We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Quintessential Geek Islet”
Review of Markouli Studios

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Donousa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Markouli Studios
Ranked #1 of 7 Donousa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Quintessential Geek Islet”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Maria Markouli is one of those rare people who exude goodwill and optimism 24 hours a day. She was a delight. Warm, friendly and very helpful. The ideal hostess. Her studios are light and airy with a wonderful view of the port. She is a fund of information on the island and speaks excellent English.

The port is bustling with ferries docking by day and by night. She fetches her clients from the port and delivers them back in time for the departing ferry. Very useful given the steepness of the ascent to the Markouli Studios.

The only drawback is the proximity to the neighbours' patio. That said its a paradise and the village has not yet been swamped by tourists. It's a must for very aficionado of Greek Isles.

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs studio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ku-tafuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
48
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
milano
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

In August I spent ten days in the little, fantastic island of Donoussa, and I enjoied very much my accomodation in Markouli Studios. We were a group of friends and we rented five studios. Our choice couldn't have been better!
On a hill, with a wonderful view on the sea and on Donoussa port, these very comfortable, self-catering studios give you everything you need for a perfect holiday: peaceful location, beautiful landscape, good price, all the facilities, every-day cleaning, lovely balconies where It is delicious to have breakfast, or read a book when the day is ending... And flowers all around...
And - last but not least - the kindness and the smile of Maria, the young and helpful owner, who adds something special to your staying, pick you up at the port and provides you everything you need.
If you like nature, simplicity, wonderful sea, the life in a small, traditional village, Donoussa is the island for you!
The harbour and the tiny, little village of Stavros, with a fantastic bakery, some tavernas and two little markets, a fantastic beach with clear crystal water, are very close to the studios (about 5/10 minutes by foot).
I will take in my heart the silence of the night and the beautiful sky full of stars over my head...
Definitely a place where I want and hope to come back again.

Thank you, Maria!

Cristina

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cristibolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seregno, Italia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Markouli studios are everything one could desire for his holiday: nice, new, clean, with panoramic view of the Aegean sea: all this at a very good price. Maria, the owner, is really nice and helpful. A perfect stay in wonderful Donoussa :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babyparis80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hindhead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

A lovely, comfortable and well equipped room on the beautiful island of Donoussa. Maria could not have been more helpful and the location above the port was convenient whilst having the benefits of being quiet and having a great view.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are located on top of the hill right above the port. The view is amazing, and spending time in the balcony watching it is a must. Room was really clean, the owners was really polite and there was a mini van to transfer us from/to the port.

Donousa (Stauros) is such a small village-port that everything is really close to rooms. I would recommend it to anyone wanting to have a peacefull and nice time.


I found it a bit expensive for its objective data, but the view was second to none!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank basilis5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Very good studios, everything you need, very clean Maria is an excellent host. The only down side we found being older travellers, was that it is situated on a very steep hill.
The island is very friendly and the tavernas are very good.
Tzi Tzi taverna is must to visit, Nicola taxis will take you there for only 7 euros.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank essextelboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Donoussa is wonderful and Maria's hospitality excellent.
Her studios make you feel at home with the same cleanless and warm athmosphere as your home. Maria, the ownwr, is helpful and always available, always...

Room Tip: All the stidios have terrace with view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Filipponatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donousa
14.6 mi away
Adonis Hotel
Adonis Hotel
#1 of 1 in Apollon
246 reviews
0.0 mi away
Firoa Studios
Firoa Studios
#2 of 7 in Donousa
47 reviews
0.0 mi away
Asterias House Donousa
Asterias House Donousa
#4 of 7 in Donousa
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Donoussa Rooms
Donoussa Rooms
#2 of 8 in Donousa
33 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pahivouni Studios & Suites
11.5 mi away
Ostria Inn
Ostria Inn
#1 of 1 in Moutsouna
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Markouli Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Markouli Studios

Property: Markouli Studios
Address: Stavros, Donoussa | Donoussa-Cyclades, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Donousa
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Donousa
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing