We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely stay as always”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Case Restaurant with Rooms
Ranked #1 of 15 Sudbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Myself and partner had another excellent Saturday nights stay at The Case. As always Linda was so very welcoming and it always feels like we are visiting my mum as Linda makes us feel so much at home, and makes sure the stay is as comfortable as possible. She has a very rare way that makes you feel easy and like you've known her forever. As always the room we stayed in was top notch. Thick towels warming on the towel rail, good quality smellies, a large bath, which to us is always a bonus as we do prefer a good soak before dinner, but quite often in hotels there is only a shower which doesn't hit the spot quite the same. So saying that there was a good power shower over the bath too so best of both worlds depending on your preferance. Super comfy bed, large screen tv, tea and coffee tray with yummy and I do mean yummy home made cookies in a jar, and flask of fresh milk, rather than the silly little pods usually offered. There is also a little basket of assorted sweet and savory snacks to buy on honesty and paid for at check out should you get an attack of the munchies. Excellent wi fi connection straight into our ipod and ipad which to us is another important factor. As usual lovely warm snuggly room. The only criticism I do have is that there is no welcome folder giving times for breakfast and dinner, and whether there is room service offered should you fancy a sandwich or more in the room. But its no big deal as obviously you can just pop over and ask. It was a busy Saturday night when we went for dinner. Kayla and chef Antony were away on hols so Barry was kept ultra busy in the kitchen as I believe he had been all week, and Linda and her two lovely young ladies where also kept really busy in front of house. The food as always was delicious. My partner started with leek and potato soup which he thoroughly enjoyed, whilst I had filo wrapped duck in sauce which was lovely. Onto mains and partner had the signature Case burger, which arrived beautifully presented with thin cut chips and looked mouthwatering, and indeed was according to him. I plumped for the trio of lamb with new potatoes and root veg, which was succulent and the lamb cooked to perfection. We both decided on ice cream afters. Three scoops each to choose, from a long list of lovely flavours. Must say it was a very difficult choice, but partner went for vanilla and mint choc chip whilst I went for hazelnut, peanut butter and nuttella. Lip smackingly good. The whole evening was lovely and Linda and her ladies made sure we had a thoroughly relaxing time. A quick mention too for the home made breads offered on arrival at our table. The choices were great, and it was so good to be offered decent home made bread rather than the thin nothingness that is sometimes served in restaurants. Both being stuffed to bursting we had a great nights sleep when heads hit the pillows. Next mornings breakfast did not disappoint either. Served in the light sunny conservatory fresh orange juice and decent little tea pots of tea, ,then other half had full english with locally sourced produce, whilst I had a large bap filled with bacon and vine tomatoes and mushrooms to accompany. The home made bread toasted was also served. Really really good. We never feel like leaving as we always have a great time. Sudbury is just up the road and its nice to have a wander around on Saturday afternoon too. We want to say a big thanks to Linda, Barry and their great team for another memorable stay at The Case. Always making their guests feel so very welcome.

Room Tip: All rooms are very good, a good quality stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kas01uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 363 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

As a foreigner, it is not easy to get decent accommodation, especially if you are traveling with a 6m trailer.
Now I was allowed to stay for the second time in The Case, although everyone knew what about came up with me. It was a very friendly and warm welcome, everyone seems to be happy to see each other again.
Very friendly and cheerfull Staff, who take care about one even when it takes a little longer with my english.
I can only highly recommend this accommodation.

Linda, we see us again !!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterH322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Me and my sister stayed her for a night away for her birthday, we had dinner in there restaurant and it was fantastic. It's a family ran business and it really has that little personal touch. Also I am a lover of wine and it did have some little gems on there wine list. The rooms are well maintained, I did find it very hot in the room I was in and not really any way to cool it, but still a great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Wonderful food
Went for lunch this time, our second visit after booking a night stay with dinner the first time, once again everything was wonderful. The food was superb, I tried the homemade ice cream the favours were very different not what you would usually get and very moreish. We will be going back again. Well worth the drive to get there
Fiona & Trevor

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank feefee42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here for my birthday, service excellent and meal great especially the salted caramel ice cream.
Room was small but very clean and warm.
Will defiantly return .
The breakfast was lovely and the bacon so good.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suejessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I took advantage of a Travelmole deal which meant that the package of room, any starter and main course plus a glass of wine included for a very attractive price warranted a treat of a night away. I have to say that the value was exceptional. The room was modern and clean as was the bathroom. Only slight criticisms were the lack of hot water for the shower in the morning, and because the rooms are based on the old American motel plan, the carpet was a little dirty as you entered the room due to a lack of mat or intermediate area between the outside and the bedroom itself.
The food was very good indeed, along with a very friendly smiley service by all the staff. The ambiance was similarly very good...so all in all it would be churlish to criticise this establishment on any basis.
Recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McDColdNorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Visited The Case on Friday evening with a Groupon Voucher, after the last restaurant I was a bit aprehensive to say the least. However as soon as we entered the restaurant we were greeted and shown seats. The staff got out drinks we ordered whilst we chose our meal. The staff are very polite and attentive. The fresh bread buns were lovely whilst we waited for our starters. I had Tiger prawns in a crepe and my husband had the Scotch egg, neither could be faulted. For mains i had the Pork with Chorizo sausage which was very tender and tasty and my husband had the Trio of Lamb. It was really nice and well presented. Unfortunately neither of us could fit a pudding in, but the cappucino's were good as wel. Thank you would definately visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 570JulieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sudbury
3.9 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,203 reviews
6 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
3.4 mi away
Hill Lodge Hotel
Hill Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sudbury
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Bridge Street Historic Guest House
2.8 mi away
The Old Rectory Country House
The Old Rectory Country House
#1 of 1 in Great Waldingfield
139 reviews
3.7 mi away
Clay Hall House Luxury B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Case Restaurant with Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Case Restaurant with Rooms

Address: Further Street | Assington, Babergh District CO10 5LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Sudbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Sudbury
Price Range: $97 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Case Restaurant with Rooms 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restaurant with rooms where personal service and customer satisfaction is all important. Situated in rural Suffolk with views over ajoining farmland we offer luxurious well presented rooms with many included extras alongside our, twenty year established restaurant, serving traditional and imaganitive dishes. A family business where little things mean a lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Case Restaurant with Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Case Restaurant With Rooms Hotel Sudbury
The Case Restaurant With Rooms Sudbury, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing