you stayed in. Your positive rating was gratifying to see.
Maintaining a well stocked kitchen is important to us, as many of our guests like to do their own food preparation, or have food prepared for them by our staff. We've made note of the blunt knives and will look to put sharpeners into all of the kitchens in the very near future! I hope bringing your own knives was not an inconvenience.
Our friendly staff are a stellar team and make our carefully maintained facility truly shine. Thanks for noticing! We will relay your compliments to them and hope to see you again one day in the future.
Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

The apartment we had (Kite) was spacious, clean, and well-appointed for self-catering. Being on the second floor, for sleeping, we definitely found it necessary to use the air conditioner that is located solely in the bedroom. We found the manager and staff to be very helpful and accommodating: indeed, the manager loaned us a cell phone and gave us his cell phone number to be used any time we had a problem anyplace in Grenada. The grounds were pleasantly landscaped, clean and located on the bay; watching the sun set over the bay while sitting outside was almost obligatory after experiencing it once. BTW, walking out to the tip of the LAE peninsula from the Cottages is delightful and quite beautiful. In short, I do not hesitate to recommend LAE Cottages and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelin_tommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laecottages, General Manager at Lance Aux Epines Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you for reporting back about your stay at Lance Aux Epines Cottages. Feedback on what you enjoyed, or ways we can enhance your visit is always welcome, as it helps us tailor our services, so we can continue to meet the expectations of our valued patrons.
Without a doubt, the heat in the Caribbean can be intense during certain times of the year. You’ll notice it first when you step off your plane. Our beach-front property allows guests to cool down quickly though, by enjoying a refreshing dip in the sea, and we recommend several cold drinks at Sand bar on weekends! Standing fans can be requested to help increase the airflow in the non air-conditioned part of the apartment and all bedrooms are fully air-conditioned, providing you with a respite from the tropical heat. This also makes sleeping much more restorative.
Lance Aux Epines is a special place to us, and we are glad you took some time out to explore it. The view from the peninsula, especially when the sun sets, is nothing short of breathtaking. I hope you brought your camera. We would love to have you back and hope to see you again one day in the future.
Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I almost didn't want to write this review as I don't want this place to become famous and raise their rates or get swamped with other tourists.

Main thing about this place was how nice and friendly everyone here was. Great room looking right out at the beach. Not real fancy but always clean and just nice.

I will be back for another visit.
Biggest disadvantage is that it is away from most things (i.e. shopping) so you can't just walk to the store to buy food etc.. I guess it woould help to have a car but driving in Grenada didn't look like much fun (I didn't try it)

Room Tip: Bring bug spray anywhere on the island
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moonpieh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laecottages, General Manager at Lance Aux Epines Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you for choosing to share your positive experience at Lance Aux Epines Cottages with others. We appreciate your honest evaluation and are pleased to learn that you feel that LAE Cottages in and of itself is a secret almost too good to share! :-)
Since our beach front property is away from tourist traps, there is a lot less foot traffic, and it feels at times like a private beach. Most maintain the increased privacy and tranquillity is a good trade off, as access to the islands Spice Land Mall is about a 5 minute drive away. Our unique location means guests will most likely want to avail themselves of a car or bus, if shopping and sight seeing is a desired pursuit. For the adventurous who want to explore the island, a bus ride into town, from the roundabout (about 20 mins. walk), is an affordable $2.50 EC ($1.00 U.S).
Our talented staff are what make it possible for us to do what we do. Many have been with us for a long time and we are proud of the care they consistently provide our guests. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again one day in the future!
Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

This place was recommended to us by friend's who stayed here last year and it delivers on all counts! The location is perfect.....a small collection of cottages and apartments thoughtfully arranged in lovely gardens which border onto a very quiet beach. There's all you need outdoors for relaxing in the gorgeous Caribbean climate. Comfortable loungers (with cushions) are provided as are picnic-style tables, benches and parasols. Numerous trees provide shade and one can even sling a hammock on one of the stands dotted around the garden!
My friend and I have been staying in Ramier apartment....sadly now almost at the end of our 2 weeks in paradise. I have stayed in all manner of self-catering accommodation over the years but what we found here ranks among the best. Our apartment is incredibly spacious, comfortable and very well equipped. Full marks for excellent Wi-Fi at no extra charge! My only very minor observation to make life easier in the kitchen would be the addition of a dishwasher....but that's a very very small criticism indeed. The bedrooms have air conditioners and ceiling fans assist in keeping cool when necessary. Towels and linen are changed as often as you wish.....an army of housekeepers arrive each morning to see to this and other domestic tasks for your comfort. Ours, a lady called Ann, is charming and she has looked after us so well.
All members of staff have been welcoming, friendly and helpful. Thaneia in particular, at front desk, has been wonderful, sorting out everything for us from car hire and restaurant bookings to the arranging of a river-tubing expedition. She clearly has a lot more patience than me!!
This has been only my second trip to the Caribbean, my first being an average experience in Barbados last year. However, Grenada is a lovely
island.....great people, great beaches and lots to see & do. I'd definitely come again and I'd definitely stay at Lance aux Epines Cottages on a future visit.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Guy0862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews