We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Rustic Getaway. One of my favourite destinations”
Review of Lei Chambris

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salernes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lei Chambris
Ranked #5 of 8 Salernes B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I have been to Lei Chambris twice now. Both times in October. This to me is a little piece of heaven on earth. A getaway full of tranquility and beauty, but not too far removed from the main town to feel isolated. Not only was the service warm, but there was nothing the owner Pamela Lowther could not do for me. She endeavored to make my stay as wonderful as possible. There is something here for everyone, single people, couples and families. Everyone is catered for.in some way. Everything from the service, the food and the quality of the rooms is of a very high standard. The grounds and property are absolutely stunning, and I will continue to go back to Lei Chambris for as long as I can. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful and unique in their own way, and will cater to anyone's tastes, eith...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lisaannejenkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 19 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed at Lei Chambris for a week and it was wonderful. We had booked the poolside studio and were very happy with our choice. The studio was clean and smelled very fresh. The most romantic was to find chilled wine and fresh roses waiting us. It was our first time in the area so we were very happy that the hostess was helpful and friendly with us. She gave us tips which road to take and what places to visit, she had also booked a restaurant for us on the arrival night.
The property in general looked very beautiful with blooming flowers and a nice clean pool.
Even the bit of rain and thunder we got for a couple of nights we felt we were on holiday and enjoyed ourselves very very much.
We are definitely planning to go back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MiaKesamaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We found this place on the internet after looking for a retreat for the summer.
Lei Chambris is exactly as pictured, a lovely sunny, peaceful holiday.

We stayed in the cabin, which was very comfortable and tucked away from the other properties. We were welcomed by Pamela after a very long drive with a chilled bottle of wine in the fridge. The cabin was clean, with a beautiful stream running past it, a little kitchenette and separate bathroom. On first arrival it seemed warm, but it soon cooled down at night. My only reservation was that there were not many sockets, and perhaps you could have done with an extra light in the main room.

The pool was lovely, and plenty of sun loungers.

Everyone was very friendly and helpful.

This holiday was a complete retreat, and if you are looking for something secluded- PERFECT.

We like to go out for meals in the evening and sample the local resturants, and while there were some amazing resturants in Salernes and Villecroze they are a good 40 minute walk away. This is fine for the way there, but things get very dark and it can be very tricky to get back to. They have never heard of a taxi/bus.....so be prepared to have a designated driver! We did however walk back each night (we ate in twice) with torches and bike lights!

It was a relaxing holiday, where time stands still- take the mosquito spray!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennyrandall14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I stayed at the Amandine Studio for an hour after a 7-hour drive from Italy.
The studio was really dirty: the floor was full of dirt and dust, the sheets were not clean and the toilette was just not hygenic!!
Plus there was no tv (..but it was mentioned on the description of the studio).
Also the outside of the studio was a mess: the trampoline was old and full of rust, the BBQ was very greasy and it looked as it had just been used, the pool was very dirty.
It's not the kind of place anyone would want to go to for a nice holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SineLori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leichambris, Owner at Lei Chambris, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

How very sad -------to travel for seven hours, and then spend one hour here and write such slating comments !!

I welcomed these guests,one in a wheelchair ,and offered them a choice of accommodation as we had the apartment available at this time too.They chose the studio feeling that it was closer to the pool.I helped them with their luggage and assured them that we were here to help and to please let us know if there was ever anything we could do.

They seemed happy ,but one hour later returned and asked for their balance payment back ,which was given to them.I was surprised at this decision as we have very happy guests here,most not wanting to leave .

The studio was cleaned thoroughly that morning,and was immaculate,I checked it myself.The toilet had been used during their short stay but in no way was it unhygenic.
There is a picture taken of an old washing line in the vegetable garden which is not in use !!
The swimming pool is cleaned every day and gives our guests much enjoyment --in no way was it dirty.
The terrace and private barbecue area were cleaned that day.
I find it extraordinary that in one hour this couple had so many photos but not one which captures the sheer beauty of this place ------makes me question the reasoning behind this trip.

Our aim here is to make our guests stay as pleasurable as possible, and we have many who return each year,and it's so wonderful to see their happy faces.

Pamela Lowther
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in the Gite at Lei Chambris for 9 nights during our honeymoon and it was perfect. Pamela welcomed us and looked after us! It is away from the main house and away from the road so we truly felt able to enjoy our time alone to relax! We had many fabulous evenings in the gite, BBQing, cooking and drinking fabulous wine. It is a great base for day trips to the Gorges du Verdon (breathtaking canyon!), Sillans la Cascade, Avignon, Aix en Provence (climb Mount St Victoire and see Cezanne's studio!). There is an amazing beauty salon nearby with the best massages I've ever had (Anis et Chocolat - Angelique is a star!). I want to go back now even writing this!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheViticulturist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My wife and I sought a quiet country place in sunny Provence perfection( before a two week cycle trip) and Lei Chambris was it.
Our delightful, friendly host, Pamela welcomed us with a lovely Provencal dinner and rose wine and was most helpful re contacting our family during a (minor) crisis back home. The huge linden tree by our apartment's door was in full bloom and buzzing with the sound of bees hard at work. The door itself is framed with lush and fragrant jasmine- a wonderful spot for relaxing breakfasts. The pool was perfect for cooling off from the sunny days and very private.
Nearby beautiful villages and excellent market days were also highlights. We even lucked into visiting a local Fringe/Cirque de Soleil- like summer fair on a goat farm( nice cheese). Var is a wonderful area and much undervisited by N Americans. Our week there was fabulous! Thanks, Pamela!

Room Tip: The pink-walled apartment attached to the house was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WolfgangW22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Pamela Is a perfect host, and cooks delightfully. We had a great stay as two thirtysomethings trying to find some rest and combine this with some comfort. We stayed at the poolside apartment, from pictures it looks like lacking some privacy but this is not the case at all. in real the place looks even more comforting and at ease.
Pool is well-maintained, like the rest of the location.

the surroundings are worth the visit alone. tourtour is the postcard-picture city you'd imagine of the provence, but Villecroze has a charm over it which baffled us. (and the resto én coté at the town square is great)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ralph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salernes hotels
1.4 mi away
Chambres d'hotes Belle Riviere
1.5 mi away
Bed And Breakfast "Les Cigales"
2.1 mi away
Bed & Breakfast Domaine de La Provencane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Le Mas des Oliviers
Le Mas des Oliviers
#2 of 8 in Salernes
4 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Lei Chambris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lei Chambris

Address: Chemin des Especes | Gandelon, 83690 Salernes, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Var > Salernes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Salernes
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of St. Barthelemy, an area renowned for its outstanding beauty and natural healing water, Lei Chambris offers individual private accommodation on a glorious domain of 10 acres in a stunning French countryside setting. It's an ideal place to get away from the pressures of life and taste a piece of European paradise. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lei Chambris France/Salernes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing